We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guesthouse”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is probably the nicest B&B I've ever stayed in. Spent a weekend here recently and it was wonderul. Great location at the edge of a lovely scenic town. The best breakfast I've ever had - no exaggeration. I particularly liked the fresh herbs and veg from the garden. Brian is a great host and couldn't be nicer.

Great value as well, relative to other B&Bs

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaklands2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Spent four nights here in this old world accommodation which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The breakfasts were out of this world and the hosts were very attentive and friendly.
The only criticism was the condition of the shower,it could have been much cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This B&B has everything one could wish for and more. The house is absolutely delightful and has a fascinating history. Our room was utterly charming, with lovely decor and bedding. The varied and imaginative breakfast selection is delightful too. Brian is a charming host who works hard to ensure your comfort. The location of the house is ideal. An earlier reviewer complained of a nearby motorway, which is absolute nonsense. The main road through the town is some 300 metres away, but we arrived during the 'rush hour' and no traffic noise whatsoever could be heard as we sat in the delightful gardens. The river Colligan runs right past the house and there is a lovely upstairs conservatory and outdoor terrace which overlook the water and have wide ranging views. Brian kindly provides glasses and corkscrew so guests may drink their own wine up there and gaze at the delightful views of hills and river The house is just a short walk from the town and the harbour and Brian also provides menus for the main local restaurants. The one we selected (a family pub) was wonderful. Do visit the free museum in the castle. All in all this was a very comfortable and special experience. Cannot recommend this lovely B&B too highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I spent a little over a week traveling the country with another couple. We stayed in quite a few B&B's on our journey, and we both agree Cairbre House was our favorite. Not only are the grounds and the house worth the stay, but Brian (the caretaker) was the most hospitable host we have ever had. He really went out of his way to make us feel like we were staying with a friend, not in some stranger's home. It's quite obvious that Brian has a passion for his home, his garden, and for food! I could write a very large review about everything we loved about our short stay here, but really just go and discover it on your own (that's part of the fun!). We are already talking about going back and staying much longer here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivefootmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

When visiting Irish B&Bs you get used to a standard of excellence and tend to take it for granted. However, even by Irish standards the breakfasts at Cairbre were exceptional. Sometimes you get “breakfasted out” after a few days on the Full-Irish, but the variety on offer meant there was little risk of that here. Presentation was outstanding, particularly the freshly-picked edible flowers. If ever there was anything that looked too good to eat, then this was it … but that didn’t stop us!

OK, maybe a 200-year old house isn’t going to be all shine and gloss (eg water pressure was a bit ‘iffy’, TV signal comes and goes), but the room was clean and comfortable with free wifi, adequate off-road parking – it more than made up for any minor shortcomings by its character, location and the panoramic view across the estuary – and of course the easy friendliness of Brian, our host, and everyone else we encountered during our stay. Dungarvan itself, just a few minutes walk across the bridge, was a charming town with plenty of pubs/restaurants – large enough to be interesting, small enough to get around on foot. We look back on our stay there with very fond memories.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crwydrgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the garde ns are absolutely gorgeous! It was a pleasant walk into town for dinner, but the evening meal was handily outdone by breakfast. All the meals are fantastic! Brian was very friendly and helpful. He explained where all the restaurants are and had menus to look at, as well. This is a stellar place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzimmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My family made a trip to Ireland for The Gathering in Dungarvan and we needed a comfortable place to use as home base for meeting our relatives. Cairbre House was absolutely perfect! From our arrival, everything went perfectly. There was plenty of room to park and we were met with Brian's exquisitely tended gardens overlooking the river. The home looked so beautiful perched atop the river.

Once inside the door we were greeted by name by Brian. If there is a more gracious B &B host, I certainly have not met them. The rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfasts were made to order and delicious. We had tea and coffee in the second floor conservatory one afternoon--delightful.

Brian was up to date on all of the activities available in and around Dungarvan. Luckily, they were having their annual TradFest that weekend so there was plenty to do and it was an easy walk into town.

Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with Brian and Cairbre House!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.7 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Tudor House
Tudor House
#11 of 16 in Dungarvan
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Anthonys Guesthouse
St Anthonys Guesthouse
#9 of 16 in Dungarvan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing