We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique, wonderful place”
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A unique, wonderful place”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I've stayed and dined at Hodkinson's a number of times, and it really is a unique and special place.
The ambience is lovely. Rooms decorated in Victorian style to suit the character of the building, but with all mod-cons. Cosy and warm and with comfortable beds and lots of space in the rooms.

Despite being on the main road, I've always slept well here due to the fact that traffic all but disappears once the day-trippers have gone home. At night Matlock Bath reverts to being a country village, in my experience!

The restaurant at Hodkinson's is excellent. One of my favourite places to eat, anywhere. Service is attentive without being pushy, detailed without being stuffy and very friendly.
The food is wonderful and I love the wine list!

This last trip was with family, including my 6 year old niece, for whom the staff prepared special meals, and even gave her her own tableware. Her dog was welcomed too, and was also supplied with bedding and bowls.

This is not a regular business or chain hotel, but an historic building serving its original purpose in the heart of an interesting and, during the day, bustling village. For something different, but of excellent quality I would recommend Hodkinson's every time and certainly plan to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaine_and_Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
236
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stepped back in time when walking into this charming hotel in Matlock Bath. Full of character, we immediately felt soothed by the atmosphere of calm - a real change from our usual Hilton experiences! Dianne and her team were very welcoming and took care of our every need.
In the restaurant, everything is sparkling clean and shiny. The food was excellent and plentiful. Breakfast is so good you just keep eating! A cosy sitting room with a large log fire welcomes you while you wait for dinner.
Our room was on the top floor (3 flights!) which we didn't mind as it gave us an occasion to walk off some calories after the meals! We had a large comfortable room with a really large bed and an equally comfy put-up bed for our 14 year old. We all slept really well. Great double sized shower in the ensuite.
In all, a lovely experience we hope to enjoy again very soon. Go visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for 2nights. This is a small but very friendly and quaint hotel. Staff were great very helpful. We stayed in Bretby room which was beautiful great views. Little traffic noise but did not bother us. Breakfast was outstanding. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly_m73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

stayed for only two nights, would like to return.The hotel is utterly charming. We stayed in Riber which was very comfortable, great view of the river. The staff are very warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restuarant 1 evening and had a lovely meal.
The hotel is on the main road and there is some traffic noise but this would not deter me staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xEscapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a lovely, small welcoming hotel. There's lots of Victoriana which creates a cosy and individual feel. The lounge is lovely to relax in and our room was cosy and comfy. Double glazing blocked all traffic noise out although rooms overlook the A6. We took our dog and he was provided with a bowl and bed. These were nice touches typical of the hotel's attention to detail. They accommodated him for breakfast as well without upsetting other guests. We had dinner as well which was well cooked and presented with an accompaniment of really nice, chilling background music. All in all very relaxing and a great location to tour the Peak District. The only downside is Matlock Bath itself - not very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeister123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Quirky in the extreme; this small hotel offers a comfortable stay and a very warm welcome. The staff are very attentive without being ‘over the top’ and are generally conducive to an enjoyable stay. The hotel is on 4 floors and so the stairs might be an issue to some folks. Also, car parking is awkward with only 5 spaces for the whole hotel but this should not put you off as there is other parking close by. Our dog was made welcome in the room, but sadly not in the hotel restaurant.
Unfortunately, Matlock Bath was a huge disappointment; Fish & Chip shops (counted 5), amusement arcades, pubs and motorbikes, and more motorbikes. I understand that we picked the '2000 bikes in Matlock Bath' weekend, but the ambiance of the town is not befitting of this stylish hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert_The_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After reading many of the great reveiws i was expectin something really special , i wasnt dissapointed . The hotel stands on the main strip in Matlock bath and was right in the heart of the everything , on arrival we were taken to our rooms and advised on the quirky caves that adjoin the premises , we spent time exploring these and also the rose gardens at the back were simply beautiful on a warm summers evening . The room was exceptional , beautifully decorated and very clean also having great views of the river , next morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast which was superb , we stopped in th Riber room and would certainly reccomend this hotel to families and couples or the single traveller alike , wonderfull !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannegibson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Property: Hodgkinson's Hotel
Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath
Hodgkinson's Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing