We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the tastiest lunches in Ballinamore”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commercial and Tourist Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballinamore
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the tastiest lunches in Ballinamore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

If you're looking for a tasty pub lunch on a Saturday afternoon, then Freddies, as it's known by the locals is the place to go. The staff are friendly, and the pints are tasty, and the cheese starter is very nice for a dinner. Visit the disco at night for a crazy night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have just returned to Glasgow having spent some time touring Ireland. My last three days were spent in Ballanimore staying at the Commercial and tourist hotel. This place I would recommend . Greedy the owner runs a good business the staff are pleasant and the food is perfectly cooked by the owner himself. I would also say the breakfast put out is very tasty and plenty of it. I will certainly be back to see Freddy and his team. Well done to you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed in the Commercial back in 2012, with my Partner! Over all Ballinamore is a lovely place as they say lovely Leitrim! Rooms are very basic within the hotel, if a elderly couple were to stay i would safely say they would not enjoy it as there is a local nightclub within the hotel. And as far the bar man goes, he has absolutely no personality what so ever and SHOULD not be working within the hospitality industry, in my opinion he would run all customers away with that personality!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have stayed many times here over the years and am only getting around to reviewing it now. the commercial hotel is an excellent stop off for any person wishing to stop in Ballinamore to eat,have a drink or stay for a night (or three)! it has a real homily feel with Freddie & family (the owners), the first always to greet you as you come through the door,. the rooms are spacious and very well maintained and spotless. and there is a lovely cozy lounge/foyer area to have a quiet chat or a nice meal. The breakfast is one of the finest I've had definitely a breakfast to keep you going for the day and the lunch and dinner menu is every bit as good,just like a home cooked meal....you couldn't beat it! the bar is lovely and i am always made welcome by some of the friendly Ballinamore locals who are never short of a "yarn" to keep us entertained. all in all this is a little gem of hotel and a good stay is guaranteed if my experiences are anything to go by. check it out...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel has a excellent small town Pub with the best food. We ate there several times and just love the place. When the evening slowly rolls in the fireplace is a welcome touch. The waitress was more than pleasant and you didn't wait for service. Food was reasonably priced and I say don't miss this Pub when you are in Ballinamore. I wish we had time to stay at the hotel but our travel plans were preset. Ballinamore is a treasure of a town. Neat little shops and stores. Be aware Ireland is having some financial difficulties so all small towns may not have a bank available. While we were there the bank was in question whether it was going to be open in the future. We used our credit card on most purchases of food because that gives you a good exchange rate and be sure to let your credit card carrier know you are going to travel in advance. The Euro exchange rate varies from place to place so exchange wisely. The Airport was about as good as we got anywhere except on our credit card.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesguy76120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

WE had nowhere to stay after doing a fair our boss phoned last min an got us into this commercial and tourist hotel.Such a welcome an friendly peps i forgot my hairdryer well that was no probs they got me one room was great so was our shower beds so comfie was able to watch x factor glass of rosie an have a smoke before heading down for dinner which again was amazen food great crack.Well a good nights sleep up for breakfast such good menu everthing for everyboddy .ME an my hubby will defo be going bk to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgggiedip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballinamoreboss, Owner at Commercial and Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you so much. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

just returned from the tuesday ballinamore festival, the weather was great and it was well run.... clap on the back for the organisers.
we stayed in the commercial and tourist hotel in the middle of town , where we found the nicest , genuine people you could ever meet.
the rooms were large and clean with coffee and tea facilities well worth the stay and will be back....oh the breakfast the biggest and best in west of ireland..as they say up there ah shtop.
excellent

Room Tip: my tip phone it now
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballinamoreboss, Owner at Commercial and Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you so much, your comments are appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinamore
10.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.0 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
11.7 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hamill's B&B
Hamill's B&B
#1 of 5 in Ballinamore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buille Toll
Buille Toll
#4 of 5 in Ballinamore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Rectory B&B
The Old Rectory B&B
#2 of 5 in Ballinamore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commercial and Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commercial and Tourist Hotel

Property: Commercial and Tourist Hotel
Address: High Street, Ballinamore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Ballinamore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballinamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commercial and Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Commercial and Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commercial And Tourist Ballinamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing