We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Leisure Centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Similar to its sister hotel Clonea Strand the leisure centre needs a bit of work. It is in better condition than Clonea but there are still a lot of small things that need cleaning or repairing. Mould in showers, no usable lockers holes and broken tiles in pool, a sometimes smelly male locker room.
It does have a kids pool and the changing rooms are just about big enough to handle the peek crowds.
A word of warning the steam room is dangerous! The steam pipe is exposed and is located on the centre of the back wall, it is not visible with the steam. I got a nice little burn on my foot. Staff were of little help but did offer me a burns spray.
All in all it’s not a bad leisure centre but it is not kept clean and minor repairs are not carried out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray - man O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    98
    43
    21
    13
See reviews for
150
66
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

On our way home from our Easter break in the Gold Coast self catering cottages. The cottage decor is plain, dated and dark. That's the only negative. It met all our basic requirements however. We loved this place. We chose the cottages rather than the lodges as we wanted to be beside the playground. The kids loved the pool party. Clonea Strand is spectacular and we had beautiful weather which helps! We ate in the bar twice. Food was fine, service was very good. I only have one suggestion, please put in swings for babies/toddlers :-) Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. We appreciate the time you took to mention some of our amenities, and look forward to your next visit with us.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan.

We hope you will return soon.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely stay in the apartments at Gold Coast resort,the apartment was very spacious, we found the staff very pleasant to deal with and overall had a very relaxing weekend. We ate in the bunker bar on the first night and found the food very tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel is right by the sea so it's a lovely place to go for a walk or cycle.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deefluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable environment during your stay. We are also happy that you were able to enjoy our Resorts convenient location which is nestled right in the heart of West Waterford near the thriving town of Dungarvan.
The Bunker Bar which is newly refurbished offers excellent value food of a very exacting standard and is a very popular. I am encouraged great by your kind comment son our staff, they try very hard.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan.

We hope you will return soon and the Resort team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We rented 2 4-bedroom holiday homes for a large multi- generational family holiday. The houses were spacious & well equipped, and overall very clean, although shower stalls needed a better scrub. Beds were comfy, with new linens.
Great place for golf, walking by the bay, Clonea strand is 2 km away. Bike paths to beach and into Dungarvan town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you, from the entire team at Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. Our passion is hospitality and service and to hear from a guest that had an experience like you did makes our week! We want all of our guests to feel like they are special and that we exceed their expectation. We want to thank you for taking the time to share about your visit on Trip Advisor.
It is unfortunate that we suffer for very hard water and lime scale can be a problem from time to time, I have pass your observation to our Housekeeping Staff and will action as required.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan.

We hope you will return soon and the Resort team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My family party of four adults and two children have just returned from a three night break to the Gold Coast hotel. Check- in was quick and the receptionist was very pleasant. We found are lodge, consisting of four double beds and one single bed to be very spacious and everyone agreed the beds were very comfortable. The lodge itself was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Although there were plenty of people staying in the lodges, it was very quiet and peaceful.

Our family ate in Bunkers Bar during our stay. The food was very nice (we ate from the carvery and pizza menues), fairly priced and the waitress was efficient. However there was a damp smell in the bar which was a little off-putting upon entering.

We had a disappointing visit to the Leisure Centre with our children who wanted to use the swimming pool. We found the lady at the desk to be rude when we arrived. She didn't say anything to us except to sign our family name and house number. Having discovered a family changing room ourselves, the children changed and entered the pool. After a couple of minutes the lady re-appeared and told me my son would either have to leave the pool or sit in the baby pool for the duration of our visit as she felt he was not a strong enough swimmer to stay in the pool without an adult as it is all at a depth of 4.5 ft. This was a great disappointment to him as he has been swimming without aids for the last 18 months and we have never previously encountered this in other pools on holiday. I can understand that she may have had concerns as there was no shallow end in the pool but feel that this should have been mentioned to us before we were in the unfortunate position of having a wet child who couldn't go for a swim. We ended up drying both children and driving to Clonea Strand pool where they had a lovely time so thankfully all ended well.

Upon check-out, I remarked that I was due to check out the following day but was checking out early that afternoon instead. A man at reception commented that I was leaving in the lovely sunshine to which I replied that unfortunately we had to return home as my husband was due back to work the following day. This was met would loud laughter from the three men at reception as the man organising my bill commented that "yes, us men have to work". I'm not usually the sensitive type but felt very uncomfortable and didn't feel this was an appropriate attitude to a guest, more like a comment one might make in jest to a family member.

Overall we had a lovely time at the Gold Coast Resort and would like to return again. However I do feel that some staff members could benefit from improving on their skills when dealing with customers as we stay in hotels quite frequently and these incidents were unlike anything we have experienced before.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADYKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf and Sports Resort. I was delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time at the Resort and would like to pay us a return visit. I thank you for your kind comment on the Bunker Bar food as it is indeed excellent value and very popular with Resort Guests. The Bar has been refurbished over the past few weeks and I am at a loss as to the damp smell you noted at the entrance, it may have been a sea water odour. I was disappointed to note that you did not fully enjoy an experience you had at both the Leisure Centre and on check-out I will investigate the issues you have mentioned and take the appropriate action.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan.

We hope you will return soon and the Resort team look forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked the hotel for a Conference. It's in a very picturesque and quiet location and the conference venue was perfect for our 80+ delegates. The staff were very helpful and professional and friendly - nothing was a problem. The catering was excellent both for coffee breaks, lunch and dinner and very good value. Our delegates were very happy with the day and that was as much down to the venue & service as the conference content.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Daly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your honest review of your stay with us at the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed and experienced our Conference Services. We pride ourselves on our team’s friendly and professional style and please be assured everyone will hear of your kind comments. I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your National Seminar in Dungarvan.
We hope you will return soon and the Resort team look forward to welcoming you back.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked the Gold Coast Hotel for a family weekend with relatives from England and Ireland. My husband and I shared a 4 bedroom villa with my brother in law and family, others in the group stayed in the three bedroom villas, or in the hotel itself, so we experienced the full range of accommodation. We all agree it was spotlessly clean, warm, (our weather was not good!) very well equipped, comfortable, plenty of space and the beds were comfortable. Two of those in the hotel had lovely sea views.

On one evening we had booked a family meal in the restaurant. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, locally sourced, well cooked and presented.

Overall a fantastic experience and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Large sea room if staying in the hotel. If a bigger group, 4 bed chalets easily big enough and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good Morning

We appreciate you taking the time for reviewing your recent stay. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and the group got to experience so much of what the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort has to offer.

Thank you for choosing us as your destination in Dungarvan allowing us to complete your stay on a positive note
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
24.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
13.9 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Golf Resort

Property: Gold Coast Golf Resort
Address: Gold Coast Rd, Dungarvan X35 EA40, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gold Coast Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing