We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shangra-La on a Fjord in Norway”
Review of Walaker Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walaker Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shangra-La on a Fjord in Norway”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent a week driving through Norway, and our travel agent booked us at the Walaker Hotel in Solvorn. We drove down the mountain to this small town of 150 people and drove up to this hotel right on the Fjord. We felt like we arrived in Shangra-La. Totally unexpected. this hotel is managed by the same family for 9 generations dating back to 1640. Unbelievable. Rooms were fanastic and the view on the Fjord without tourists around was beautiful. Dinner was included and when we arrived in the dining room, tables were set with china and crystal, and the four course meal was outstanding. We did not want to leave the dinner table. It was like going out to one of those very small 5 star restaurants. So to find it in the hotel was exceptional. After dinner the owner brought all the guests together in their gallery and told us about his family history and showed us the art on display. It was so personable it was great. We then sat outside looking at the mountain and the fjord till after 11pm since it is light out so late. Breakfast was exceptional. It was a great stay and had we not been booked further North we would have extended our stay as we were in a beautiful peaceful setting without cruise ships docked nearby. We felt like we owned a home on a fjord with a lot of privacy. If you get anywhere near Solvorn, be sure to stay at the Walaker Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
191
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

During our two week trek across Denmark, Sweden and Norway in my OSD Volvo, we stopped at several hotels. Walaker was one of two that were our favorites (Elveseter Hotel in Lom, being the other). It was quaint, spotless, relaxing and had excellent food. Dinner was a lovely four course meal. Appetizer was cauliflower soup with trout, followed by chicken breast slices seasoned with herbs grown in the owner's garden on a bed of shredded beetroot with a small amount of creamed pumpkin (or maybe it was sweet potato). The main course was monkfish on a bed of mashed potatoes and dessert was cooked apples with cream and a topping. The owner was kind enough to include us on a short history and art tour at the hotel, where we learned about his family having owned and operated the hotel for hundreds of years and saw some very interesting and beautiful artwork by local artists. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
310 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I spent just over a week touring the Fjords and found the hotels we stayed in clean and friendly but lacking charm and quality (generally speaking) ...and then we stayed at Walaker !!!!

Wow, great location, great service, great room, great food the whole experience was fantastic. The owner (Ole Henrik) who is now the 10th generation to own and run the hotel spent a good 30mins with us on our first evening chatting about the local area etc and provides an overview of the history of the local area and tour of their art gallery each evening after dinner. The views from the hotel across the fjord are absolutely fantastic and I could (and did !) sit on the deck for hours just soaking them up.

Although there is a charming little cafe in Solvorn (the village is tiny) is closes at 7pm so unless you want to drive c10 - 15mins to the nearest alternative you have to eat in the restaurant. However, trust me in that this is no hardship !!! Yes, everyone has to sit down at the same time (7.30pm) and it is a set menu but the food was excellent and I would recommend eating there even if the village was flush with alternatives. Equally breakfast was plentiful, lots of variety and equally lots of locally produced food.

Our room was immaculate, large enough (and certainly big when compared to previous rooms we stayed in during our fly drive week) and the bed comfy. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi throughout and the signal strength was very good.

There is a small beach just in front of the hotel should the sun shine and the ferry across the fjord equally departs c100m from the front door. Please do go across to visit the Urnes Stave church (you can go across on foot and its only a 25min walk ...although it is up hill) - you will need to pay to get in but they do offer a guided tour which takes c15mins and is well worth it.

The thing that was most awe-inspiring was the tranquillity, you could sit outside at night and not hear anyone or anything other than perhaps the occasional bird and often from miles away. Sometimes you are lucky enough to come across somewhere that is very special and for me both Solvorn and the Walaker hotel is that somewhere....i very much hope to return, and soon, but for now will have to make do with the photos. A big thank you to Ole and his team for making our few days so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful old hotel and very friendly and helpful owners. It is very old however and the rooms are mostly small (old building) but characterful. There is no choice of menu but the food is of a very high standard. The new section next door is ugly and looks like a cheap motel, but at least it is low rise!

One of the family gave everyone who was interested an excellent talk after dinner about the history of the hotel and of Solvorn.

Solvorn is amazingly peaceful and if quiet is what you seek you will find it here!

Room Tip: The old hotel has much more character. The new part has much bigger rooms but they are a bit bleak w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you want to visit just one of the old wooden hotels in Norway, this is the one!
This hotel owned and runned by a family for 9 generations, is a perfect place to relax and has outstanding surroundings: fjords, mountains, a small slowliving village and a beautiful old stavechurch on the other side of the fjord.
Book a table for the 4 course dinner, the food is superb!

We'll be back :)

L&A

Room Tip: Corner room in the main house was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohoueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were so happy that we had booked two nights at this jewel of a small hotel...and wished we had stayed longer. The weather was absolutely beautiful, which made it even better. The tiny village, the TV-free rooms, the lovely garden and the beautiful scenery all help create a very special atmosphere. Loved it!

Room Tip: The historic rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had a marvelous time there. It is set at the edge of a fjord in a lovely small village. The owner Ole Henrik, took time to visit with us and tell us about his family and their history there. The rooms are charmingly decorated. The food was excellent, and the staff were especially friendly and helpful. We only regretted that we were just there for one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHejtmanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvorn
24.5 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
24.7 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
17.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaker Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaker Hotell

Property: Walaker Hotell
Address: Solvorn 6879, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Solvorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solvorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Walaker Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing