We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, peaceful place”

Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kayakoy
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Lovely views, peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We caught the bus from Olu Deniz to Hisaronu then changed over to the Kaya bus. It only takes about 10 -15 mins. You could walk if you wanted but it's probably about 7 mile or so. The village is on a hillside and is bigger than we thought. We walked up to the top more or less, past the church, the went round to the right before making our descent. I would recommend trainers or good walking sandals. It is very interesting. You pay 5TL (about£1.50) to visit.
At the end of the walk there is a toilet and a bar, the you follow the path back to the main road.
A very nice walk with great views and interesting history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“go in the morning cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

very peaceful 5 mile stroll with excellent views, a must on your holiday just to see the ghost village

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank quinny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful view of Hisaronu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

the ghost town is a historic location and was enjoyable hiking around it. a tip, make sure u wear trainers!! beautiful views and the church is currently undergoing restoration, when re-opened should be interesting to visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1985AK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a lovely walk. I did this in June to see what it was like while my wife was on the beach. I caught the Dolmus from Hisaronu to Kaya. There is a 5L entrance fee to the village as it is a museum. After a short walk up a stoney path there is a sign for Oludeniz (6k) after which there are red/yellow markers on boulders to follow. It is a bit of a climb up from the village to the top of the hill but once there it is mostly down hill apart from a couple of short sections. The markers on the whole are easy to follow, the only places where you can go wrong ( if not concentrating...which is easy to do when enjoying the views) is where there are large deviations...just look for the curved markers which denote a bend in the trail. There is a mixture of terrain...stoney,rocky, forest etc, shaded and in full sun. The views are stunning, there are very few people on the walk and it is blissfully peaceful. The next day I did it again, this time with the wife. Kaya to Oludeniz is the less strenuous way as doing it in reverse involves a lot of ascent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jumpercollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walking from Hisaronu to Kaya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Yesterday my wife and I walked the Lycian Footpath from Hisaronu to Kaya (Ghost Village). The walk takes around 2 hours through the forest.

As a very minimum trainers are required as it can be very rocky at times and also take plenty of water.

The trial begins just past the Green Forest Hotel on the edge of Hisaronu. Walk past the hotel, then turn left on the Tarmac road. The footpath begins 50m on the right, next to some kind of storage area.

The initial clime gets the heart pumping, then levels off into a steady walk through the forest. The path is very well marked, just follow the red and white marks painted on the rocks.

When you finally arrive in Kaya the path leads straight into the Ghost Village which is very interesting, plus there is a good selection of restaurants where you can get a well earned beer and lunch!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayakoy to Oludeniz Walking Trail also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Kayakoy, Mugla Province

Been to Kayakoy to Oludeniz Walking Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing