We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for great value”
Review of Tannery Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tannery Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 15 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay for great value”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We have just come back from a stay at the tannery townhouse with dinner included. What can I say but that we will be back again.
Our room was not large but it was lovely and had all we needed. We had drinks and dinner in the restaurant . Food and ambience was just amazing as was our delicious breakfast the next day . The service was just excellent. We have done many one nights dinner b&b packages and this was definitely one of the best in Ireland in terms of enjoyment and value for money

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    29
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
9
82
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Well managed with efficient, professional and friendly staff. The room was quirky, spotless clean and had all the essentials. The bespoke breakfast is a treat, this accounts for (along with the staff) the rating I've given.

The only disappointment was that fairy liquid was put in the soap dispenser in the bathroom!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the Tannery Townhouse last weekend as a quiet anniversary treat. We had been waiting for ages to visit Dungarvan and eat in the Tannery restaurant itself, so we decided to email and request a one-night package. The one thing that stands out about the Tannery is the staff - they really take a personable approach. Not overbearing, but incredibly friendly and obliging. They were very willing to give us a one-night rate, with dinner in the Tannery restaurant included.

The Townhouse itself is great - I had been a bit apprehensive about not choosing a superior room. The room itself was small, but the decor and furnishings made the most of the space. As other reviewers have said, the attention to detail was really apparent. Cosy and welcoming without too much fuss. We almost enjoyed the breakfast more than the meal the night before! To have REAL coffee and milk, along with beautiful muffins, fruit and yoghurt was a real treat and just what we needed to send us on our way home.

This was such a refreshing experience when compared to other hotel stays, and the little details just elevated this visit for us. The restaurant itself is charming and relaxed, serving simple and well-cooked food (with a great wine list!). This has re-affirmed my new found love of Waterford and all of it's culinary charms!

Hope to make it back for a cooking class some day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Held a work meeting at the hotel and found the whole experience very pleasant indeed. The service from all of the staff was first rate and we felt very well looked after, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone enjoyed the food, especially the freshly cooked muffins.

The Townhouse was modern, comfortable, clean and thoroughly nice. The only downside was that the walls were paper thin.

I certainly felt that our booking represented exceptional value for money.

I would definitely recommend both the Townhouse and Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGitanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My friends and I spent last night in the Tannery Townhouse and it was just amazing - the rooms were fabulous and the attention to detail is just brilliant. The beds are so so comfortable- I even took a sneaky look to see what brand the mattress was ! Tried to see the brand of pillows too but without success ! Needless to say had a fantastic sleep! The breakfast was yum and it was lovely not to be under pressure to check out early.

We ate in the Tannery Restaurant too and the food was just so amazing ! The entire Tannery staff are just top class - very professional, really helpful and friendly. There was a wedding reception in the Tannery School and it looked fabulous - so intimate and how wow it must be to have Paul Flynn cook for you on your most special of days!
Lovely to see on his TV series how proud he is to be from Dungarvan and how he promotes County Waterford!
If you have not been to the Tannery - make it your business to go very very soon because it is worth it!
Thanks to all for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My man & I stayed at the Townhouse last Saturday evening after a family event nearby. It's lovely, absolutely lovely. We really appreciated the privacy, the comfy bed and the gorgeous breakfast in the morning. I thought it was like something out of Jane Austen with a modern twist. Room 10 had windows on two sides so there was loads of light in the morning - really enjoyed the experience of staying there.
To finish off our 24 hour escape to Dungarvan we had lunch in the restaurant itself. Nice, but not as nice as breakfast in bed :-)

Room Tip: number 10, top of the house - very nice indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our second visit to the Tannery townhouse and the restaurant for New Year this time. My husband and I were made to feel very welcome and it was lovely to enjoy the Irish charm at New Year. We had a fantastic stay. The rooms are very comfortable, we had a lovely deep bath in a modern bathroom. Breakfast was as lovely as last time, very filling and a refreshing alternative to a fry up when staying away. We had delicious yoghurt with a rhubarb and I think plum compote which was slightly spiced and I wish I could learn to make to have for breakfast at home. The raspberry muffins were delicous too.

We ate at the restaurant on NYE which was spectacular. A wonderful atmosphere with friendly staff. Marie is a very friendly and fantastic hostess. It was lovely to meet Paul the next day when we handed in our keys and thank him for the amazing food. Hopefully before long my husband and I can come along and do one of the cookery courses.

It was great on New Years Day morning to be able to laze in bed, have a relaxing breakfast and listen to the church bells chiming. Such a wonderful place to visit and it won't be our last time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tannery, Owner at Tannery Townhouse, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Cosmo Sarah
Cant tell you how delighted we were to be the chosen spot for your surprise New Years Eve night out. Really looking forward to seeing you back in Ireland again something in 2012.
with best wishes to you and your husband.
Máire Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
438 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
24.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 15 in Dungarvan
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tannery Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tannery Townhouse

Property: Tannery Townhouse
Address: 10 Quay Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style townhouse catering for the independent traveller. Associated with Tannery Restaurant and Tannery Cookery School. Extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms with wifi, irons, flatscreen tvs etc. Our breakfast is a small continental breakfast in the room. Please note when you are booking the Tannery Townhouse that we do not serve a full Irish or cooked breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tannery Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tannery Townhouse Hotel Dungarvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing