We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night for a visit to Matlock Bath illuminations. Chris & Zoe, as others have said are lovely hosts and staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed and shown to our rooms by Chris, I stayed in the Eyam room with my daughter and dog, and my parents in the room next door. Rooms were immaculate and decor in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Loved the little touches where the dog was concerned, food bowls and blankets were provided and the following morning at breakfast a sausage was brought out for the dog too (which was devoured back home!)
We were lucky enough to get a parking space at the top of the hill behind the hotel, and the hotel itself is in a very central location so no need for us to use the car while we were there.
We chose to eat in the restaurant for our evening meal before heading out, wow, food far surpassed what was expected. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, and if I'm ever planning to visit Matlock Bath again, I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewell120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
236
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights, having a break from visiting family!

Chris and Zoe are marvellous hosts. Chris recommended the room based on my preferences, Zoe gave me the right booklet for the walks in the area (which are lovely) and most thoughtfully of all: when I came back late from seeing my team Ipswich blow a 4-1 lead at Derby, what I found left out for me was what I most needed in the world - a beer!

The breakfasts set you up for the day, and dinner was great: the restaurant deserves a 5-star rating in its own right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133Mark133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife a I visited Matlock Bath and stayed at the magnificent Hodgkinsons Hotel.
We had a lovely time, Chris & Zoe were wonderful hosts.
I cannot recommend the Hotel highly enough,
Fantastic food, Lovely room, Open fire, Licensed bar, Perfect Location, Friendly Staff,
We will definitely stay here again, but this time we will book an evening meal (we ate whilst out this time)
And to top it all there are caves just out of the back door of the hotel to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned home from a weekend stay at the Hodgkinson's for our wedding anniversary. Wow, what a wonderful experience in this amazing Victorian style hotel, our room was large and fantastically furnished with everything we needed (not to mention the fresh cookies), even catering for things we may have forgotten. The bedding was luxurious, I wish I had asked where the duvets came from. We had dinner in the cosy restaurant which was as special as the rooms and the wonderful attention the owners Zoe and Chris made to the enjoyment of the stay (they were the perfect hosts). Please make sure you make the most of the traditional breakfast which was made using locally sourced produce, how nice to have an explosion of flavours in the morning as well as the evening which was one the best dinning experiences we have had in ages. I had forgotten what an English breakfast should taste like. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. We will definitely be going back and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms unique and individual as you would expect with a Grade II listed building, a couple of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneT551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

As a surprise for my darling husband I booked a dinner bed and breakfast one nights stay.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the proprietor Chris who was really lovely he gave us a upgrade to the Riber (a delightful four poster bedroom stepping back in time to Queen Victorias reign. Loved the bathroom which was pristine with a white roll top bath lots of quality toiletries , fluffy towels) must mention full marks for the hospitality tray china cups and saucers fresh ground coffee but best of all loose tea!!!! complete with tea strainer!!!!

A table was booked for dinner and we were looked after superbly by chef Kevin and Rosie the waitress.


Next morning after an excellent nights sleep we ventured down for breakfast Zoe the other half of Chris introduced herself equally as charming as her husband. Totally spoiled with a hearty breakfast for my husband and a healthier choice for myself.

Full marks to the team at Hodgkinsons we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophies123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife, our 1 year old baby and our scottie dog spent a wonderful few days in Matlock Bath at Hodgkinson's hotel. Chris and his wife Zoe and their chef Kevin were friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help us have a lovely time. The dog got a sausage for breakfast and Kevin arranged to cook us an amazing meal specially early at 5:30pm to fit in with our baby's schedule. We loved the quirky victorian design of the hotel - very comfortable and cosy! Its rare to find a hotel which is both dog and child friendly, but which also has genuine character and is so memorable - a hotel with soul!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12jonno12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Recently stayed for two nights, accompanied by our dog. Lovely, warm welcome from hosts Zoe and Chris. We loved our room, Bretby, which was quirky and brimming with Victoriana. A blanket and bowls had been provided for the dog and there were good quality toiletries in the bathroom, along with bathrobes and slippers. Evening meals were fabulous and generously portioned. Chef Colin (assisted by Rosie(?)) deserves a special mention for his excellent meals and for going out of his way to make us kedgeree for breakfast, when it didn't appear on the menu (it was yummy). Would definitely like to return, if only to try to fit in one of the desserts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sconesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Property: Hodgkinson's Hotel
Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath
Hodgkinson's Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing