We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for a large family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Coast Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great for a large family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom lodge overlooking the golf course. It was very clean & each of the bedroom had a double & a single bed. There was a large sitting room upstairs but we sat in the kitchen as it was very big & our grandchildren could play outside on the grass where we could see them. They loved the swimming pool in the hotel, but the pool & the playground were so far from the lodge they had to be driven there. The lodge itself could do with a bit of a refurb. The oven took forever to cook anything. There were plenty of dishes, cutlery & pots. The one down side is the €55 charge for cleaning if you are not staying for a full week. Would certainly go back but to the 4 bed villas which are beside the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks a million for your very kind review, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Not sure what the problem was with the oven but will past to our Maintenance Team. The Villas are in an ideal location off the 13th fairway of our Golf Course 10 mins walk from the Main Resort where as the Lodges are more suitable with small children. I am delighted that overall you had a good stay and that you will return to us in the future.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date.

Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    93
    42
    21
    12
See reviews for
147
62
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a 4 bed villa adjacent to the sports ground. It was spacious, and the kitchen well equipped for self catering. There is a daily charge for electricity and heating and you need to bring your own towels to yes in the leisure centre. On the Saturday we were hemmed in by groups using the sports ground, and if staying again I would request a different villa. Apart from that the leisure centre in the hotel was great for families and was only a 5 minute walk away. The town of Dungarvan us only 5 minutes away and there are beautiful beaches a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Your feedback, and indeed the feedback from all of our guests are extremely important to us.

Our staff members take their roles very seriously and aim to provide the quality customer service that our guests expect. I will address immediately, the concerns you have noted about persons parking while use the Sports Training Facility with an aim to avoiding these issues occurring going forward.

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our party of 4 adults & 3 teenage children (2 families) shared a 3 bedroom villa for a relaxing week . The villa was clean & spacious with the kitchen equipped with plenty of utensils & crockery . It was lovely to have plenty of garden space for the boys to play ball games & the men of the family were delighted to simply walk straight on to the golf course ! Bliss ! Of course we all enjoyed using the balcony for chilling out & enjoying the sun . The hotel was a very pleasant 10 minute walk away which was very convenient when using the pool or enjoying the hotel facilities . Although we mainly went for the self-catering option we did enjoy a lovely meal at the hotel . The food was lovely & good value . When we visited the nearby Clonea strand beach we were able to use the Clonea strand hotel car park free of charge too when we said we were staying at their sister hotel . The golf villas were in a convenient location for exploring the surrounding area. Yes some small repairs needed(New towel rails that don't swing & hit the doors ) but insignificant really & staff are clearly working on these . Overall we had a wonderful week & hope very much to be able to return another time !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from prime location to all that the Resort has to offer its guests.

The location is perfect for exploring all of the numerous attractions that Waterford has to offer.

From all the team at the Gold Coast, we hope you had a very safe trip home and that you enjoyed your holiday in the South East. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the cottages wit my 3 daughters have to say I would highy recommend staying here, the location is excellent the cottages were ideal for our family stay they were very clean and everything wirked perfectly and there was loads of utensils and
cutlery. The cottages overlooked the playground my kids had many hours of fun here as well as playing on the tennis court.the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful special praise to the new member ofbar
staff in bunker bar young girl sorry dont know her name she was so nice to my kids and has a lovely personality.swimming pool was lovely just found the temp if pool little cold. If I had 1 recommendation it might be worth while if the hotel organised few more kids activities perhaps a tresure hunt or coloring competition (whilst in bar).
Overall a very very enjoyable stay. Will definitely look to stay again and recommend to my friends.thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmillNaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent holiday experience at. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much.

Your recommendation and many kind comments regarding the resort, your cottage, the food and our staff are genuinely appreciated and it's great to hear that you would like to return for another visit.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We ate in the bar of and we were sorry we did the food wasn't great. I had pasta which was more sauce then anything and my friend ordered burger and hand cut chips. The chips were no where near hand cut. They were frozen ones. The breakfast didn't come up much better. The houses with this complex looked good especially the lodges.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Sincere thanks for posting your review which allows us to develop and improve our overall service.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience of your hotel stay but are very saddened that you found the property dated. The Hotel Group is a Family Business, employing over 200 Local Staff and reinvesting in our business whenever the opportunity arises. We have earlier this season fully refurbished the Bunker Bar and presently are in the middle of a phased renewal of public areas. Unlike many Hotels we compete against we are neither NAMA nor Bank controlled.
I will of course investigate and discuss, with our team, the other issues raised particularly the dining aspect as in general we get great feedback on our food offering.
I would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss the issues raised while you were staying with us but equally I look forward to further exchange with you.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely weekend in this hotel. The room was spacious and well equipped with an amazing sea view and all mod cons including tea/coffee making facilities. The Leisure Centre was very relaxing and well maintained. The food was delicious and served with a smile by the the very accommodating staff. All in all a lovely retreat with lovely walk/cycle ways an ideal break away from the hustle and bustle a chance to relax unwind and enjoy a round of golf or a walk along the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view where possible watching the sun set is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CullenLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent visit to Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and every aspect of your stay. Thank you for your compliments in relation to both our food and the service.
Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently as saw it online and was impressed with all the facilities and wanted to check it out for a larger family holiday. Staff were friendly and I got over the old fashioned decor until it came to the bedroom! Ok it wasnt as bad to make me leave but was so disappointed that I had to pay €110 for an old fashioned room with a tv that was nearly smaller than my phone and looking into carpark, just feel it's not worth that room was clean though. Breakfast only ok

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElBarr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloneaRep, Owner at Gold Coast Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for your review in relation to the Hotel at the Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort. I am delighted to see that you rated both our cleanliness and the service 4 out of 5. We are very proud of our employees here at the hotel as they are all dedicated to ensuring our guests leave feeling happy and relaxed after their stay with us. In regards the concerns that you raised in your review I assure you that they will be addressed where lacking.
Thank you for your feedback and please be assured we use all guest comments be they good or bad to improve on the products and services we offer at the entire Resort . The Hotel is a standard Three Star Property and we are constantly carrying out a schedule of renewal throughout the building. Please feel free to myself or any of the Resort Management direct on 05842249 should you wish to reserve for another date
Mark Knowles
Resort Director
_________________________________________________________________________
Gold Coast Holiday, Golf & Sports Resort employ a team of local and dedicated staff at our Waterford Resort who are focused on delivering an authentic customer experience. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback. Each member of our Resort Team are aware of all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews. It is our policy from January 2014 to protect our online reputation and will therefore investigate and action all posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
15.3 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
22.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Golf Resort

Property: Gold Coast Golf Resort
Address: Gold Coast Rd, Dungarvan X35 EA40, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Coast Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gold Coast Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing