We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun, great time had by all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Tudy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun, great time had by all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went to Michealstow for our family Summer holiday but having read other reviews about the park we were a little apprehensive to say the least, however on our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful. Our Bungalow was very basic but more than adequate for our needs, the site has pool and a small park which the children loved and were able to spend time playing with their new friends. The evenings entertainment was great it had something for everyone, Kids club started at 7.30 which kept the little ones happy until 9 and then it was Bingo shortly followed by the cabaret they had a different act every night we hadn't laughed and danced so much in ages.

Having read all the negative reviews I think many of them to be unfair!

Micheastow Holiday Park is lovely base to explore Cornwall, we won't hesitate going back in the near and distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    93
    78
    58
    207
See reviews for
302
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We read the bad reviews and wondered what we had booked. Our apartment was nice, clean and homely. But it had a ripped sofa and the smallest tv you could ever buy. The back bedroom became damp if we didnt leave it ventilated. The wall paper was peeling off the walls but a holiday is what you make it. It was a great base for exploring cornwall and it felt a very safe environment to be in. Everyone was nice and friendly and although most of the arcade machines in the games room didnt work there was still plenty to do for my family. The playground and swimming pool were a big hit with my 5 year old.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked as a base to explore Cornwall we understood that 'basic' wouldn't equate to 5* luxury but what 'basic' at Michaelstow Manor equates to can only be decribed as squalid.
We were met with a dilapidated shed complete with leaking flat roof,overgrown gutter and broken doorstep.
The interior was the stuff of nightmares.....filthy detritus ridden carpets,peeling walls,mould on every surface and the overwhelming stench of damp and decay.The beds were about as comfortable as sleeping on concrete and we were repulsed to find that neither mattress nor pillow protectors had been provided.
The bathroom was horrific...faeces encrusted toilet bowl with matching brush and a mat of pubic hair in the bath,a door which would neither close nor lock properly and a broken window catch.The staff hadn't even had the decency to provide us with a single toilet roll!
We had stocked up on some grocery essentials on route but felt unable to use the kitchen facilities as we were fearful of the standard of wiring and the general grease and filth.All crockery and utensils were chipped and mismatched and had obviously been acquired from a charity shop....and as anticipated needed to be scrubbed clean before use.
Essentially we had booked for a week's stay but not even the charms of the rugged north Cornish coast could keep us in this squalid,insect infested hole and we had to sadly cut our holiday short.
Please read the reviews on this site and look at the the photos and although it may be a cliche you couldn't indeed make it up....save your money and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedBen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Tudy hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews we arrived expecting something horrible, this was not the case. Yes the accommodation exterior is dated but the insides were fine. The price paid reflected what you get. I went with my 3 small children and we used it as a base to travel around Cornwall, before leaving and returning each day they wanted to play in the play area, go swimming or play crazy golf and they loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were late in booking our holiday this year and ''Hoseasons'' offered us two Chalets as we were a party of nine.
We had an extremely unpleasant time at this place.
The location is just in the middle of nowhere.
The staff was pleasant.
The accommodation just can not be described in words.
The furniture was at least 25-30 years old. The chalet did not have a proper shower,
There were spiders crawling on the walls.
I scratched all night on my bed and after three nights we all decided that it was not worth spending the fourth night at the park.
We went to Cornwall last year and had great fun. This year Michaelstow Manor Holiday park definitely spoiled our party.

Room Tip: You would love this place if cleanliness is not an issue. Bring coins as the electricity / heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S80YED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I will start with the pros : staff friendly and do what they can, food on site was reasonable price and fairly good. It has a swimming pool, it's in a lovely location.

Cons: the accommodation was not fit to stay in, it has not been updated for years, the bedding and whole place was damp, paint pealing, toilet didn't work properly initially until we complained nd someone came to fix it. All single glazed, a notice to say please leave windows open which we did but didn't feel very safe about doing.all amenities are very basic and worn out, this place is up for sale and I think it has just been left to run down. We left a day early as I couldn't face another night in the chalet.

I would not go again, it's a shame as it has so much potential.

Room Tip: Didn't see any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked a last minute week to Cornwall with my husband and 2 children aged 8 and 12 came back last weekend. Price was very reasonable but the accommodation was terrible. Smell of damp when we walked in. Wall paper peeling off walls. Very dated decor. Wardrobes drawers cupboards falling apart. Cleaned all surfaces and crockery before used anything. Beds were comfortable and it was only a base to sleep in. Personally wouldn't recommend this accommodation to anyone. Looking at complex too we looked like we had the better apartments and dread to think what the others were like.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this place at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieSpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Tudy
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
5.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park

Property: Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Address: St. Tudy, Saint Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Saint Tudy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Hotel Saint Tudy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Saint Tudy, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing