We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Day visit to matlock bath area .. walked up instead of using the cable cars that is £18 pp..but... read more

Reviewed yesterday
973sarahj
,
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice day out

really lovely day out in summer time and worth the price. My kids loved everything there and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Gaida I
,
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Read all 3,120 reviews
  
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveller rating
1,629
1,163
268
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
1,163
268
43
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cable car ride cave tour masson cavern prospect tower fossil shop punch judy show fantastic views scared of heights lead mines railway station matlock bath station adventure playground included in the price few hours per adult all ages walk up
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018

To remind us how Matlock Bath was once compared to Little Switzerland, we decided to re-visit the Heights of Abraham for the first time since about 2000 - and we were not disappointed. True, prices have gone up a bit since then but the place looks reassuringly familiar with those stunning lookouts which reach across to High Tor on the other side of the gorge and to the Riber Castle site in the distance. Sadly the small zoological gardens at the latter have long gone but even so, there is still a lot of charm in Matlock Bath which fortunately hasn't been spoiled due to the number of day trippers and the usual commercialisation of your average town streets.

There is enough here for families to keep them occupied and interested and the caves are well worth another exploration if you don't feel too claustrophobic (we went back in of course).
The cable car ride is thrilling as usual and sometimes, when it stops mid way, you start wondering if ....... just if.....!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank hildalg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

After deliberating what to do on a hot summers day we decided to try this attraction and we had a great time!. Not only the experience of the cable ride is good, but when you get to the top it was still much to do! We took a picnic with us and were lucky enough to find a table next to the Punch and Judy show, which was very amusing for the kids! After that we decided to go in one Of the caves for a tour ( not for claustrophobic people!). The tour finishes at the top of the hill, the bees were amazing! We still had time for an ice cream and a good run around. I highly recommend this place for everyone, young and old.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Malu927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

Visited here during a long weekend break. It was great to see the fantastic view from the Cable Car and we were able to take our dog with us.

The shops were lovely, the cafe was great and accommodated outside for dogs, we were able to stay there for dinner from the restaurant upstairs.

We also went on a walk to where the mine entrance used to be. We thoroughly enjoyed the amazing views of the Countryside.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Emmall90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We took the cable car up to the wuthering heights of Abraham ...bit of wind on the way up made the trip 'blowy' but interesting. The cable cars stop along the ascent for a 'photo' opportunity.
Well organised and drilled establishment. Not overly busy but I guess on peak days, may be more challenging.
Once up top, plenty to do. We did the caverns, and had a good walk around.
Very good experience.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank garysU5371ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous day out at the Heights of Abraham. The cable car ride to get there was amazing. Once up there everything is free. There are two caves to explore, the guides are informative and funny. The scenery all around is breathtakingly beautiful. Its somewhere I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank lynn8732019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews