We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Despite the Bank Holiday Weather” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Despite the Bank Holiday Weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I must say that this hotel really lived up to its reputation, despite the awful Bank Holiday Weather…It was a pleasure to stay there, and the staff couldn't be more pleasant, and its right in the bustle of Matlock Bath. We will certainly be going back there soon. many thanks to this lovely , clean hotel!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a front bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvinshaw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    70
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
111
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although it does need quite a bit of TLC and agree with another reviewer that it is a bit pricy for being a bit run down. We had a king room which advertises a king bed but it isn't what we would call a king, a lovely size room though which had a nice feel and hubby enjoyed the biscuits with his cuppa. The staff were very pleasant and it's in a lovely quiet spot and a quick walk into town although a very steep walk. All in all we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

average hotel, needs refurbishing inside and out, very clean, friendly staff nothing too much trouble, the breakfast was excellent, good quality food. A bit on the expensive side for a room that needed refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juesysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

lovely hotel with good sized bedroom and bathroom. Lovely furnishings and Friendly staff and a good breakfast served with a smile. Nice clean rooms and no problem parking the car. Lovely views from my bedroom. Nice bar too and just a short walk into town

Room Tip: Room two very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolpete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
227 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I travelled to Matlock Bath for business, but enjoyed a relaxing stay in this family run hotel. The little linear town is land-locked and confined by the steep sided Derwent Valley, yet I could almost smell the ocean as it caused me to remember the seaside town in which I attended school as a child in the late sixties - down to the rock shops, amusement emporiums and tquirky fish and chip restaurants.

It's an incline and a half to get from the railway station and main road to The Temple Hotel - about a ten minute walk, if you know the short-cuts. The hotel is a period building and from the use of golden ratios, at a guess, I would place it to mid-Georgian 1770. It is said to have been a guest house to Lord Byron and Victoria as a princess.

My room was modest, with an en suite, but with a lovely view down to the Derwent and up to the Heights of Abraham. I was comfortable, care-free and satisfied.

Wifi worked efficiently when needed, good reception on the digital TV, adequate facilities for a cup of tea with biscuits whilst watching shadows of clouds dance across the tree clad valley.

Check in was fast, friendly and I was shown to my room by the duty receptionist.

I'd return to this hotel - but I'd bring good walking boots next time, allowing time to build a thirst for the seventeenth century pub at the heart of the town.

I'd even recommend this hotel to my parents.

Room Tip: A front facing room affords a wonderful view over the town and to the hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Relentlessvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here for the weekend. We were alarmed when we drove up that it was a long way down to the 'town' however we soon found the shortcut and it was easy. Good sized bedroom, well furnished and clean with an excellent bathroom with bath and shower. The bar feels more like a pub rather than a 'faceless' hotel bar and there was some lively conversation with the locals. The breakfast provided a very good choice including veggie options. It is clear the friendly owners have a massive refurbishment project and the work done is tasteful and in keeping with the age and character of the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

So if you like quirky, you may like this hotel. Obviously many people have. I prefer professional from the staff and comfortable from the accommodation, neither of which I got on my stay here.
The hotel no longer does any food in the evening. There is no proper reception. Much of the fabric of the building is scruffy, although there is clearly refurbishment taking place. The furnishing looks quite expensive (although a lot spent on some things, no wardrobe, just hangers over the tea tray area) - it appears to me like someone's hobby.
We arrived on a damp, chilly evening. The only member of staff available was the barman. The heating wasn't on in our room and didn't come on until the following morning. The cheery barman offered us a fan heater but then couldn't find it and gave up trying to help. He said that the only person who knew about the heating was the owner and that he couldn't be contacted. So we had a very cold, uncomfortable night. On complaining to the owner on our departure (if indeed it was he), we weren't offered any refund.
On the plus side, the room has a great view with armchairs set in the bay window and the shortbread biscuits were nice.
One more thing, if a hotel or any other building chooses to fly a flag (which is not compulsory) I suggest they fly one that's not in tatters.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burgess91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
It has come as no surprise to read this review more of a disappointment but we shall respond with reasons and answers for all the points you have brought up.
Before you wrote this response on Trip Advisor you did send us a personal email saying you were surprised that you were sent an automated email asking you to put a review on a website. The review requests are sent out automatically after checkout to all customers who provide an email address. In your email you did tell us that your review wouldn’t be a favourable one but you did want a refund. This we found to be threatening so we chose not to respond at that time. In this email you also make an assumption that we do not keep a log of complaints. As we are a husband and wife team with a small but close team of staff we tend to know what is happening most of the time and try our best to sort any problem as it arises. On the day in question we had taken a group of people to a friend’s 50th birthday party in Nottingham and we arrived back at 2am. Your room was across the corridor from ours and I can assure you that you were asleep at that point. Our very capable barman Keith had left us a note of your dissatisfaction and we went and looked at the heating immediately which obviously did the trick as it came on in your room before you awoke.
On the second evening both of us were in the bar and in your presence but at no point did you discuss your displeasures or your request for a refund with us. On leaving you weren’t actually present but your husband and I discussed the heating situation and he seemed perfectly happy with the explanation that I gave him and once again there was no mention of a refund.
We have taken a decision to remove wardrobes in some of our rooms to make room for seating areas which the majority of our guests prefer. You are quite correct in saying that there is renovation work going on and this will be a long project but we are taking great care to do it correctly. We do try to keep as much of this work away from our guests but this is not always possible. As for the flag we took this down on the first dry day after you departure. I have to walk down the length of a pitched roof to take it down and even though my wife has me well insured I do try to take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Temple Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing