We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
1 review
“Poor food, poor service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Was passing through Dungarvan last week with my wife and 2 year old. We decided to stop into Lawlors for lunch, went to the Carvery in the bar at about 2:45. We were told by the lady serving that there was not much left as it was past 2:30 which was fine. we had 2 dinners but found them to be awful. We should probably have complained there and then but didn't. My wife left most of her dinner after her.
On returning home we decided we would email them about it as we felt a bit ripped off haven been served food that was not fit for consumption but we were charged the full price.
We received no reply to our email.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    139
    81
    51
    67
See reviews for
74
169
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here one night as family of 4, 2 twin rooms greta value. Old decor but clean. Breakfast was goood, made for you rather than the buffet style. Staff very courteous. Good location fo walk around town. Free wifi was good for the kids and I got some work done

Room Tip: Ask foir a deal when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hightower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband & I stayed here for the August bank holiday weekend. It is an old hotel but found it to be very clean, really couldnt find fault with it. The bed was very comfortable and also quiete. The food is very good, really homemade dinners and breakfasts. Its centrally located and within walking distance to the shops, pubs, etc. There is a lovely harbour to walk around

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Mywi and I wewent tthere with GB Tours. Mon to fri. We had a lovely time staff were superb.
Only criticism. The bar was too expensive. So we drank in the pub over the road. But we would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at Lawlor on Sunday 3rd Aug overnight. The location of the hotel is excellent. i stayed in a double room 318 overlooking the harbour. The room was lovely. The receptionist we met as we checked in blondish girl is a lovely person to meet and greet. We ate in the hotel's restaurant that Sunday i went for the chowder. Very nice however destroyed by high salt addition by the kitchen. had the chicken with ham for dinner and it was nice. I think the food there is o.k., i wasn't wowed by it. Staff are very nice in this hotel and room and location are great.

Room Tip: Room 318 and ask for a Harbour view. Eat dinner elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuala F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and decided to stay in Lawlors last minute and we were not disappointed. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, they genuinely seemed interested in how out stay was going.

The food is truly out of this world. I highly recommend the garlic mushrooms. The portion size is value for money.

The hallway leading to the rooms leaves a lot to be desired but the cosy rooms make up for it. Very clean and fresh smelling.

The hotel is a 20 second walk to the main square and close to everything.

All in all a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We travelled to Dungarvan with Harry Shaw and was very taken by what a lovely little town Dungarvan is.

My initial reaction to Lawlors Hotel was that the rooms are dated and tired and that the lighting in the corridors is not very good, however, we had a FANTASTIC stay.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the food in the restaurant is excellent, with a varied choice of food on offer and very good portion sizes. I agree with some of the reviews saying the bar prices are high, however, we found wherever we travelled in Ireland the price of drinks is expensive, particularly a glass of wine.

Despite the rooms being dated and in need of refurbishment, the bed in our room was superb with lovely new, clean, crisp white bed linen.

I loved staying at Lawlors and would most definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor at the rear of the hotel. There is no view, except of rooftops... but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Property: Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Address: Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing