We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what you make it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Tudy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
bournville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's what you make it!”
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have recently returned from a 2 wk holiday at michaelstow where we celebrated my daughters 8th b'day & took our 8mnth son & also felt we should write a review since reading bad reviews & dredding going(did'nt tell hubby how bad reviews were) on arrival i was slightly anxious however the bungallow we stayed in was clean well aired & had everything you would need (basic's) for a young family i have to say if your expecting 5*luxury then the bungalows are not the place for you (i think you can get upgraded accomadation), but if like us you just need a base & dont really spend much time in then actually its perfect. 1 morning we woke & the water tank had burst this was delt with in a very friendly & efficient manor by sue & her husband who promptly moved us to an equally clean & warm bungallow with an apologie of a btl of wine (thank you again) sh** happens it's not there fault. see the thing is this is a family run buisness a family who not only works hard updating & running the holiday park but also provides full entertainment on a evening & yes its not buttlins & yes it is quite late but your on holiday! we used all the facilities swimming pool launderete kids park & ate in the resturant & had no problems. (i agree its dated) there are no showers in the bungalows but there are showers you can use if a bath is not enough for you. the staff work really hard & are friendly & efficent at what they do. i wish sue & her family & staff a wonderfull summer good luck with the buisness & thank you again for our holiday we are still planning to return the end of august. Ps it pretty much rained the whole holiday but thats hardly the parks fault we still had a good time & this is england enjoy life a little more cranky folk. peace out xxx wakeman family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    93
    78
    58
    207
See reviews for
302
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We transferred here to the manor from st ives hell hole what a dump. We were welcomed with open arms from the management lovely lady (Sue) what a star.We were staying in the manor itself and were pleasantly surprised nice and clean (spotless) The grounds were well kept, had a fanstastic swimming pool in a large conservatory type building, good value for money restaurant with nice food and great bar. Entertainment programm ever night starting off with the kids club which is run by young/talented enterntainers themselves good luck to them all Alex, Emily and Gemma your great, They will all go a long way.Would definatley recommended to family and friends and would return in the future One of the best holidays have had in the UK and with it being a small park is safe for children and relaxing for adults.Great personal contact from most members of staff (brill)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

worse place we have ever stayed looked great on line!! wish i read the reviews first.
took our disabled dauther for a weeks break a hol for us all didnt help rained all week so most of the time stuck in the manor bungalow we paid for.
shower cuts off half way through no curtains now blinds falling down draws falling to bits dirty smelly damp, had enough by thursday so now were home instead of stil on hol til sat.
entertainment rubish bingo every night 9-10 then singers 10-11 thats it and all rubish would not go there again ever in fact put us off hoeseason for ever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnerobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Tudy hotels

notts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We have just returned form the manor and thought i would right a reiew to clear up the mixed review this place has got. The place is really out dated and in need of a refurb through out. However it was clean and the pool is fine and the kids liked the park. Do not go to this park if you intend to spend the days in the park ! but as a base to explore cornwall from it is fine. Our room was small and the bathroom is very basic and outdated with no shower. The room did have a touch of damp but nothing to cry about. We paid £200 for a week for 5 people. which was rasonably cheap. but at times i still felt ripped off. The entertainment in the evening is too terrible to write about and had a Phonix nights feel to it, didnt eat there couldn't work up the courage.

Its not the worst place in the world but is in desperate need of money spent on it. would i go again NO .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskimo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

cannot understand why so many bad reviews,and some of them are not fair.
we just came back from a mon-fri,had a great time,kids loved it.they was swimming everyday most days twice a day,the pool was clean and only a short walk from our chalet
the chalet was very clean all clean bed linen,the kitchen was well equiped,bathroom was clean and shower was excellent.also had freeveiw on the tv.
with having 3 boys aged 4 8 11,many holidays all we are doing is watching where they go
but here they went out and played in the park,went out to play football on there own,even the 4 year old would of been safe going over the park with the older boys
we went out everynight except one over the bar,the food was great value for money,and alex,kat,and sue who did the kids entertainment where great with the kids,we really enjoyed everynite out,and the kids loved it.it was very relaxing and chilled for us there,and would go back.some of the reviews on here are not fair to sue who owns it,a holiday is what you make it,if you want 5 star hotel then pay 5 star prices.what we paid for the week was great value for money,thanks sue alex and kat for a great week away
dave rowena and boys xxxxxbradley says thanks for the prize for winning the sleeping lions lol

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davesl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I went on a four day break through Sun holidays. The park is well set in attractive grounds, although updating of the grounds in some parts would be nice. We were told we could not access our basic chalet until 4 pm, so having arrived around 3pm we went for a walk around. Indoor Pool looked fine, crazy golf looked a bit tired but functional, bar and entertainment area was dark and old fashioned and musty. There was a little room with slot machines in it. The outside play area was very good and modern. At 4pm our chalet was still not ready, but at 4.40pm we were told we could access it but it needed new lampshades! However, when we got to the chalet, which was in a quiet, pleasant area by the little stream, the outside paint was chipped and peeling, the windowsills needed a good clean and the beds still had very dirty linen on them, which was collected when we complained. Luckily, we too, had brought our own bed linen. The lampshades looked fine. The blind to the kitchen slowly closed of it's own accord and we could not open it for the rest of the stay, so we just left it. The crockery was a bit of a mismatch with odd saucers and cups, one chipped mug and no bowls or anything that we could use to cook in the oven. We had to put a lot of £1 coins in the coin meter to keep the electricity working. The settee which doubled up as a bed in the lounge was very uncomfortable. However, there was a microwave and freeview television and we were lucky to get sunshine which makes everywhere look better. We used Michaelstow Manor as a base to get around North Cornwall and there were some very pleasant drives and villages. the onsite shop was not open on the Friday we arrived and as we were quite a distance from shops, we were glad we had brought food with us. The food available on site had to be ordered well in advance. On the whole, with a sense of humour and the knowledge we had not paid much, we enjoyed our stay. We did give them a list of things needing to be done to bring the chalet up to a basic standard before we left. If they continue to make genuine improvements the place could be lovely, although perhaps not up to the standard of Hengar Manor up the road.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I ended up in Michaelstow Manor with my fiance, his best friend and girlfriend after booking a Sun Holiday and guess what...... we had a great time!! Michaelstow Manor is exactly what you make it. If you go with an open mind, you'll be fine and hopefully have as much fun as we had! Yes, the accommodation is basic and yes, the room smells a little damp when you first go into it but that nothing that a little bit of perfume or air freshener doesn't cure and once the heating is on, you'll be fine. We used less than £2.00 electric per day which in my opinion isn't too bad. The way some reviews were talking, I was expecting it to cost £10.00 a day!! Just have the immersion on when you need it and you'll be fine. The beds are hard but who sleeps well when they are away unless they are tucked up in 5 star luxury?? My advice would be to take your own pillow that you use at home which may help matters. The cutlery and crockery is old and doesn't match but who cares? You're there to have fun and although it's old, it all does the job. The rest of the site was easy to get around and very pleasant. The bar, restaurant and 'club' is in the Elizabethan suite. We ate there once and the meal although not home cooked, was very generous for what you paid for. (The other two nights we did a barbeque which I would recommend to everyone if you have the right weather). Every night there is entertainment and although it was quite, we got into the spirit of things and joined in with Bingo, a quiz, a magic show and the disco's. It was great fun! To be honest, it was just nice to relax and have a good time with friends. Give Michaelstow Manor a try and please keep an open mind. The owners are lovely and their two children, Alex and Emily are very talented. I just hope everyone supports them and has as much fun as we did! Written on behalf of the 52's!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Tudy
19.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
193 reviews
5.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park

Property: Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park
Address: St. Tudy, Saint Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Saint Tudy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Tudy
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Hotel Saint Tudy
Michaelstow Manor Holiday Park Saint Tudy, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing