We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, food and service”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Sileby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, food and service”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just been to this wonderful hotel for a relaxing weekend break. The room was roomy, clean and beautiful , with fabulous views of the valley and river. The breakfast was wonderful with quality products used and all our requirements were accommodated. The service in the bar was faultless and the food to die for , with excellent relishes which gave a wonderful twist to the dishes. Previous reviews talk about shabby interiors and to be honest this is a real insult to the hard work , that is obviously going on, by the owners.
This is a very old building with character and charm , with a few creaking floorboards, decorated with lovely upholstery and with this character in mind. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend where good old fashioned customer service and a pride in providing quality service and food prevailed. We will return very soon to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I have been getting quite down recently with negative comments from customers when we are working so hard to improve the facilities. We know that we must take critisism from customers and listen to what they want from our hotel and we do listen and we do act. Having customers stay and interact with us is what we are all about, once again Thank you.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    73
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
114
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
156 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our second trip to The Temple Hotel in just over a year. This time we visited for the bonfire/illuminations package.

Have to say that the hotel seems even more thread-bare than last time, although at least the owners claim to have fixed the damp penetration that went into the roof. Unfortunately, the view from our room was of the road leading up to the hotel, and not the spectacular view of the valley that we had last year. This was quite disappointing, especially as it was the same full price as the room with the best view.

As other quests have commented, the hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. I can fully understand that they don’t have a lorry load of cash to complete the works straight away, but small things like emptying the overflowing ashtrays from the front of the hotel and pulling out the weeds from between paving stones and the - otherwise empty - flower boxes, would be a step in the right direction.

A plus point is the cosy bar. This has a nice atmosphere during the evenings and reasonably priced drinks.

As for the fireworks package, it’s true that you have the best view from the hotel, but the display doesn’t last more than 15 minutes and considering the expensive room and - very average - meal package, it’s not particularly good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
The room you had on your previous stay was available that weekend but you booked a supaking size bed over a double bed online. You have obviously read my previous responses to reviews so you know we are doing a lot of work in the building.
The room you stayed in this time has had a nice new bathroom put in and we have almost finished room 7 which we said we were doing next. Room 10 has also been stripprd out ready for refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Temple Hotel on a few occasions in the past, went specifically on this weekend for the fireworks and illuminations.on arriving on Friday afternoon were shown to our room, king size bed and Riverview . Room was slightly shabby but very clean, after we unpacked we went to explore the main street. Had some excellent fish & chips and as it was raining ended up at the Fishpond pub to watch a live band, After a good night's sleep and a very hearty cooked breakfast we spent the day in chesterfield. A 3 course meal was laid on for us to enjoy before the fireworks display and the food was lovely,Chris ( the owner) had arranged for us to view the fireworks from the terrace. This was rounded off with coffee and chocolates.Sunday was another excellent breakfast, then checked out. A lovely break for us . Many thanks to all who looked after us at the Temple Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Derwent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our stay at The Temple Hotel was unplanned and booked at the last minute because of a double booking in the self-catering accommodation we had originally arranged. We were greeted with a friendly and warm welcome and shown up to our double room that looked out upon the bustling streets of busy Matlock Bath. The hotel itself is a beautiful building but in great need of some TLC and a lorry load of cash. The interiors were shabby and rundown, in a number of places the carpet was threadbare and wallpaper peeling. Our room was clean; however, our bathroom was small and had a dead moth smeared up the side of the tiles. On both nights we stayed we slept poorly; in the early hours of Sunday morning we were able to hear a full on row right outside of the hotel between guests. We are a couple in our late twenties/early thirties, the only one, it seemed, to stay in the hotel. Unfortunately for us, having wanted to escape to Derbyshire for some rest and relaxation, we got the complete opposite on the Saturday night because of the firework display held down by the river. On returning from dinner in Bonsall, we were unable to find a parking space and were informed by a local that parking inspectors deliberately roam the streets during these nights looking for unsuspecting victims - this frustrated us enormously. The road leading up to the hotel that night was gridlocked - had an emergency vehicle needed to drive up the hill towards the hotel they would have found it impossible. The quality of the food in both the bar and breakfast diner were brilliant - we enjoyed a meal in the bar upon arriving on Friday night and breakfast both mornings. On the whole, the polite service and the food do go some way in making up for the worn interior. But, neither of us could fathom how they can get away with charging £110 a night for rooms of such poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff and good food. Fireworks in Matlock Bath are both a blessing and a curse for us, but it's the reason the village is so busy. As I discussed with you on checkin, I don't know how you managed to book through an on line travel agent as we do not allow our rooms to be sold in this way for fireworks weekends.
Because things are very differnent here at this time we need more interaction with our guests so that we can give them full information as to what happens regarding parking, food, crowds and traffic information. As your booking came through an on line travel agent on the morning of you checking in, and even then was booked by a third party I had no way to communicate any of this information to you.
We were also woken up by drunken guests in the middle of the night and we did go down and sort them out as soon as we were aware of the problem. If we had been informed of this at the start of the row we would have dealt with it sooner. Unfortunatly We can not be held responsible for other guests actions we can only try to limit the inconveniece to other guests.
We are trying to refurbish the hotel as best we can but this will be a long process. We are informing guests of our on going work and information about this is clearly stated on our website. When looking at pricing please bear in mind 20% VAT and upto 20% commision charges, what's left doesn't leave us with the lorry load of cash that we need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is an old hotel built in the 1760's, the history of the hotel is fascinating. Princess Victoria stayed at this hotel and commented on the lights flickering in the river and from this comment apparently the Matlock Baths illuminations years later were born.

The hotel is old and showing its age, BUT, Chris the owner has commenced a very long refurbishment program which is still on going. The landings on the floors are gorgeous with lots of room and character. As with all old hotels the floor board creak, but that adds to the lovely atmosphere of the hotel.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and had fabulous views across the Derwent Valley and river. The bedroom was described as a king size room but the bed was huge and the most comfortable hotel bed I think we have ever stayed in. Due to the position of the hotel up high above Matlock Bath, there is very little noise, even on a busy weekend.

The food was excellent. We stayed for the Fireworks weekend and had a 3 course meal overlooking the river, which has to be one of the nicest meals we have had in a hotel.

On the second night we had a meal down in the bar which was also very very good.

All the food is home cooked. The homemade jams were gorgeous. Even the biscuits which were left in the rooms were hand made. The breakfast was just as nice, even the bread was home made.

Chris was charming and seemed to be everywhere all through the day, he was extremely pleasant and always smiling. He had a passion for the place and he was extremely competent in dealing with customers.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is an old lady, sometimes showing her age, but has a character and atmosphere that you do not get in big fancy hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room, the scenery is spectacular and magical at night with the lights flickeri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I booked for the Matlock Bath Fireworks Weekend and were not disappointed. Our package included two nights bed and breakfast and evening meal.

The hotel is undergoing a re-furbishment but this did not detract from the comfortable and tastefully furnished surroundings. Our room was clean and spacious with great views over the river.

The hotel bar offered a great range of real ale and an even greater range of whiskies which would not be out of place in any Scottish Highland pub. The breakfast menu caters for all tastes and the full english breakfast is recommended! Our evening meal was served in the hotel's panoramic dinning room which offered great views over the town. Our meal was excellent with generous portions.

Overall, we had a great stay in the Temple Hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble to help ensure our stay was memorable. I warmly recommend this small, delightful hotel to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We viited for one of the hotels special firework weekends at the beginning of October 2013. Although there is no formal reception, a member of staff came quickly in response to the bell and we were expected and shown to our room quickly. The location is ideal being only 3 minutes walk/climb from the main street, but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The dinner on Saturday night was very good - plenty of good home cooked food and a great vantage point for the fireworks. The hotel bar had a good selection of cask ales and plenty of atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot dishes in addition to the usual cereals. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and i look foreward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The extra charge for a valley view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Temple Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing