We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Church of South India, Dublin- Family Retreat 2014.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Coast Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Church of South India, Dublin- Family Retreat 2014.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Guest Name: Church of south India, Dublin

Dear Mark ,
I am giving our sincere thanks to you and all the staff & management of Gold Coast Golf Resorts, Dungarvan , Co.Waterford for such a beautiful Resorts , Meeting Room and ALL the Accommodation arrangements you made for us in our Family Retreat-2014.

All our families are 100% happy and satisfied about all the arrangements you made for us in this long Bank Holiday Weekend on May.
The Leisure Center facilities are Fantastic...... really amazing...

Thanks once again,
Hopefully , we can do a nice deal again with you in the nearby future .

Kind Regards
Koshy Varghese
Dublin-15

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for such a lovely Trip Advisor Review and we are delighted that your Retreat found their visit to the Lodges at our Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort to be "100% happy and satisfied ". Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding the Hotel Leisure Centre on site, our staff in particular, which I have passed to the team. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort really soon.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director

_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    95
    43
    21
    13
See reviews for
149
66
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in one of the Self Catering Cottages close to the hotel. The cottage was clean, warm and welcoming. Bedrooms are a good size, living area too. Kitchen has everything that is needed.The staff we met at reception and in the leisure centre were friendly and helpful. We were very impressed with the resort and wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your written review, it certainly seems that we ticked all the boxes and we really are so delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Gold Coast Cottages. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspect of your stay & hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort really soon.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director

_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The venue, location and value for money were superb for a large group of families with children.We were part of a junior rugby club and the houses on site provided spacious, safe and excellent accommdation for the 20 teenagers in our party.The freedom on site the kids enjoyed is simply not available in the UK and the relaxed and accommdating nature of the staff was first rate.They treated the kids as adults and they responded.The food was excellent both on quality and value for money and was healthy and not Brake Bros British microwave pub food.Fresh veg and a compulsory 3 types of fresh potato were devoured with plenty of well recieved puns.The accompanying all weather pitch on site and the privacy and size of the site helped enormously.There were numerous other holiday families there and yet we had our own space.The setting is gorgeous and before breakfast runs and walks on the coast road were a great start to the day.This was money well spent.Grumbles about the decor from others are misplaced.What do you want on holiday but good food good company good people and freedom.This place is family run and it shows.A real welcome.We would struggle to get this in the UK for twice the price.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the houses and they were a great size fitted out needs at a ridiculous price.H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DECLAN MC m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf and Sports Resort and that you were very comfortable. It was great to see you all for a second year running. The Penarth Team seemed to gel well with the Irish Rugby counterparts from both Dolphin and Clontarf RFC's. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 00 353 58 42249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is our second year over the Easter Break and would've no hesitation booking a third. The staff are accommodating and food great. A safe area for the children to play. Son't be misled by the other write ups - the houses are not that dated - wooden kitchen units and dark pine furniture, but its clean, spacious and all the utensils you may require. Lets be honest, things break and until they are reported won't get fixed. Fantastic value - we went as a VERY large group but would not hesitate in going back for a family holiday. Houses are spacious enough that should you wish to stay home you won't be on top of each other. Local Shopping a good 40 minute walk away but has shopping centre and great pubs - ultimately transport is required. Would not hesitate to recommend for either personal or group use. A great venue for business and sports groups. Owners cannot do enough for you. Book now!

Room Tip: Would think Houses further away from resort hotel would be quieter but still walkable and would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We do appreciate the time that you have taken to post your wonderful review. It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed the stay here with us as we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations.

The Resort and especially our Lodges are a very popular Group Destination when choosing accommodation in Dungarvan.

Rugby Teams such as yourselves are very impressed with the Resort, this weekend we host Wicklow GAA in our Lodges.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

A group (22) of us were there for the Easter Weekend. We got great value for 3 nights B&B plus one evening meal - €139 pp. The rooms are spacious and facing the sea have lovely views. But they are pretty dated. Staff are very friendly and food was very good. Good reports of the leisure centre, steam room etc - I didn't use them myself. We really enjoyed the golf course. Good condition and beautiful scenery with reasonably challenging but not impossible holes. Well worth a visit - especially for golfers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M-moate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable seaview rooms during your stay. We are also happy that you were able to enjoy our Resorts unique Parkland by the Sea Golf Course which is nestled right in the heart of West Waterford near the thriving town of Dungarvan. The Leisure Centre is extremely popular with all our Resort Clients and indeed well complimented.

The Bunker Bar which is newly refurbished offers excellent value food of a very exacting standard and is a very popular. I am encouraged great by your kind comment son our staff, they try very hard.
We acknowledge that our rooms are not “ultra chique” in line with many of our Bank Operated and NAMA Competitors but we are a Family Business employing 200 Local people and proud of our product.

I would personally like to thank your Group for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan which I believe is your second trip and already a third in the planning..

We hope you will return in 2015.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date personnally.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Similar to its sister hotel Clonea Strand the leisure centre needs a bit of work. It is in better condition than Clonea but there are still a lot of small things that need cleaning or repairing. Mould in showers, no usable lockers holes and broken tiles in pool, a sometimes smelly male locker room.
It does have a kids pool and the changing rooms are just about big enough to handle the peek crowds.
A word of warning the steam room is dangerous! The steam pipe is exposed and is located on the centre of the back wall, it is not visible with the steam. I got a nice little burn on my foot. Staff were of little help but did offer me a burns spray.
All in all it’s not a bad leisure centre but it is not kept clean and minor repairs are not carried out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray - man O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

On our way home from our Easter break in the Gold Coast self catering cottages. The cottage decor is plain, dated and dark. That's the only negative. It met all our basic requirements however. We loved this place. We chose the cottages rather than the lodges as we wanted to be beside the playground. The kids loved the pool party. Clonea Strand is spectacular and we had beautiful weather which helps! We ate in the bar twice. Food was fine, service was very good. I only have one suggestion, please put in swings for babies/toddlers :-) Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. We appreciate the time you took to mention some of our amenities, and look forward to your next visit with us.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing our Resort, for your stay in Dungarvan.

We hope you will return soon.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
16.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
13.9 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Golf Resort

Property: Gold Coast Golf Resort
Address: Gold Coast Rd, Dungarvan X35 EA40, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gold Coast Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing