We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendy staff.”
Review of The Temple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel benifits from having a great team working for them. The breakfasts, especially the black pudding and home made jams and marmalades would take some beating. The bedrooms are comfortable although the bathroom is a little dated. The hotel is obviously in the process of being up dated althougth this did not in any affect our stay. A suggestion would be that the bar is in need of serious up dating as it is very 70's, however this should not detract from the great value for money and well cooked food that the Temple Hotel offers. We would revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from six days at The Temple Hotel.Very friendly and helpful staff.Great breakfasts and excellent freshly cooked bar meals in the evening.Would definately return again.Once the guest's longe is up and running it will be even better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Temple Hotel on our recent visit to Matlock Bath and had a very pleasant time. Rachel on reception and the gentleman who worked in the bar and also served us our breakfasts were both very friendly and efficient,
We ate in the bar and the food was very good as were the real ales and the breakfasts were also excellent (I had bacon, eggs and Derbyshire oatcake- lovely!)
The Hotel itself was very clean but a little tired although some refurbishment was taking place when we were there. If we were to stay in Matlock Bath again it would definitely be at the Temple Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

we stayed her for one night very clean if a bit shabby but OMG the bar toilets are what nightmares are made off and you could smell the must as you entered the otherwise lovely bar area.breakfast was good but a little back ground music please and stock up well on tea bags in the room some people like more than one cup and as a guest you shouldn't need to ask for more..would not return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We agree with you that our bar toilets do need a full refit. Unfortunatly this is not at the top of our agenda as the majority our customers spend so little time in there. We feel the money we have needs to be spent in other areas and this is where we are concentrating our efforts. The photo's you have posted do show these particular toilets in a bad light and we will attempt to clear some of the worst bits as soon as possible. We do have nicer toilets on the first floor for our customers to use if they so wish. We did take the desicion to close these bar toilets for a time but our locals insisted we reopen them so they didnt have to walk up the stairs!!
You had such a nice room on the top floor with a dual aspect view and a seating area in the bay window that I am surprised you spent so much time in the ladies toilet taking photos.
Back ground music has been mentioned a couple of times recently. This is a very personal thing some people want it and others don't. Our stance is that a little peace and quiet in a world full of noise is no bad thing.
And the tea bags, well asking for more is better than going without.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked quickly and easily using PayPal and received informative and welcoming E-mail just prior to my stay. Hotel a short climb above the main road and village, making it quiet with good views across the valley. All staff very helpful and friendly and room comfortable. Tasty evening meals efficiently served in the bar on the ground floor by the entrance. Superb breakfasts on the first floor, including home-made bread and jams.

A great relaxing break. Would definitely stay there again and am already planning my next trip!

Plenty to do in the area too- the Heights of Abraham by cable car and excellent walking country (including High Tor, Cromford and the High Peak railway). Also, two preserved railways well worth a visit. Peak Rail from Matlock to Rowsley and the Ecclesbourne Valley Railway from Duffield to Wirksworth and Ravenstor, both with good connections from the Derby to Matlock line.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel just for one night .....The owners who other than the chef seem to be the only staff were fabulous ....breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and served with a smile ...but oh how I would have loved to have cuddled the building and the interior of the hotel,it had a dishevelled charm about it but really needed some updating and loving care injected into it. As for the outside area at the front of the hotel a bit of tidying up and a few bedding plants would have made such a difference to the 1st impression.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your review, as always its great to get feed back from customers. Many of the guests that visit us including it seems yourself, love our building as much as we do. Unfortunatly for us just giving it a cuddle doesn't get the work done. As has been stated in some reviews we are doing work on the building but it is slow and it has been hampered recently with another major ingress of water.
We do love our home and we want to get the work done correctly and sympathetically so it will stand the test of time, i just wish i had deeper pockets. I am not much of a gardener but i do try my best to put in plants that are perenial as i find this more cost effective. This year my petunias have been hit by some disease which has killed all the plants in the window boxes and i have had to take them all out, very sad. I will try something else next year i think.
We do hope that if you come back again you will see some improvement to the work we are carrying out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We decided to spend the long 2012 Easter weekend in the Peak District and specifically Matlock Bath given its location to many attractions as we did not have a car.

The Temple Hotel is located about a 10min walk from Matlock Bath train station but one should note there is a steep hill to contend with. There are a few paths to get to the hotel varying in degrees of difficulty. We tended to head for the short one which required much leg strength.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and attentive. Truly exceptional service.

Our room was nice with scenic views over the town below and the hills in the distance.

There is a lovely pub within the hotel with a good selection of beer and ales. There was also a roaring fire during dinner.

Breakfast was lovely with great views over the Derwent.

A truly lovely time had in such a historic property.

Room Tip: Request a room which overlooks the Derwent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank de_lymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Temple Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing