We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of cake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A piece of cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife's sister has spent the last week staying at this hotel with her family. During their stay, their younger daughter reached her 7th birthday. As a surprise, my wife asked the hotel's receptionist if it was possible to arrange a small cake to be delivered to her on her birthday morning. The cake arrived to much glee earlier today, beautifully decorated and perfectly proportioned for a 7 year old. And to top it off, it was all done with the hotel's compliments - no charge. Full marks for customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaPaYoYoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    231
    102
    43
    25
See reviews for
263
180
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 6 days, three adults and three children aged 2 to 8, house was very clean and all essential facilities, piping hot water, good TV channels, DVD, electric shower, high speed wifi broadband (significant bonus) . Free use of leisure centre and a very quiet location. Ideally located for access to great beaches, Dungarvan town, surrounding villages and easy access by car t Waterford, Tramore, Youghal, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, fine weather greatly helped! Dungarvan has some really good eateries, highly recommend the Tannery.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self catering houses at the rear of the hotel, very good for young family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heffoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in the self catering houses just behind the hotel itself. The house was clean but not maintained to best standards.. (Stains on all wood fixtures, untreated picnic table, stains on walls, stains on sofa. ) Little things like this demonstrate the lack of the hotels commitment to their "4 star" rating. Beds were clean and comfortable. Access to pool was great as we had a three year old with us who loved it. Complimentary kids club at ideal time from 5.30pm to 9pm where they did arts and crafts, played games, and watched movies. Great facility and lovely girls looking after the kids. Just a short walk to the town, no problem for the three year old. A plethora of lovely beaches, restaurants, playgrounds, pet farms, shopping accessible in the surrounding areas. The hotel itself is dated and dark, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. A few subtle changes would make this a perfect four star family getaway accommodation. All in all a fun filled week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank healio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel, breakfast was great (shame to have it in the windowless restaurant tucked away in the heart of the hotel). Room was clean & tidy with everything you might need. Parking out front.

Utilised the pub at the front of the hotel for drinks & a meal, good atmosphere & food (was nicer than using the actual restaurant, but restaurant menu was available to chose from).

You must note that the hotel is a short walk from the centre of the town, across a busy road. This was no problem really but when eating & drinking in town it added onto the night to walk back to the hotel.

Also note that the leisure centre is open to the public, we were travelling with 2 small children & were put off using the pools due to the swimming lessons & crowds of people.

Hotel is in a nice location & great set up. Not sure if we would stay again, would depend if there was a similar set up hotel in the town itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WritingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We asked locals in the town centre if they could recommend a local hotel and that's how we ended up at The Park Hotel.

By the way, this report comes with a number of pictures along with captions but the way that TripAdvisor is displaying photos these days, it is not possible to discern which pictures go with which report or indeed to see the associated captions. There are pictures of the room, the restaurant, the dinner courses taken by myself and her majesty (three photos here) and the view from the hotel front.

We took the dinner, bed and breakfast option at 150 euro and could find little fault with any aspect of our stay. Dinner was certainly not 'haute cuisine' but was substantial, portions of beef were hefty and succulent, vegetables were hearty. The room and its firm beds gave us the best night's rest we have had in some time. Breakfast, served until 10:00 or 10:30 depending on who you ask or which paper you look at (this is Ireland), certainly set us up for the day - we both took the 'full Irish' along with fruit, yoghurt etc.

The restaurant's decor was, in my opinion, quite dull (but HM said she rather liked the muted colours) and the atmosphere was oppressive (either there was no air-con or it was not working) so the ambience at dinner was not particularly comfortable. Service was good at the front desk and at dinner and breakfast.

I could have gone for a rating of 'very good' but the positives far outweighed the relatively minor issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterswijk, Nederland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel.
Didn't go to the restaurant, but ate at the bar instead.
The waiter comes to take your order, like in a restaurant so I was positively surprised.
The food was served within reasonable time and tasted superb.

The room itself was quite warm, due to the sun shining on the large glass window/balcony door. Without air conditioning, I was forced to open the balcony door during the night.
The bathroom was fitted with bath and shower. The shower head needs thorough cleaning as well as the thermostatic tap. Both were stuck in position because of scaling.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MtS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed there a number of times since 1997 and enjoyed our stays. Rooms are good but bed mattresses need renewing. Gym is well equipped but upholstery is taped up with Duct tape. Pool is good but changing rooms tatty.
Bar is outdated and dingy.
Food is good

Room Tip: Rooms at front are over car park which can be noisy but have river estuary outlook. Some rooms at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilJones109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.3 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
15.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Shandon, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holiday Homes is the perfect venue for a relaxing getaway break on the beautiful Waterford coastline. Situated in idyllic surroundings; The Park Hotel is located on the N25 (main road from Rosslare) (just 15 minutes from the M9, and 30 minutes from the M8 – on the outskirts of the vibrant Dungarvan town on the main Cork – Waterford Roadway. The hotel is situated on it’s own 5 acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Colligan Estuary; and adjacent to Dungarvan Bay, and Dungarvan Town Centre. Dungarvan is a lively town with a list of award winning restaurants, Bars, and with only a 5 minute drive to 3 Golf Courses and the beautiful Clonea Beach – this is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or stuck in traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel And Leisure Centre
Park Hotel Dungarvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing