We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok ish, but nothing special”
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Oxord, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok ish, but nothing special”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Went on a Sat night and service was slow, albeit friendly! Asked if we'd like some olives, which sounded as if this was offered by way of apology for slow service but we were charged. Food OK but not exceptional. And why the high £3.65 charge for a 330 mL bottle of beer? Probably wouldn't want to visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    43
    16
    22
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice meal in this quaint Italian restaurant. Very friendly staff & chef.
6 different meals all prepared on time and hot! Plus lovely deserts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Felt like I was back in Italy”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely time at yge La Caverna. The food was brilliant and the staff helpful and friendly. The chef came out to chat to us. Will definitely go back before our holiday is up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
313 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have been coming here for years, although have not been for a few years. Still the same owner/chef. What we had was average, but we thought expensive for what it was. This place used to be so good. Time to retire we think.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulously friendly cosy little place. Good atmosphere, pleasant staff, owner.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Came here on a wet and windy afternoon for lunch with Italian friends. The owner was very sweet in offering them a limoncello. The food was fresh fast and filling. The waitress was attentive but not hovering. I had some thing not directly a main meal but The chef was obliging. Could do with a lick of paint and the seat pads were dirty but We will defiantly be back! Good food's what we wanted, great food' sweat we got.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing