We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and very friendly staff”
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and my parents last month for the weekend. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay and we're made to feel very welcome. Rooms were immaculate and the evening meal was superb. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and wouldn't hesitate to book again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
236
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely oasis amidst the "delights" of Matlock Bath. Helpful owners, good rooms and good food. Dinner was excellent value with the wine list good and not too expensive and the breakfast was more than enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Hodgkinson's Hotel in March 2014. It was relatively quiet being out of season. The building was lovely (Art Deco style) Nice open fires etc. We had one of the premium rooms £170 per night...I think!
The room was spacious and clean and continued the Art Deco theme. The bathroom had a lovely roll top bath but no shower which was a little frustrating in the morning.
The breakfast was fantastic. selection of cereal, toast and full English (all good produce)
The owners were very friendly and helped us with some suggested walks and places to go.
Didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening.
Parking around 50m away.
Nice position in central Matlock Bath. A few places to eat within walking distance
All-in-all a good stay. Everything was very good but price was top end for the stay (out of season)
Would be a 5 if not for the shower and a little high on price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-custard-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Four of us stayed at Hodgkinson's Hotel for five nights on a business trip. Chris and Zoe were very helpful in the planning stages of our trip and looked after us very well while we stayed with them. Breakfast was perfect for filling us up for the busy day ahead and dinner on our first night was a great start to our stay.
The homemade biscuits on the tea tray in the bedrooms every day were one of our highlights!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The planning of a birthday surprise trip for my girlfriend started at tripadvisor.com and ended at the lovely Hodgkinson Hotel. Her initial scepticism (she’d never heard of Matlock) was swiftly dispersed, before we had even seen the room. The whole house is decorated with historic artefacts, carefully arranged and displayed to make for a homely and warm feel and to arouse the interest of the curious guest. The room (Riber) was stunningly beautiful with a romantic 4 poster bed and stylish vintage bathroom. The only modern device, the TV, was discretely placed in the corner of the room. Only the sofa left something to wish for, it was worn and not very comfortable. Everything was very clean. The room faces the main road but the double glazed windows do a sufficient job in keeping the noise out. Sheets and cushions are enough and of good quality.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owner Chris, offered help with our luggage, shown the room and asked what our preferable breakfast time would be. All our requests e.g. for an iron and board were promptly dealt with. Best of all, when we came back in the evening from our Birthday dinner, the owners offered us a single malt whisky on the house to share with them - we couldn’t have wished for a better round off to the evening.

It should not go unnoticed that after we left and forgot my girlfriend’s shoes in the room, they were posted to us at no extra cost.

The breakfast is not the usual buffet but guests get to choose from various options, which are then freshly prepared in the kitchen. Would recommend the full English (including a great vegetarian version) as well as the eggs benedict/florentine. Of all the dishes we tried only the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon lacked flavour and texture. Dinner was also on offer but we decided to eat out.

All in all it is pretty obvious that a lot of effort has gone into maintaining the Hodgkinson Hotel and that is well matched by the effort that goes into the service. I can highly recommend coming here and using it as a base to explore the natural beauty of the Peak District or simply to relax indoors.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristofTbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise weekend away for our first wedding anniversary and I must say I couldn't have been delighted!! The hotel itself was beautiful to look at and our room was fantastic with lots of lovely touches to make for a perfect stay. We ate at the hotel on the first night, the restaurant was intimate and cosy with a calm atmosphere and the 3 course meal we had was delicious. When we ordered our cheese board the management offered a glass of port on the house to celebrate our anniversary which topped our dining experience off wonderfully. In the morning we were spoilt by a huge choice of home cooked breakfast which set us up for a day walking and exploring ( which Zoe and her husband kindly printed maps for!!). All in all we couldn't have asked for a better hotel, food or hospitality and would recommend it to all!!! It made our first wedding anniversary unforgettable!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a Saturday night at the beginning of April as a belated celebration of our wedding anniversary.The Haddon room we had booked was lovely,overlooking the main street,so you could watch the world go by,but very quiet ,due to the secondary glazing installed.Zoe and Chris were very welcoming,explaining the choices for car parking,availability of a 'late key' etc.We had booked a table for an evening meal at the hotel and were invited to have a pre meal drink in the sitting room before sitting down to a lovely three course meal.
Returning to the hotel later in the evening we were offered a complimentary 'nightcap' to toast our anniversary,which was a lovely gesture.Our stay was completed by a very comfortable night's sleep and a very tasty cooked breakfast the next morning.We were able to leave our car parked in the hotel's allotted parking area until we left Matlock Bath later that day.
Although we had only spent just over 24 hours away from home it felt like a proper break and will no doubt do it again sometime.The dilemma would be whether to book the same room or try a different one as Zoe suggested!We will wait and see!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Property: Hodgkinson's Hotel
Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath
Hodgkinson's Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing