We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Tudy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What can I say!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Chose this weekend away with Sun tokens, love going to Cornwall. I was so disappointed with the chalet. (In fact by the end we called it a cell) It was damp, dirty and the smell was disgusting.
We spent the first morning cleaning so that we could take stuff in. Glad we took our own bedding as the bedding in the chalet was damp and smelt!!!

We had to pay for the electric, that's fine but we spent over £23 during the weekend. We had to keep the fires on so as to try and dry it out. There was nothing welcoming about the whole place. We only had a bath with an attachment that you fitted onto the bath taps. (It was filthy) so we could only have a bath, using the emersion heater - more electricity.
Place had an unkempt look about it, grass not cut, broken drain pipes and leaking roofs in the chalets.

Okay yes I expect basic but also clean would have been nice. The whole place needs a revamp, if this is a families first visit to Cornwall they certainly would not come back!! The only plus was the quality of the food in the bar, it was very good and freshly cooked. The staff in the bar and the entertainment staff are on an uphill struggle. They really did work hard especially Jacob, who looked after us during the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    93
    78
    58
    207
See reviews for
302
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A place that should of been shut down years ago, not fit for my dog to stay in let alone my children. From the damp musky smell that greets you as you open the door, to the mouldy bedding (which you have to pay extra for!) the broken window catch and rusty nails poking out, the fact that it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for a long time, and then you leave the chalet for an over cooked meal and drinks from pipes that taste as though they haven't been washed out. The only positive view of this place was seeing it disappearing in my rear view mirror! Please don't waste any money on a stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Tudy hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

we came here in sept 2012 and thought place was rather nice.but we came again on 28ht march for 4 days with the sun newspaper and found it had gone down hill so much,after hanging clothes in wardrobe come sat morning they was damp and started to smell.the chalets should be knocked down and rebuild,we went to club house which is ok if u get hammered which we did but only cause we brought drink from local shop cause the prices need I say more,half lemonade with a dash of lime was £2.05

Room Tip: there wasn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We came here 24 years ago with our daughter and thought it would be lovely to take the grand-children and see what it was like. We had read all the negative reviews so was expecting the worst, but you know what? we were pleasantly surprised. Yes its dated, but we had NO mould, NO strong smell of bleach, just a very basic CLEAN chalet, which is what they advertise it as!! yes some rust on the appliances but very clean inside. If you have paid £40 for the sun offer, then please don't criticise this place, where else are you going to get to stay for 3 nights? in a fantastic base for the coastal seasides? You do not view these chalets as home because they are not, they are a base for you to enjoy your break. The staff were lovely and friendly, kids loved the play area and there are obvious signs that the owners are spending money, there are some chalets that look awfull, but overall we had a lovely time and the kids want to go back, they don't judge like adults do. Go with an open mind, you are not going to get luxury, but remember its upto you to have a good time, not the chalet your staying in. We will definitely go back next year again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susankryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We smelt the accommodation as we opened the door of the first bungalow/hut/shed/chalet. The cooker was so dated the enamel had worn away from the front of it. The fridge was so rusty at the bottom you would not want to put food in it, the bathroom had mold around it and the whole place smelt damp and dismal. We were then asked to look at another bungalow/hut/shed/chalet which was almost as bad only this time the fridge didn't even close with the rust. We then looked at an UPDATED one at £60 extra which was no better than the second one. Most of the bungalows/huts/sheds/chalets were dated, windows that needed replacing and all needed up dating. How can an owner sell holidays like this. Have they no conscience and can they sleep at night when they expect you to stay in the hovels they have on offer. I have rang the Sun newspaper but have been told I can not have a refund as the money has already been paid to the holiday company. Please take note this park should not be offered as a holiday to any one and should be closed down!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed in such a uniquely undesirable hell hole in all my life. Dirty. Smelly. Full of black mould on the walls. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff. It's cheaper to stay at home camped out in one of your wheelie bins than go here and will have the same amenities. Avoid.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr-Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my partner came for a long weekend away and i must say was quite dissapointed with the place.The chalets were very dated and need of modernisation. Im so so glad i didnt come with my 3 children because nothing do do here at all,So be warned!!!!!!! we visited the local area each day and its quite a drive to see anywhere decent! Hard to find this Manor which is hidden in the middle of knowhere!!!! defo would no visit again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Tudy
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park

Property: Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Address: St. Tudy, Saint Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Saint Tudy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Hotel Saint Tudy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Saint Tudy, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing