We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful views

I went to Heights of Abraham with my partner, daughter and grandkids and family friends, who had a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Turtles2G0
,
London, United Kingdom
best views anywhere - visit the caves too whilst you're there

To remind us how Matlock Bath was once compared to Little Switzerland, we decided to re-visit the... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2018
hildalg0
,
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Read all 3,087 reviews
  
Reviews (3,087)
Filter reviews
3,087 results
Traveller rating
1,605
1,156
267
43
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,605
1,156
267
43
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cable car ride cave tour masson cavern prospect tower fossil shop punch judy show fantastic views scared of heights lead mines railway station matlock bath station adventure playground included in the price few hours per adult all ages walk up
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,087 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2018

I took my 2 girls here for a day out, it cost a lot and we done with in an hour or so, the best part was the cable ride and the cafe...I would go again if it was half of the price

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Corrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018

To remind us how Matlock Bath was once compared to Little Switzerland, we decided to re-visit the Heights of Abraham for the first time since about 2000 - and we were not disappointed. True, prices have gone up a bit since then but the place looks reassuringly familiar with those stunning lookouts which reach across to High Tor on the other side of the gorge and to the Riber Castle site in the distance. Sadly the small zoological gardens at the latter have long gone but even so, there is still a lot of charm in Matlock Bath which fortunately hasn't been spoiled due to the number of day trippers and the usual commercialisation of your average town streets.

There is enough here for families to keep them occupied and interested and the caves are well worth another exploration if you don't feel too claustrophobic (we went back in of course).
The cable car ride is thrilling as usual and sometimes, when it stops mid way, you start wondering if ....... just if.....!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank hildalg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

After deliberating what to do on a hot summers day we decided to try this attraction and we had a great time!. Not only the experience of the cable ride is good, but when you get to the top it was still much to do! We took a picnic with us and were lucky enough to find a table next to the Punch and Judy show, which was very amusing for the kids! After that we decided to go in one Of the caves for a tour ( not for claustrophobic people!). The tour finishes at the top of the hill, the bees were amazing! We still had time for an ice cream and a good run around. I highly recommend this place for everyone, young and old.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Malu927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

Visited here during a long weekend break. It was great to see the fantastic view from the Cable Car and we were able to take our dog with us.

The shops were lovely, the cafe was great and accommodated outside for dogs, we were able to stay there for dinner from the restaurant upstairs.

We also went on a walk to where the mine entrance used to be. We thoroughly enjoyed the amazing views of the Countryside.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Emmall90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We took the cable car up to the wuthering heights of Abraham ...bit of wind on the way up made the trip 'blowy' but interesting. The cable cars stop along the ascent for a 'photo' opportunity.
Well organised and drilled establishment. Not overly busy but I guess on peak days, may be more challenging.
Once up top, plenty to do. We did the caverns, and had a good walk around.
Very good experience.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank garysU5371ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews