We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home & Pleasant Proprietors”
Review of Bayside

Bayside
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside
Ranked #11 of 15 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Home & Pleasant Proprietors”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in this lovely B&B just a few weeks ago while on our honeymoon. I can honestly say it was one of the highlights of our trip through Southern Ireland. This was the first B&B we booked in a 10 day trip, and we wish we had stayed there longer. Dungarvan is a lovely little seaside town, and the Bayside absolutely exceeded our expectations.

The home was very clean. Our room was cozy and welcoming. It also had a lovely view of the bay. Sunset was absolutely amazing! The sheep in the back yard were an added plus as we loved hearing them "baa"! :) Breakfast in the morning was very good. Pat is a great cook! Our coffee was served in a french press, which was a nice change from the instant we'd been having (and had throughout the remainder of our trip).

Our hosts were nothing but welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Even though our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived, we loved the excuse to explore this picturesque town by the sea. If we ever find ourselves in Dungarvan again we will absolutely be staying at the Bayside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage which we were unaware of during your visit.Our small flock of sheep, when grazing adjacent to the house, are always enjoyed by our guests. Thank you for choosing Bayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On a cycling holiday in Ireland we stayed here overnight. I was impressed by the quality of the room, the fabulous view from our bedroom and the friendliness of the welcome. We were looked after really well and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Enjoyed having you on the premises with your bicycles. Hope the climb out of Dungarvan on the N.25 will not put you off making a return visit. Thanks for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bayside a second time (stayed last year at around the same time). Great location for touring the Waterford area. Our hosts were great and the view of the Bay is fantastic. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were courteous and helpful in planning our day trips. It's only a short ride into Dungarven town. When I visited last year without a car, the hosts arranged a taxi for me to go into town to research at the County archives. A welcoming B&B!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your kind words. It gives us great confidence to have repeat overseas visitors. It was a pleasure accomodating your party. Freshly cooked to order breakfasts are standard for our guests. Looking forward to your 3rd.visit. Happy & healthy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights at Bayside, Dungarven, Ireland. Our room and bath were spotless and comfortable, not to mention the view of the bay from our bedroom window, and the breakfasts were wonderful. Sheila and Patrick go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable and at home. We were given suggestions regarding places to eat dinner in Dungarven and Patrick took the time to write out directions to Kilkenny for us.

Room Tip: There is no bad view at Bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure having you and your friends. Assisting you with travel directions, which I hope were not too difficult to follow, was all part of the service we give to make a stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at Bayside for a weekend and was made to feel very welcome. the room was spotless and had all I needed. the views are stunning over looking the bay. there was a great variety for breakfast. would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Jane, It was a pleasure to host you and your sister. Thank you for the positive review and your chocolates, which were appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum City, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms overlook a bay, and it's a beautiful overlook. The owners are very helpful with tips on what to see in the area.
Sheila hangs out her sheets on the line to dry. This results in lovely smelling bed linen and towels. The breakfast is delightful.
Wonderful, relaxing place to experience. Our room was a bit cramped, but that's my only complaint. It's still a great value.A
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. All of our laundry is dried on the open air clothes line which gives it a clean fresh feel and smell. Breakfasts are cooked to order and served immediately. Thank you for staying at Bayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Bayside in Dungarvan. This was our fifth night in Ireland. The home was lovely, the view was beautiful but our welcome was anything but warm.
Upon our arrival, we were told by our hostess that she does not normally open before Easter. Understandable. I don't usually travel during Easter myself. She proceeded to tell us that she wasn't ready for the season and she had family coming for Easter and kept repeating that she wasn't ready and didn't usually open so early.
The house was on the list for our vouchers. We made the reservations LAST FALL. She could have contacted us and explained the situation prior to March and we would have happily made other arrangements. Telling us this upon our arrival, just before dark on Good Friday was not the time to tell us this. Without outright saying so, she made it quite plain that she didn't want us there and would like us to leave which was impossible at that point. We had no idea if there was another B & B that accepted vouchers in the area, nor were we familiar with the area and it was almost dark. She made us feel very unwelcome. We left for dinner, came back and went to bed trying to be as unobtrusive as possible. In the morning, she was as unfriendly as she was when we arrived while taking orders for breakfast. There was no chit chat, advise for our trip or warm farewell. It was such a relief to be leaving!
As I said, the accommodations were lovely but the hospitality left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfamily1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatN308, Owner at Bayside, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Guests are always welcome at Bayside as were the group represented in the review, who occuppied 2 rooms.The booking was made on 8th.Dec.'12 - post Fall.
On your arrival, the host as a courtesy, updated you on what was happening in-house - family arriving for Easter and the recent reopening of the house for the 2013 season. Somehow this was misinterpreted to mean that you should leave - an issue that would never be contemplated, in any shape or form.
We were pleased to host guests from Indiana. It was nice of you to make 2 entries in our Visitors Book saying,"Thank you." It is disappointing that you did not see fit to address your concerns while in-house rather than later, at a remove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 15 in Dungarvan
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
Barnawee Bridge Guesthouse
#8 of 15 in Dungarvan
33 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Ashley Guesthouse
#14 of 15 in Dungarvan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside

Property: Bayside
Address: Gold Coast Road, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing