We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Dun Ard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dun Ard
Ranked #1 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Joe and Anne are the most welcoming of hosts, they run an excellent bed and breakfast, unfortunately we could only stay one night at Dun Ard as we were traveling on to Tralee. We were in the Junior Suite with sea views which were absolutely delightful, this is a beautifully appointed room, really comfortable big bed and a huge bathroom. They have a lovely dining room and serve a superb breakfast. Overall this is one of the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Junior suite has sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent one night at Dun Ard which is a tastefully furnished luxury bed and breakfast even down to the wedgewood china crockery in the bedroom. Wished we could have stayed longer! The house is situated in a quiet village on a small development with wonderful views.

Joe gave us recommendations for evening dinner and we ate at "Merries" in the delightful town of Dungarvan. The place was buzzing and we had the best meal of our 4 nights travelling round Ireland and finished off with a drink in the pub across the road from Dun Ard.

Breakfast was excellent and freshly made to order we enjoyed the atmosphere in the lovely dining room and eating at the communial table where we chatted with fellow guests.

We highly recommend Dun Ard and would certainly stay here again!

Thank you Anne and Joe.

Janet and Chris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Joe and Anne definitely add the warm personal touch to the B&B. Not being from the area, let alone from Ireland, we had no idea what the town had to offer as we were just meandering our way through the country. Joe provided us with an excellent list of recommendations of places to eat while in Dungarvan, as well as names of local pubs with live traditional Irish music to enjoy. Even went so far as to suggest we leave our rental car in the city and take a cab back to the B&B after a relaxing night on the town -- providing us with a complementary ride back to our car the next morning when we were ready to continue our journey.

Upon learning that my bride and I were traveling about the country having just been married, Joe and Anne provided us with a complementary bottle of champagne for us to enjoy! The personal warm-welcoming touch was solidified with the hand-written card that was placed a midst rose petals scattered on the bed wishing us good fortune in our marriage.

Kitty, the cat, was eager to play with us. This was very nice since Kitty had the same disposition and coloration of our own cat back home.

The morning view of Dungarvan bay from our room was breath-taking in it's beauty.

Joe and Anne definitely were the personification of the Irish hospitality that were expecting! The price was less than we had payed for much lower quality stays elsewhere in Ireland, however; the quality was much greater! Had we stayed at Dun Ard towards the beginning of our trip, the stay might have ruined our expectation of the rest of the trip.

We strongly recommend a visit to Dun Ard to anyone who visits the Emerald Isle!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had three lovely nights in early September at Dun Ard and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were given a warm welcome by Anne and Joe and their friendly dogs and cats. The room was fantastic with a huge bathroom and bed and the views over Dungarvan Bay were breath-taking.
Waking up in the morning after enjoying a restful sleep in that lovely bed, it was a pleasure to open the blinds and relish those views of Dungarvan Bay whilst the kettle boiled. Breakfasts were beautifully prepared including fresh fruit salad and Joe and Anne were very happy to offer suggestions as to where to visit in the area.
Days were spent further west in Ardmore and across the Co. Cork border in Youghal, plus quaint bays such as Bunmahon and Kilmurrin to the east. Dungarvan is a picturesque town with plenty of places to eat. Before we left Anne gave Jackie a retirement gift - a lovely personal touch and much appreciated. We were sad to leave but took Joe's suggestion of seeing Mahon Falls off the road north to Kilkenny City.
We would highly recommend Dun Ard to anyone and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend the junior suite overlooking Dungarvan Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

"Dun Ard" is a very special place! It's much more than a Bed & Breakfast. It's more like visiting old friends in a fine hotel! A contemporary home with all the amenities. Dun Ard offers its guests lovely, private rooms with an ultra-modern bath...en suite. It is the innkeepers, however, Joe and Aine Lyons, that give this B&B a 5 star rating in our book. They are genuinely warm, accommodating and truly interested in making you feel at home. Their attention to detail is obvious in everything they do, from the wonderful "cooked" Irish breakfast that are made to order, to their beautiful gardens. Their granddaughter gave us a private tour and knew most of the names of the flowers and shrubs, including an unusual "bottle brush plant! She was delightful! The innkeeper was a tremendous help with our genealogy search and found lots of information for us. He went out of his way to point us in the right direction and even made contact with us after we left Dun Ard to see how we were doing. The innkeepers obviously enjoy what they are doing and it shows! We highly recommend Dun Ard if your vacation plans include a trip to the Dungarvan area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Recently we had the pleasure of staying in Dun Ard in Rinn. Our host's Joe and Anne were wonderful, making sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared to order. Like the rest of the house the room was very clean with all the mod cons. It was very comfortable, full of character and overlooked the beautiful Dungarvan Bay.We are delighted to recommend Dun Ard to anyone who wants a pampered relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Anne and Joe. The room was clean, and well appointed. The bed was the MOST comfortable on our entire stay. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. We really had a wonderful time in this beautiful spot and wished that we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gortnadiha Lodge
Gortnadiha Lodge
#1 of 5 in Dungarvan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
#7 of 16 in Dungarvan
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Anthonys Guesthouse
St Anthonys Guesthouse
#10 of 16 in Dungarvan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ard

Address: 2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | Ring, Dungarvan X35 WA00, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range: £83 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dun Ard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dún Ard is rated 5 Star by the Irish Tourist Board (Failte Ireland). Dún Ard is aptly named, as it enjoys spectacular views of the Comeragh Mountains and Dungarvan Bay. Dún Ard is situated in the heart of the Ring Gaeltacht, just outside Dungarvan and is ideally situated to experience some of Waterford's and Ireland's most stunning scenery. Championship golf courses, fishing, walking and award winning restaurants are all on the doorstep. A stay in Dún Ard is one not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dun Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing