We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walaker Hotell
Nearby Hotels
Eikum Hotel(Hafslo)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Laegreid Hotell(Sogndal Municipality)
US$210
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Hotel Sogndal(Sogndal Municipality)
US$202
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindstroem Hotel(Laerdal Municipality)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torvis Hotel(Sogn og Fjordane)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Klingenberg Hotel(Ardalstangen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skjolden Hotel(Skjolden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
309
54
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
54
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse dinnerstave churchthe ownermain buildinghistoric hotelset menusoupdining roomart galleryapple juiceold buildingfront porcheach eveningboth nightswestern norwayfixed menudietary restrictions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fantastic accommodations all around. The Walaker Hotell is beautiful and impeccably maintained. This place is spotless. It is in a postcard-perfect location. The room was the most comfortable of any I stayed in during my trip to Norway (in the new building: quiet, large room with two beds, couch, desk and porch) and the bathroom/shower was extremely nice. The staff provided exceptional service and were all very knowledgable, personable and pleasant while serving absolutely delicious meals. Best breakfast in Norway!

Room Tip: Stayed in the new building which is absolutely lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel has been in the same family for 9 generations and was established around 1650 in quaint village of Solvorn. Try and stay in the original building. We loved room 50. The room was small and charming with the the single beds toe to toe. The beds were sort of like sleeping in a sleigh. The restaurant is very expensive, even by Norwegian standards, but the food is gourmet. Just don't look at the price. The little village is charming. You can take a short ferry to a Stave church across the fjord.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent historic hotel at a beautiful location near the Lustrafjord. We had a tasty four course dinner that the hotel offers every day. The brakfast is also great and offers homemade bread and local foods from the region. I could warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AneRosnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Beautiful setting. Nice historic building with great garden. Very friendly staff.
EXCELLENT food: a Michelinstar worthy. Nice historic rooms (but no TV).
A place to remember. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends.
Gina & Luc

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I loved our three night stay at the Walaker Hotel in Solvorn last month. We were traveling with our 13 month old daughter and were nervous that she wouldn't be welcome but that couldn't have been further from the truth. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful, going above and beyond to make our trip a positive one. While the dinner (amazing, btw!) started at 7:30pm each night, we were only able to make it to 1 of them, but were still able to enjoy drinks and dessert after the two other meals. Staff played with our daughter (thank you Stina!) and the other hotel guests were very friendly as well. We loved, and were very grateful for, the open air deck on the second floor of the old building as we would read in there while our daughter napped in the room during the days. It was great to have this additional "living space" so close to our bedroom. While I would generally recommend this hotel as a solo or romantic getaway spot, families are definitely welcome and the hotel does a great job accommodating them.

The chef is the same chef who cooks for the deli/market in town and his food is excellent in both places. I already miss his salmon burger!

Excellent stay and I will definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: If you want a more modern large room, ask for the motel section (it's not a motel, don't worry). If you want more of a quaint smaller room, ask for the old building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews