We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired In Need of a total make over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tired In Need of a total make over”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here on a for 6 nights on a Coach Tour with a group all known to us. If we had been travelling as a couple I would not have stayed. Staf were great, food was acceptable, The rooms & corridors & The hotel as a whole requires a serious make over. It is not as clean as it should be evrything has has its day.The chain that own this Hotel need to send someone in to bring into the 21st Centuary
We had had great craic in Dungarvan the locla people were great. This Hotel is not a place I would recommend and coach Companys should look at it again.

Room Tip: Look else where to stay that is my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    134
    80
    51
    64
See reviews for
70
167
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for one night while working in the area, found the staff great but the place is so beyond needing a makeover I am amazed it still has people staying. The halls are narrow, gloomy and dated, the rooms (my colleague also stayed in another room) have carpet and wallpaper from the 60s and even though they are clean enough, they dont feel clean as everything is so old and dated. The worst thing for me was that the walls are paper thin, felt like the couple next door were in bed with me, could hear every word and the snoring kept me up terribly. At 5 am a group was leaving and the noise was so bad I gave up trying to sleep and got up and went for a run.
Breakfast was a good portion but not at all good, like it had been sitting for some time and heated under a grill.
No way would I go back here, if I was completely stuck I would drive the 2 hours home and drive back the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingdutch107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dungarvan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carrick-on-suir, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely Hotel with a central location, very friendly and helpful staff. I had a quick stop over here and found a very comfortable room at a very affordable price. Breakfast in the morning was a feast in itself as the portions are more than generous. Unfortunately we returned to the hotel at around 2:30 after working for 4 hours solid to a key holder who told us there was no residence lounge or room service, very disappointed with that.
Just one note for hotel maintenance can you walk around the hotel and fix the creaking floor boards, they do keep people awake.
But all that aside this is a very reasonably priced hotel with very helpful staff in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here just for one night as it looked nice enough on the website and we were attending a function in Dungarven so just needed a place for one night. Lobby and bar are ok but we didnt spend any time in them. Room was terrible! We booked a double room, corridor to rooms are so run down and in need of makeover. Room was small and felt very run down also. There were two single beds pushed together for us, which did NOT fit together properly so it was uncomfortable, the headboards were on the wall so when the beds were pushed together they just looked stupid on the wall with no bed underneath. The towel rail fell off the wall when we put the towl on it in bathroom. The tap woudlnt turn off. The list goes on, it was like faulty toweres. I know its not very expensive but Id happily pay the extra €20 to stay in a far supoerior hotel down the road! Sorry but it completely not what I expected. A double room is not 2 single beds pushed together!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped at the hotel for lunch. Good food, but the service was terrible, the server was rude and obnoxious. Something tells me he was part of the furniture. He wanted to charge full price for a kids portion, when challenged, he dropped the price from €11 to €9 for a 2 year olds portion.
Never again will I consider stopping in Dungarvan for food

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely hotel with excellent staff. This was our first night on the road in Ireland and we were happy with our choice. We were on the third floor and had a beautiful view of the harbour. We didn't have the B&B option as it was a little expensive but the food sounded yum!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanadventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our first stay at Lawlor's Hotel. We were part of a coach trip and did not hold great expectations, but was pleased with everything at the hotel. From the well organised and efficient way the coach-load was booked in without any delay. The staff who had helped me pre-organise a birthday cake for my husband, our room was clean and pleasant, if any negative too hot. Décor a bit tired, but did not impact on our stay. The food was fantastic, the staff very helpful and polite. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing