We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars only for the "hardware"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ziba Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Let's put it like this: the hardware is quite good (car parking, modern facilities...) but the skills of the staff lack professionalism and some more things could really be better.

First of all, the hotel is situated on one of the busiest streets south of lake Garda - ok, one could see that on google maps... Also, it is a short walk to the sea shore but there are huge camping sites and the beaches are full and quite dirty (ok, nothing the hotel is responsible for, but I think this is good to know if you would like to go there)
Next to the road in front of the hotel, there are also the tracks of trenitalia quite close and if you like to sleep with windows open, you better bring along earplugs (and your own pillow - since this seems to be our of some building foam)

The pool area is quite nice, though it seems there are not as many sunbeds available as guests are around. Mainly, if you have people from the nearby camping site using the 4-star hotel facilities as well (easily to be identified by the light blue plastic wristband) and as it seemed to us for free. The girl at the pool bar was really nice and striving for a good service once she was there. One afternoon, the bar was simply closed without information. Probably too many guests checked out that day?

Cleaners just left the fresh towels on the floor of the shower that was obviously not cleaned yet, refill of shower gel and shampoo did not happen.

Breakfast was far too basic for a 4 star - cold scrambled eggs over a single tea candle, fruit salad out of the tin as it seems pepped up with old fruit from the fruit basket, every day the same "old" cookies, cakes and sweets and - worst of all in Italy: the coffee was no good. Self service on a WMF machine (we also experienced in other hotels that such machines can be good) The lady who was there for breakfast was mostly hiding in a part of the kitchen...

Overall, the whole staff seemed to be a bit passive and did not seem to have heart and soul in it. The most interesting story was that my husband put in the wrong code to the safe in our room and then it blocked. I called the reception to find out how long it would remain blocked and had been told 30 minutes and the receptionist also gave me the general code to all safes in the hotel!
After 10 minutes, the safe unlocked again and we could access our valuables (and theoretically all others in the whole building...)

I know that the EUR 150.00 / night were including the SPA (which we did not use) but to us it seemed really overpriced, also due to the distance to Peschiera and Sirmione. You have to take a good walk if you do not always want to take your car to get somewhere...

Overall maybe only "small" things but this sums up - mainly because in 3 weeks in Italy, we saw 3 star hotels that were so much better for half the price!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheepfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our 'suite' looked over a dirt empty block and into a tow-truck office, with a busy road in front that is very difficult to get in and out, a railway track at the back and no restaurant?... How can they rate a 4 star? It's a joke. The pillows were like house bricks and there was NO shower, only a bath which for children was so dangerous as the floors are so slippery if wet. I had many complaints but one that was really ridiculous was serving disposable plastic glasses at the pool. Not very environmentally friendly. We checked out after a night. Breakfast was so basic, no salt and pepper grinders, only paper packets

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiejo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were there at Augus from 1 till 10. Feeling like at home, not to big hotel, clean , nice, stylish. They have good pool area, comfortable. Nice and pleasant stuff, good breakfast, if you vake up not to late :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank zodeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Very clean and modern hotel with a small number of good sized and well equipped rooms. Cant comment on the food offer as the restaurant only opened for breakfast during our 10 day stay. ...which was very good. The grounds are in effect a large garden with excellent sunbathing in sheltered private spaces and a large pool. Only downside was the distance from downtown Peschiera. ...a 20 minute walk but I know for some this would be seen as a plus! A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

2 nights spent in The Ziba Hotel during our short family trip to the Lago di Garda.
Rated at 4 *, the hotel has a standard appearance but offers nice rooms that have apparently been recently renovated with a "design touch".
The surroundings of the hotel are unfortunately unappealing: main road on the front, railways at the back and a vast space of raw dust on the side.
The swimming pool area, located on the back, is however nicely arranged with grass, sunchairs and a small bar. It is unfortunate that each time a train passes by, you have to stop your conversation because of the heavy noise.
In our bathroom, we were surprised to find very cheap plastic glasses, in sharp contrast with the upscale aspirations of the hotel. While the bed was truly king size and comfortable, there were only two small pillows that were pretty hard and we had to ask to obtain two additional ones (unfortunately no softer than the original ones). Same thing for the large wardrobe: it was empty of hangers... Not really consistent with a 4* ranking...
The staff was nice and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was standard.
We did not try the spa.
We were advised to stay at the Ziba Hotel by friends, who said that it was the best option in town. If this is true, it might be advisable to look elsewhere as the Ziba Hotel was not up to its promises as a 4* hotel (except for the price, which is definitely on the higher end).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iojik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My son and I stayed at the Ziba for 3 nights in late March 2013.
It is quite a new hotel, modern, nicely designed and well organized.
It is not big, and the staff is wonderful. We got lots of advice from them.
Breakfast was OK, the room was big. We didn't try the SPA.
The location of the hotel is in Peschiera Del Grada. Its is very easy to go to the Garda lake and to Verona.
We recommend this hotel, especially because it was a very pleasant stay and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravivm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel had spacious comfortable rooms, which were more like business hotel rooms rather than holiday hotel rooms. It was very clean and modern although lacking a bit in character.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was good.
The location is about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Peschiera del Garda and although the hotel is on a hill, I can't really see how you would get a very good view of the lake, so don't book this hotel if a lake view is important.
Not a particularly romantic hotel, but comfortable

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road, so choose a room at the back if traffic noise would be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peschiera del Garda
1.4 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Ali del Frassino
Le Ali del Frassino
#5 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dori
Hotel Dori
#2 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#4 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
374 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
4.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ziba Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ziba Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Bell Italia 41, 37019, Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range: £83 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ziba Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ziba Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ziba Hotel & Spa Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing