We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gateway”
Review of Le Sapin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Sapin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice gateway”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed for two nights with my wife and 2yo daughter. Room was large and nice, with way enough space to add our babycot, but I didn’t like at all the bed. Mattress was too hard and I didn’t sleep well both nights. Breakfast was great, with many local products. We had two nice dinners at one of the three hotel’s restaurants, La Poya. I’m not sure if I will stay in Charmey again, but I recommend Le Sapin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    58
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
97
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked the package "Les Bains" for two people including 1 night at the hotel Le Sapin, 3 hours in the spa Gruyère les Bains, a delicious fondue, charcuterie and meringues, breakfast and a free entrance to the Cailler factory, for 295 CHF (for two people).
The room was perfect and the staff friendly. I really recommend this hotel and package Les Bains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with my parents, as the Hotel Cailler was fully booked. We were so impressed with the hotel, as the rooms were fantastic. Such comfortable beds, and such cute furnishings. This hotel is totally underrated!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also, the quality of the breakfast is wonderful...such nice local products!! Will be returning soon!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough!! Excellent value!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at le Sapin for a relaxing weekend getaway where we had a the relax package and what a wonderful weekend it was!

The hotel itself is a very cute boutique style hotel with cute furnishing, very comfortable rooms with nice bathrooms as well. The service was very personable and attentive to your needs.

The package included entrance to the Gruyere natural baths which is steps away from the hotel, a nice massage as well as a scrub at the Spa there which were a delight!

Dinner at La Table, the hotels gastronomic restaurant was wonderful, the food is really out of this world and the service was excellent as well. The hotel has two other restaurants one of which we had lunch at with great wood oven pizza!

Finished up the weekend with a visit to the chocolate factory in Broc a few minutes driving from the hotel for a sweet end to a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed there on a Sunday evening for the 1st time. The rooms are just amazing, cosy woodwork, very comfortable beds and a wonderful bathroom normally found in much higher priced hotels. The quality of the bed linen is something you would expect in "luxury collection" themed hotels. I had a room towards the main road. There is virtually no through traffic at night disturbing your sleep. Very friendly receptionist, trying everything. Wireless is free in the rooms, if you would like to work or browse while being in the restaurant you get a free code.
However don't waste your time working in the restaurant, this little hotel has three! The 14 Gault Millau was closed on Sunday. I had dinner in the bistro. The food is outstanding, the wines are correctly priced. Try the steak or strip on the hot stone with house made Sauce Bearnaise, or choose one of the xcellent cheese dishes ( fondue or the local speciality hot 4 layer cheese bread ). Very friendly and speedy service

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a days hike, we stayed there overnight. The staff was partly very businesslike, partly friendly. The rooms were clean, the bathroom is very small. The mattresses were very poor, we didn't sleep really well. The breakfast was ok but not really great. The coffee machine, where you make your own coffee, was not working properly.

As it was a warm evening, we ate outside on the terrace. We had a good meal but had to wait quite some time for it.

Afterall, the hotel is adequate but the prices are high.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tariwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmey
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cailler
Hotel Cailler
#1 of 3 in Charmey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
Romantik Hotel l'Etoile
#3 of 3 in Charmey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Georges
6.7 mi away
Hostellerie am Schwarzsee
Hostellerie am Schwarzsee
#1 of 2 in Schwarzsee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Gruyerien
Hotel Le Gruyerien
#1 of 1 in Morlon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sapin

Property: Le Sapin
Address: rue du Centre 25, Charmey 1637, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Charmey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charmey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Sapin 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel traditionnel et authentique au coeur du village de Charmey. 15 Chambres entierement renovees avec Wifi Gratuit et TV a ecran plat. Petit dejeuner gruerien servi sous forme de buffet et compose uniquement de produits provenant de producteurs de la region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Sapin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing