We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set the standard for Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dun Ard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dun Ard
Ranked #1 of 18 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Set the standard for Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We drove there straight from the ferry at Rosslare and were immediately impressed with the house. Joe told us it was a show house and we could all believe it. It was beautiful. Breakfast was huge and set us up for the day. Would recommend having a room with a window, rather than the velux, but even that isn't a criticism. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed on the only night of the year when a party was going on in the pub opposite, that lasted i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
196
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I checked into Dun Ard on what was supposed to be our second night in Ireland. Because of flight delays it ended up being our first after 36 hours of travel! We couldn't have landed at a better spot. Joe and Anne gave us a cell number to call and were able to give us good directions and a great restaurant recommendation on the way in. When we finished dinner, we headed for the B&B. Our room was incredible. It was by far the most well-appointed and spacious room we stayed in throughout our 8 days in Ireland. It took us a bit of time to sort out how to work the shower, but we eventually got it. After getting our much needed showers, we walked across the road to the neighborhood pub where some locals were playing great tunes. Joe and Anne had been out for evening, and dropped in at the pub on their way home. Despite our having been up for a day and a half, we ended up staying until close because we were having such a great time. In the morning, we realized we could see the bay from our room. Anne made a tremendous breakfast and Joe helped us figure out how to rework our touring schedule to make up for our lost day. The experience was a great one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

About 5 minutes drive from Dungarvan Town, in the Gaelic area of Ring, this B&B is truly excellent. It is in a quiet location with ample free parking and there is a post office and pub right across the road.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and of the highest designer quality. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and residents can sit at one large table which promotes good conversation.
Breakfast is selected the night before from a comprehensive list of choices.
Full Sky TV and password free Wi-Fi are available
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in the Comeragh room which was on the ground floor. The room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also very nice with a large soaking tub. We arrived later than expected for check in and received a warm and friendly welcome from Joe. Anne and Joe were kind enough to ensure we had food for breakfast since we eat a vegan diet. The pitcher of drinking water in the room was a nice touch.

The B&B is just outside of Dungarvan. There's a pub across the street from the B&B and several restaurants in Dungarvan. I recommend visiting Mahon falls just north of Dungarvan. This B&B is in a great location to explore Waterford or Cork.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful well-kept secret in Ireland. Four girls in a reunion trip if a life time and we had the best time at this B & B. Our accommodations were roomy and very comfortable . All amenities were in abundance and we had a really nice view of the water from our room . Breakfast, which is included, was delicious ! Joe and Ann were the perfect hosts and our only regret is that we could not spend more time there. It was a terrific place to stay in the quaint little town of Dungarvan, Ireland ! It's a Must See and definitely a Must Stay , thank you Ann & Joe. You made this Flight Attendants vacation and reunion trip perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agf10060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have found a B&B jewel in Dungarvan. Beautiful suite, the bathroom is a dream. Very friendly and helpful hosts (they waited for us and offered information about places to see and diners).
Can you rival easily with a 5* hotel.
The breakfast was excellent, homemade.
I recommend it to anyone who wants a great place to stay in Dungarvan and still have the family feel about a place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This place is far better than any hotel we have stayed in recently. The rooms are superbly decorated and have everything and more you will need for a home from home stay. Joe and Ann provide great help advice and wonderful breakfasts.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 18 in Dungarvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ard

Property: Dun Ard
Address: 2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | Ring, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dun Ard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun Ard is rated 5 Star by the Irish Tourist Board (Failte Ireland). Dun Ard is aptly named, as it enjoys spectacular views of the Comeragh Mountains and Dungarvan Bay. Dun Ard is situated in the heart of the Ring Gaeltacht, just outside Dungarvan and is ideally situated to experience some of Waterford's and Ireland's most stunning scenery. Championship golf courses, fishing, walking and award winning restaurants are all on the doorstep. A stay in Dun Ard is one not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dun Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing