We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Rose

China Rose
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Rang an order to me told it would be 2 hours for delivery. 2 1/2 hrs later to be told the order had already gone, it hadn't. Nearly 4 hours after ringing the order it arrived to be told lies...basically the order had been forgotten about!
Was offered a pathetic £5 discount (order was over £40!). We refused the terrible discount and sent the driver away.
Terrible service. Would never recommend this takeaway.
Spoiled a hen party!
China Rose you should be ashamed of yourselves!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vix_jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    8
    6
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A decent meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We originally went into this restaurant for the 'all you can eat' option only to be told that it wasn't available on an evening- something not mentioned outside. However we stayed and had a decent albeit more expensive meal than originally planned

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst chinese ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Waited an hour for food and when it came if I we hadn't been hungry we would have left it all.
garlic beef looked over cooked and it was shrivelled up with whole un- cooked cloves of garlic, and virtually raw large chuncks of peppers,watery soy sauce, the duck/lemon had what looked liked half a tin of canned pineapple which was so sweet it killed the dish, very meger portions, not that we could eat it all anyway. Without doubt the worst food I have ever tasted

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thecables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Abosultly rubish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

DO NOT eat from this chinese no meat in food, poor quality will be reporting them to my local council. Poor quality Dont waste ur money!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vikkiulyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Buttock clenchingly awfull!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

It has taken me a few days to think about how I can review this apology of a restaurant.A group of nine of us had a family meal at the China Rose last Friday.We have not recovered from the experience yet!I seriously don't know where to start reviewing this joke of a restaurant.The poor young girl who we have read of in earlier reviews has obviously left and her replacement -a young guy was doing his first shift with no help whatsoever to start with and quite obviously no training !We stupidly asked for red wine only to be told they had none.As another table was having the same problem he said he would look around out the back and see if e could find a bottle .ordering food was a complete nightmare,by the time it came our parking had expired but we had managed to meet the Chinese diva herself -Mrs Fawlty who shouts at you at 100 miles an hour so no one understands !All food cold ,whole duck with 24 pancakes dried up and on massive mound of cabbage (concealed)-we managed about 10-12 skinny pancakes-no way was it a whole duck !rest of food horrid -have never had so bad !We were in stitches for most of the time -table wasn't laid for all of us so father in law asked for some napkins -the guy dumped them on his plate and told him to pass them round ! This happened with glasses ,plates and cutlery !I could go on for hours but you are probably bored by now and have got the picture !Do not go here EVER!By the way -we paid as Mrs Fawlty was long gone and had left young lurch to deal with everything!On the upside we didn't stop talking about it all week end !!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Squiddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Rose also viewed

Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to China Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing