We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog and People Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dog and People Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the initial phone call, where the emphasis was on the dogs names, to the second we sadly had to say good bye, we were made most welcome. The new owners have just the right balance of helpful hints without overloading you with their own preferences. They genuinely want you to enjoy your stay as do ALL the staff. The Chef, Colin, pops out occasionally to discuss his fayre and ensure you are enjoying his offerings. It is difficult not to, as the standard is very high. The service is not fast, so sit back and enjoy fresh produce, lovingly cooked and well presented. Havering sold out of one item on the desert menu, he offered and prepared an apple crumble (not on the menu) from scratch. You don't get better than that. Rooms well appointed and clean, dogs slept in the room. To the best of my knowledge, we were the only guests with a dog. The hotel was fully occupied, but even so, there was plenty of space and staff to cater for all guests, who by the way seemed equally as pleasant as our hosts. the car park is small, but we were offered a token for the public car park 100 yards away, which worked well. Its a great place to base yourself, as we did, to explore the southern Peak District. We are well travelled and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It even has it's own cave!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcornKiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
232
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Me and my family met here for my dads 70th birthday and stayed one night, we were looked after very well, all the staff were very pleasant and our dinner and breakfast was fantastic, all our food was 5 star. The location was brilliant right in the heart of all of the atmosphere and plenty to do. I'd definitely go back had a lovely time :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bixxy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Perfect setting and experience for family event. Eleven of us descended to stay and eat and we couldn't have wanted more. The owners were more than accommodating and the hotel is stunning, decorated to traditional excellence, without being too ostentatious. The food was a banquet served with charm. It was a shame to be there for only one night. I will definitely return to enjoy for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hotel was wonderful, full of character and charm. Mine Hosts couldn't be faulted....went the extra mile. Superb Dinner and Breakfast. Although I arrived somewhat earlier than check-in time, this wasn't a problem and I was made to feel very welcome. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk (which is not always the case) in the room. One of my family had a dog and he too was well catered for.

Room Tip: All my family were happy with their accommodation. Just state what you want. Even the dog was cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Eight friends ate at this Hotel on the 22 June 2013. The food and service were excellent, the owners could not have been more helpful and friendly so a very good night was had by all. We will certainly eat here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just back from our second visit to Hodgkinson's Hotel & another fantastic stay. Chris & Zoe are great hosts of this lovely, charming, quirky hotel. We will be definitely looking to visit again. Our room was lovely and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamC184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On the strength of its excellent previous reviews, I'd booked a four-day stay at Hodgkinson's Hotel as a base for a mix of cycling and relaxation. Wonderful welcome from Chris and Zoe, who have recently taken over the hotel and are clearly working their way readily into the challenge, clean and comfortable room, space courtesy of Chris's storeroom to keep my bicycle safely and, as a bonus, superb dinners and breakfasts c/o chef Colin and ably waitressed by Giulia. (His rack of lamb and breakfast Kedgeree are both the best I have ever tasted.) Discreet and friendly service throughout. Altogether an absolutely faultless stay, the first of many I hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Property: Hodgkinson's Hotel
Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath
Hodgkinson's Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing