We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay In Ireland ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Stay In Ireland ”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel good staff great G B Tours have put a great package together Daniel our driver was brill great bunch of people on coach Stan the singer off the coach was loved by all in the bar and the Irish band they even took him with them to different bars to sing with them we will be back for sure mr& mrs Moseley.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cripsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    141
    84
    53
    70
See reviews for
78
172
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

There were four of us who stayed here and we were treated so cordially and with such friendship that we all want to return! Our meals were delicious and everyone involved, including the hotel's owner, was wonderful.

Susan Little, Clearwater, Florida

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I arrived two days ago. Actually i'm still a visitor in the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are all right. The room is clean and more then sufficient. ( desk, seats, free WiFi... ) .Everyday everything is spotless. I have really nothing to complain about. And all this at a reasonable price. Maybe some people had a bad experience but I certainly have not. No doubt I will book this hotel again if I have to be in Dungarvan again.
Fons Charlier

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fons C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Have just returned from 5 day holiday (just go) to this hotel in dungarvan.
Looking at reception you think this was a great hotel,boy how wrong is that immpression,we was given our swipe card and headed for our room,we opened the door and we instantly got a musty smell,there was only two standard lamps in the room with what could only be described as the dimmest bulbs ever seen , the curtains were filthy , the carpets were filthy , the toilet seat was broken , there was broken floor tiles , the cups was dirty we had to wash them before we could drink out of them.
the final straw came when we went to bed as all you could hear was water dripping onto a metal cylinder that was fixed to the outside of the wall that the bed was on,it was like chinese water torture.
We went to reception and complained and give them credit where credit is due they gave us another room which was much better and a little bit cleaner.
The breakfast in the morning consisted of the normal cereal , porridge etc , followed by a cooked breakfast, one rasher of bacon two chipolata sausages one egg,followed by toast which was only white bread,when we asked if there was any brown bread we were told they don't have brown bread.
the evening meals were a mixture of good food and bad food as we had under-cooked veggies,overcooked veggies,some of the puddings was so sweet it put your teeth on edge.
overall a very poor standard in todays cut throat hotel industry.
All in all some of the staff were extremely helpful and they go out of there way to accommodate you,some were the most miserable people i have ever met.
As i have said in the title this hotel seriously needs a make over and to employ a better cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dungarvan hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I came to Dungarvan Ireland to do some reseach into my dead mums family and the place where she grew up on the family farm.

We stayed at this marvellous hotel and found nothing to complain about. In fact we were surprised at the quality of the service and the rooms were excellent, this is a hotel with history, so expect some aging to have gone on. I personally like the older broken in type of hotels, rather than the newer all mirrors and stainless type. This place reeked of atmosphere and history. The hotel is in the town centre and has ample car parking and excellent car hire rates from a local outlet. The food is and was excellent - we were on our first all in coach trip with everything paid for in advance. You have a choice of at least three dishes for the evening meal and for breakfast its a full Irish breakfast or cereals muesli etc - although if you are on the coach trip its only the SPECIAL ones that get that. :D And they know who they are.....:D We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Warm rooms and great showers en suite, with clean dry towels and great room service. Value for money is what they gave us in spades.

Would go there tomorrow again.

Mags & Kev
Swansea UK

Room Tip: want one of the rooms that is front facing if you can...unless you like cark parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Myself and my husband have just come back from a stay at this great hotel. Check in fast considering there were 50 of us . (Just Go Holidays ) The room we had was first rate, carpet spotless, bedding crisp and white , bathroom and toilet immaculate !!!!!!!!!!!!!! The food (yummy )the staff could not have been any better, friendly and efficient. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 149 which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed a weekend night at a wedding. Food was good and attention from staff was friendly and good.However, the room we were in was tired and shabby, the carpet was frayed and stained from age. Furniture was old and scuffed, the decor was old-fashioned, the towels were clean but worn.
Breakfast was excellent, on a busy morning, and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
15.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
24.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing