We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful skiing break in a picture perfect chalet”
other travellers have booked this property
Chalet La Taupiniere in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet La Taupiniere in winter
Welcome to Chalet La Taupiniere The private indoor heated 10m pool with doors and windows to the south onto the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Chalet La Taupiniere in winter
Welcome to Chalet La Taupiniere
The private indoor heated 10m pool with doors and windows to the south onto the garden
Chalet La Taupiniere from the garden
La Taupiniere in winter
La Taupiniere at dusk
Parking for two cars
Chalet La Taupiniere from the garden
The sitting area
The open-plan living area with comfortable sofas
Antique snow shoes adorn a wall in the sitting area
Meadow flowers
The open plan living area
The dining area
The dining table looks onto the balcony and mountain views
The view to the garden and across the valley from the balcony
View from the balcony
The compact kitchen is well-equipped
The kitchen is light with doors to the balcony and a window to the front
The kitchen
A closer detail of the hand-painted 'poya' mural along the pool
A lovely view to enjoy whilst swimming of the Moleson mountain
The master bedroom with 160cm/5ft bed
The master bedroom has doors to the terrace and garden
The double bedroom with 140cm bed, and a door to the pool room
Detail of the book case in the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Detail of the lovely wooden beds in the twin room
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom, overlooking the front garden
Single bedroom
Family bathroom with twin wash basin and large shower/bath
Pretty chalet details in the bedrooms
Beautiful lamps for reading in bed
A unique, hand-painted door, picturing a 'poya' leads to the en-suite shower room
The en-suite shower room also has a wash basin and WC
Super-soft bamboo-cotton towels are provided
Enjoy the spacious sauna at the end of the day
Watch the sun rise over the mountains from the balcony
Moleson Village, showing Chalet La Taupiniere at the bottom of the photo in the middle
Flowers at the foot of Le Moleson
View of Le Moleson in summer
The chateau at Gruyeres
Gruyeres - the medieval hilltop town famed for its beauty
And Gruyeres is also famed for its cheese - and other dairy products such as cream, milk & chocolate
Gruyeres at dusk with Moleson behind
Gruyeres
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Moleson, La Gruyere, Canton of Fribourg

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kate R
1 review
“Wonderful skiing break in a picture perfect chalet”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a wonderful time in Moleson. The chalet was beautiful and the pool and sauna such a luxury after (and before) days on the slopes.

Our two young children (6 and 4) were first timers and the Swiss ski school in the village was brilliant. The local skiing was great, catering to all abilities, blue/red and a black. And the toboggan run was a highlight, with the kids and grown ups!

It's a small resort, but with all the essentials covered, delicious fondues included - totally perfect for a low key skiing break, without all the madness and expense that comes with the larger resorts.

We also enjoyed some local trips - Gruyeres is at the bottom of the mountain and mind blowingly beautiful, totally picture perfect. And the chocolate factory was a lot of fun!

And when the snow melted we drove to Verbier, an easy hour and a half scenic drive, where there was still skiing to be had.

A beautiful chalet, gorgeous village and great location. Big thumbs up from the Cavaliers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Adam & Kate,
Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the chalet, Moleson and the surrounding area.
We hope to welcome you back one day - perhaps in summer next time!
Best wishes
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR253...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely, comfortable,cosy chalet in a beautiful alpine village”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a wonderful week at La Taupiniere for a weeks skiing holiday. The chalet is very clean,comfortable and well equipped for a party of 10. After a days skiing it was heaven to return and sit infront of the log fire with a glass of wine. The younger members of the group still had energy to enjoy the pool and we all made use of the sauna. The chalet owners were very helpful beforehand and even helped us arrange the ski hire required for our group which was ready for us to collect on arrival at the village equipment hire shop. It's a beautiful region to explore and we were lucky to have great snow. The ski lift is only a 5 min walk away and there is good skiing for beginners and intermediates for at least a couple of days then it's less than 30 mins drive to other ski resorts in the area ( information in the chalet folder was very helpful). We definitely hope to return to La Taupiniere in the future and would recommend it to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review, Julie. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick R
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous winter holiday”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a fabulous stay at La Taupiniere, absolutely loved the Chalet. Great facilities with the pool and sauna. Good sized rooms and a very handy studio room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you again to La Taupiniere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth44421
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not What it Seems!”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house has its good points. The location is excellent. The pool and sauna facility is good. The family bathroom is good and the lounge seating area is comfortable.
HOWEVER –
The house is too small for 10/11 people. The kitchen is a ‘one person’ kitchen.
We were a family of 7 (5 adults and 2 children) and struggled to self- cater. The dining area is filled with a large 2 leaf extendable table with benches and folding chairs. We just managed by moving the table diagonally and having one leaf folded down.
The small double bedroom is the inside access to the pool area. It is too hot and too noisy at night and should be disregarded as a bedroom
The twin bedroom is very small & only suitable for small children. The separate studio is also small but OK for children. Access to downstairs is via a steep stone spiral staircase with no handrail.
The downstairs rooms smelt and felt damp.
There are no locks on any of the inside doors, including toilets and bathroom.
There is no toilet near the pool apart from going through the bedroom.
The other access to the pool area is via the front door, down a muddy slope and through the garden.
The kitchen equipment and oven were not very clean. We spent an hour getting it to a reasonable standard.
On arrival we found the garden very unkempt, even windows were covered with growth. We spent several hours chopping back overgrown foliage to make the place more pleasant.
The outside eating area was a non-starter, it is an area of old concrete slabs and the access to it is via the muddy slope down to the garden or through 2 of the bedrooms. The table and benches were old with peeling varnish. The BBQ was dirty & still full of ash, we even found the missing oven shelf in the ash!
Lastly, there is NO WI FI here despite being led to believe to the contrary right up until the day before we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool facility.
Liked least: Lack of space and poor condition of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review & highlighting the points you thought were good.
We are constantly working on, & upgrading the chalet wherever possible & this has been the case since we purchased it in 1988. Also in that time clients' requirements have changed & the demand is for more luxury. The house is small for 11 people & we are planning to turn the studio into an en-suite twin/double bedroom. This would also give the chalet an extra shower room. The chalet would then sleep 9 people maximum.

The kitchen is small, but it is well-equipped. We find that there is generally only one, or maybe two people in the kitchen, even for a large group & this works fine. Sadly it is not something we can easily change. With regards to cleanliness I was there just a month earlier & spring cleaned the kitchen. We had guests staying afterwards, & our cleaner does her best in the 6 hours between clients.

The chalet was constructed in 1978 & the bedrooms are quite small, but certainly no smaller than most houses (in Switzerland & the UK) of the post war period. The twin bedroom is fine for two adults - we have had many friends, family & guests stay in that room.
The pool was constructed by the previous owners & we have tried with various planners to change this over the years but with no success. As this is a holiday home, people tend not to travel with much luggage, & not to spend much time in the bedrooms.

The spiral staircase complies with building regulations, including UK building regs & is not steep. If we were to add a handrail it would make the staircase narrower which we do not feel would enhance the safety of the stairs.

I am very surprised you felt the downstairs smelt & felt damp. Again, we were there in July & everything was fine. Perhaps the previous tenants left the pool room door open. There is an automatic closer on the door to try and prevent this happening, along with a notice on the door.

There are no locks on the internal doors. There used to be keys for each room & these were lost by various tenants over the years, & we were informed of the problem of children locking themselves in to rooms. I shall look into adding locks to the bathroom doors.

We would love to add a toilet near the pool. It is a logistical & planning problem.

There are steps & a path in the garden down to the pool. The rest of the area is grassed & not ‘muddy’ unless it’s rained heavily.

During our visit in July we cut back a lot of Virginia Creeper on the pergola & balcony. However, we actually like the way it drapes over the building & offers some shade in summer, but our taste is clearly not for everyone. The windows were not covered in ‘growth’ as I cleaned all the windows in the chalet, inside and out just a few weeks before your visit.

As the chalet has the bedrooms on the lower floor and living room on the upper floor (as is normal for chalets) then yes, the access to the terrace is via the bedrooms. However, since I assume people only eat outside if it’s sunny, then the access is also via the garden. And yes, it’s a slope (with a path) – that’s what being in the mountains generally means!

The barbecue to which you refer isn’t even ours & was left by the previous tenants.

With regards to wifi – we now have wifi (as of 8 October 2014). However, at no time on HomeAway, via which you booked, was wifi mentioned as a service in the chalet, & nor was it mentioned on our own website.
Our prices are low considering our location & facilities. The swimming pool is expensive to maintain. We rent the chalet to cover the running costs, not to make a profit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick-K...
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a long weekend with friends (also family friendly)!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spend this year's Easter weekend at la Taupinière with a group of friends from abroad. There is a bus that takes you to Moléson-Village, but it's much more convenient to get there by car.

We had some doubts at first as we realized that Liz, the owner, is not based in Switzerland most of the time and we couldn't find any recent reviews on the Internet. But once we talked to her on the phone our doubts disappeared and we decided to go ahead with the vacation rental. And we were absolutely glad we did so: the chalet was very cozy and reasonably clean (a lady who lives in the village looks after the chalet), it had a balcony with nice views on the surrounding mountains, a working chimney, comfortable beds and best of all a sauna and indoor pool! The kitchen was rather small but fully functional. In order to access the pool you have to either walk across one of the bedrooms or enter from the garden, but that was totally fine. You'll have to bring your own towels which may be a little inconvenient for some people, but then again the price of the vacation rental is very reasonable! There is lots to do around Moléson-Village both in winter and in summertime. Would definitely recommend it and go there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chimney and indoor pool.
Liked least: Some of the drinking glasses and cutlery were not properly cleaned, presumably by the previous guests.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albinati...
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Merci beaucoup et j'espere que vous nous visiter encore.
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinette...
La Ville Du Bois, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Je vous remercie de votre belle critique. Nous espérons néanmoins que cela vous aidera dans vos recherches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing