We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Day visit to matlock bath area .. walked up instead of using the cable cars that is £18 pp..but... read more

Reviewed yesterday
973sarahj
,
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice day out

really lovely day out in summer time and worth the price. My kids loved everything there and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Gaida I
,
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Read all 3,120 reviews
  
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveller rating
1,629
1,163
268
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
1,163
268
43
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cable car ride cave tour masson cavern prospect tower fossil shop punch judy show fantastic views scared of heights lead mines railway station matlock bath station adventure playground included in the price few hours per adult all ages walk up
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth the trip up to the top plenty for the family to do and see. Caves are included the price with great tour guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank 1caddyshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a Saturday morning visit. The price for one adult and one child was £30. We arrived shortly after opening at 10am and didn't have to queue for tickets or the cable car.

The view on the way up and down from the cable car is great. Once you get out there are a number of options. Included in the price is a guided tour of two caverns. We went on these and found the guides to be knowledgable and humourous.

From the upper cavern, outside the exit tunnel, there are sublime views over the valley down to Matlock. In fact also visit the Victorian type folly/tower because there are great views from there also. In fact that is the main point of this place - the views generally are fantastic.

There is a cafe, restaurant, fossil and photography exhibition too for you to while away some time at.

Would recommend this to families visiting the area.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 195gailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being vegan i difficult to eat out. Not here, nothing was too much trouble for Jane and Kevin. Both are an asset to this place, especially Jane. The vegan burger was amazing, almost as good as the view. In fact we enjoyed everything about this trip from the cable care to the facilities.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Sandrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite having been to Matlock Bath a number of times over the last 30 odd years, I have never made it to the Heights of Abraham before, I was a little concerned about the entry fee but it would have been worth paying for the cable car views alone. Once at the top, the cave tours were excellent as was a display of drone photography, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the café good quality and reasonably priced, well worth a visit. The staff at the lower of the two caves even put on a private tour for myself and the wife as no one else had made it down that far yet when we were there.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do go on the scenic ride, great views and a good café/restaurant at the top. Never knew that was at Matlock Bath.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank NannyAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews