We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Idyllic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Laois Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Idyllic Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely weekend in this hotel. The room was spacious and well equipped with an amazing sea view and all mod cons including tea/coffee making facilities. The Leisure Centre was very relaxing and well maintained. The food was delicious and served with a smile by the the very accommodating staff. All in all a lovely retreat with lovely walk/cycle ways an ideal break away from the hustle and bustle a chance to relax unwind and enjoy a round of golf or a walk along the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view where possible watching the sun set is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CullenLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent visit to Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and every aspect of your stay. Thank you for your compliments in relation to both our food and the service.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    100
    43
    22
    13
See reviews for
153
69
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently as saw it online and was impressed with all the facilities and wanted to check it out for a larger family holiday. Staff were friendly and I got over the old fashioned decor until it came to the bedroom! Ok it wasnt as bad to make me leave but was so disappointed that I had to pay €110 for an old fashioned room with a tv that was nearly smaller than my phone and looking into carpark, just feel it's not worth that room was clean though. Breakfast only ok

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElBarr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for your review in relation to the Hotel at the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. I am delighted to see that you rated both our cleanliness and the service 4 out of 5. We are very proud of our employees here at the hotel as they are all dedicated to ensuring our guests leave feeling happy and relaxed after their stay with us. In regards the concerns that you raised in your review I assure you that they will be addressed where lacking.
Thank you for your feedback and please be assured we use all guest comments be they good or bad to improve on the products and services we offer at the entire Resort . The Hotel is a standard Three Star Property and we are constantly carrying out a schedule of renewal throughout the building. Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 3 friends for 2 nights on a short golf break. Reception staff were pleasant and courteous. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a generous supply of towels and toileteries.
I was less than impressed with breakfast. Service was poor. The waitress gave a quick wipe to our table as we were seated. She knocked a crust of toast on to the floor where it remained. The tables were grimy. When our tea and toast eventually arrived I had difficulty moving the butter plate as it was stuck to the surface. The tea pots were stained and needed to be shine or at least wiped down.The buffet of juices,yoghurts,cereals etc. was laid out uninvitingly. There was no ice or cooler for the drinks or yoghurts. There was no tasty homemade fresh breads.Our order was delayed and later diners were served before us. When the "full irish" eventually arrived it was hard overcooked and tasteless. The tables are small and the staff had difficulty in finding space for the toast and pots.
The hotel setting is perfect. The decor is jaded. The outside of the building looks unkept and could be cleaned up without much expense. The tennis court needs a revamp.
On the plus side the golf course was well presented. The greens were perfect. The pace of play was comfortable and no one was under pressure. It is ideal for recreational holiday golf.
2 of our party used the leisure centre and were very pleased with it.
With better supervision and management this venue could be perfect.
.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, I really appreciate it. I am delighted to hear you found our bedrooms are of the standard and quality expected. I note your comment that the Front Office Team were courteous and pleasant.
I am disappointed to hear of your experience at Breakfast and I take on board your comments regarding your experience although this is first time we have received a comment of this nature. I shall take your comments up with the Manager responsible for Food and Beverage Service in this area.

Considering you enjoyed our golf course and the hotel accommodation, I would sincerely hope you will revisit our Resort again in the future.
I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director

_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Purchased a Living social voucher deal for an overnight with steak dinner and wine at the Gold Coast Golf Resort Hotel. This hotel is situated in one of the best locations, overlooking the sea. We had an oceanview family room with a balcony with breathtaking views from all 4 windows, the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, decor is a little dated but in sunny climates good furnishings tend to fade but with very nice reception area with lovely Waterford Crystal chandeliers. Staff very courteous, efficient and helpful. We dined at the Bunker bar on both evenings and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we had some family join us on 2nd evening and the atmosphere from all the golfers coming in after their game and friendliness was second to none. We ordered a bottle of Lindemans Red wine, scampi, fries & salad for two, beef & veg dinner for one and salmon & veg for other followed by homemade strawberry cheesecake & banoffie pie with coffee . Bill came to €100 for 4 people.We really enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Room Tip: Oceanview room higher level with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at The Gold Coast.
It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the Living Social Deal.
Thank you for your comments about your dining experience here at resort.
Chef and her team work very hard to produce great quality food.

I am delighted that overall you found the entire experience to be positive and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director

_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
We do hope to welcome you back here again in the near future and again thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the self catering lodges at the Gold Coast hotel. I booked a cottage for my husband and two year old but as it was quiet we were upgraded to one of the larger houses up at the back.. This is a great location for those with small kids. We were blessed with the fantastic weather and spent our week between clonea strand and the playground in dungarvan, not to mention the playground in the hotels grounds. As an active couple, we availed of the on site pitch / training facilities, pool and of course that lovely coast road for walks and runs.. The staff were most helpful. Dungarvan as a town has plenty places to eat and relax. Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sin_7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I genuinely appreciate your balanced feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade to a 4 bed Lodge. Our wish is to exceed our guests’ expectations in every aspect of their stay, I hope that if you have an opportunity to return again to thoroughly enjoy all elements of the Resort.

I have passed on your kind words to our dedicated team who are chuffed to receive your compliments. I look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
The Clonea Strand Hotel & Leisure Centre employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from April 2014 to protect our on line reputation and we will investigate each review and take the necessary steps associated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A lovely stay in a hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good food with a great view. Good value for the money. Whilst not the most modern hotel it was comfortable without being pretentious . Theadjacent golf course was a pleasure to play.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort.

Thank you in particular for all of your kind comments not least in relation to both Hotel and Gold Coast Golf Course which present exceptionally well at this time of year. We are fortunate to be surrounded by beautiful countryside with many wonderful natural attractions nearby.

I hope we may have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to Waterford.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
The Clonea Strand Hotel & Leisure Centre employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from April 2014 to protect our on line reputation and we will investigate each review and take the necessary steps associated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

let me start off by making it clear that i'm not knocking or bad-mouthing the resort, but have to say it as it is! I stayed in the 2-bedroomed apartment suites w/ending 6 June 2014. The whole hotel complex (with cottages/villas/suites etc) were in a beautiful spot - and it was lovely and quiet that whole weekend. The apartments were spacious - each of bedrooms had double & 1 single bed, and kitchen and living room very spacious. Had all mod cons - dishwasher, washing machine, DVD player, iron, hoover etc. HOWEVER - the paint was badly peeling along all main walls in the living room (where furniture had literally been stuck against the paint). As all the walls were a dark red/orange colour - where it had all peeled showed a cream/white wall. There were cobwebs in few corners of every room, and little piles of dust/dirt in corners of the room. Also frying pan in the cupboard still had blackened bits of food stuck in it! I hasten to add again that I have NEVER written a negative comment, but feel I must on this aspect. As we had a late check-in that day (after a family celebration the day/night before!) it never crossed my mind to mention it to hotel reception. On plus side - we had fresh towels/toiletries, even though it stated that with apartment booking - we had to bring our own towelling. EVERYTHING else was fantastic. Location - 2 mins walk from playground/main hotel. Situated right on seafront, which was stony/pebbly/brown seaweed - so not suitable for swimming. There was plenty of lawn/bushes & greenery - with hundreds of wild rabbits all over the place from morning to night! We spent many a happy hour gazing through the windows/sitting on patio table just looking at the rabbits running everywhere. The hotel had all amenities - a lovely grecian style swimming pool with sauna/steam room. There was also plenty of pub grub - but as it was self-catering, we cooked our own meals... There is also a sister hotel about 2-3 kms around the coastline - which was actually on a sandy beach. The Gold Coast hotel is only about 5-10 mins drive to main town of Dungarvan - and we particularly loved the coastal road drive to it, as each private property was varied and spectacular !
TIPS - Lismore Castle & Grounds (35 kms?) is well worth a visit. 30 mins drive. 20 euro for family entrance. However it is a private castle, as still in residence, so cannot gain entry.
Also Mahon Falls (main N25 road) are worth seeing. About 15-20 mins drive - but spectacular views ! We went on a cloudy/misty day, but still lovely !

Room Tip: the apartments on the ground floor are advisable for more senior people - as stairs were definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Director of Sales at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review our property, we appreciate your honest review. I would disagree with the title “shabby/dated”, other than the paint work at the back of the couch, these apartments are very well presented and indeed get rave reviews. With 65 2, 3 & 4 Bedroom Holiday Homes we have a phased schedule of re decorating and are continually doing so and the living room in these apartments will be painted over the coming weeks. I have spoken with the Housekeeping Team with regard to the other two points outlined. I am delighted that overall you found the entire experience to be positive and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort.

Kind Regards
Mark Knowles
Resort Director

_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
We do hope to welcome you back here again in the near future and again thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.0 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
430 reviews
17.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,622 reviews
23.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
24.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Golf Resort

Property: Gold Coast Golf Resort
Address: Gold Coast Rd, Dungarvan X35 EA40, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gold Coast Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing