We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Tannery Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tannery Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Tannery have really upped their game since we last visited ten years ago (which is quite a considerable feat considering how good it was then). We had a super new year's eve meal served by extremely friendly and welcoming staff which was superb value to boot. The townhouse was new to us and was a really pleasant surprise too. The room was large, warm, comfortable, quiet and well maintained. I really liked the idea of an in-room breakfast which was above average consisting of toasted muesli, granola fruit yogurt, muffins and tea/coffee (cafetière and nespresso). We wouldn't hesitate to return again next year (if not before)!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dochogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Tannery Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Everything was excellent here, from the service, the room, the conversation....all top notch. The rooms are great (clean, modern, smart, comfy), nice big tubs to soak in, separate showers, super comfy beds and pillows and feather duvet's. The fridge is stocked with top shelf juice, water, coffee, cream, etc. The morning greets you with granola fruit yogurt and pastries. The wonderful host took time out to tell us his favorite spots around the island for off the beaten path places to go, he brought drinks to our room. Did not eat in the restaurant but the menu looked wonderful. We really enjoyed it. They are genuinely happy to be in the hospitality business, and it shows! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StopKickingMySeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal. Really enjoyed. Food is really good, great choice and service is wonderful, decor relaxing and crisp, great atmosphere. Rooms are lovely, breakfast is in the room with muffins left outside room. Nice to wake up and have breakfast when you want, just add water to coffee plungers. You are made very welcome and atmosphere is very relaxed with excellent service - lovely evening, nothing is rushed and food is sooooo good.
So worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossespoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here in Oct as part of a package with the Tannery restaurant. We had a superior room that was a lovely size, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had a nice big bath and shower. Breakfast was as described when we booked - some yougurt/granola with muffins and coffee. There was also a nespresso machine in the room which was v useful. It was lovely to take our time over breakfast in the morning and not have to make it a specific time for breakfast. The townhouse is in a good location also, very central and easy to find parking. The only downside is the soundproofing which is noticeably poor. Luckily we did not have noisy neigbours but I could hear some snoring during one night. If this issue was fixed it would be a definite 5 stars for me!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tannery, Owner at Tannery Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi Paula, thanks for coming to Dungarvan and thank you for your review.

The soundproofing issue has come up a few times recently and I think its time I addressed it. I would just like to point out firstly to other people thinking of staying with us that it is not a constant problem and its not in every single room. It's also a source of disappointment to us having paid a premium for a hotel standard soundproofing in the refurb!. In the last few years, we have not been in a position to rectify the issue. We intend to do a sound proofing job in the rooms affected, commencing this coming January.

With best wishes and hope we might see you again.

Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a very nicely decorated hotel across the street from the excellent restaurant. The sound proofing is dreadful though - could actually hear normal conversations next door! I got virtually no sleep so if I eat here again I'll be staying elsewhere. Also housekeeping staff did not clean the toilet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had just arrived in Ireland a night prior, and were heading along the coastal road when we came across this Dungarvan. There was a church tea that we thought we would like to experience. After tea, we took a stroll around the town looking for a cash machine and saw the signs for the Tannery Restaurant and the Tannery Townhouses. On the spur of the moment we decided to stay overnight in Dungarvan, and I'm glad we did. To book a room, you need to visit the restaurant, where the staff were all very helpful, giving us a tour, and a pretty good rate. Breakfast was clearly explained to us, so I'm not sure why previous writers have had difficulty with the way it is handled. We were encouraged to book a time for dinner at the restaurant, which was good advice as it turned out to be really busy and really good. Chef and his wife were both there - they have created something really special. I would like to return sometime to experience the cookery school. I had never heard of Dungarvan before, but now would recommend it as a good place for a stopover while touring this part of Ireland. We had no trouble with the noise - we just closed the wooden shutters when we wanted to go to sleep. One of the members of our party did hear some noise from the pub down the road, but then, I think that might have been a good reason to go down to the pub and meet some Irish. To each his own - I certainly wouldn't let this spoil my visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It is as it says in its website boutique style accomodation and if a continental breakfast eaten in your bedroom suits you it is different.
Stayed in building which houses The Cookery school and yes you can hear the conversation from adjoining room as there was an adjoining door.
The room was lovely with nice size bathroom with walk in shower but some areas are showing wear and tear walls, tables, shower.
Some shelving in bathroom would not go astray and a tablecloth for table for breakfast would be nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
335 reviews
24.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tannery Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tannery Townhouse

Address: 10 Quay Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range: £91 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style townhouse catering for the independent traveller. Associated with Tannery Restaurant and Tannery Cookery School. Extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms with wifi, irons, flatscreen tvs etc. Our breakfast is a small continental breakfast in the room. Please note when you are booking the Tannery Townhouse that we do not serve a full Irish or cooked breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tannery Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tannery Townhouse Hotel Dungarvan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing