We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a weekend in this lovely hotel. We stayed in room 14 and were very pleasantly surprised to find it was actually a deluxe suite with an unusual circular bed and a double bath. The facilities, comfort and cleanliness far exceeded our expectations infact we felt quite overwhelmed.
The management and staff were most welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt that staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable.
We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed an excellent meal which was well cooked and beautifully presented. The Tia Maria chocolate cream was particularly delicious as was the cheesecake. Breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice to suit all our party which included 2 vegetarians and service was attentive yet discreet.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location between Matlock and Matlock bath and we enjoyed a pleasant walk into Matlock bath after breakfast.
This hotel is perfect for a relaxing break and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiercebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    98
    30
    24
    11
See reviews for
42
164
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked to stay on Friday and Saturday nights via Laterooms in a standard double. Having read the reviews we were expecting a tiny room, which didn't bother us because we weren't planning on spending a huge amount of time at the hotel. However, we got room #3 and it was more than adequate. Despite previous criticisms, we found it, and the ensuite very comfortable, although the mattress was a touch too firm for us. Overall the service we received was excellent and very welcoming, especially on Friday evening and Saturday morning when we were possibly the only guests in the hotel. Breaskfast was superb as were the evening meals. We did get some disturbance on the Saturday night when some drunken guests decided to gather around the sofas on the landing outside the room. Despite finding their silly jabberings entertaining for a while we were hoping a night porter might have been on hand to ask them to keep the noise down. However, it was one of those things, and certainly didn't put us off the hotel. If, indeed when, we return we might ask for a room away from the main staircase!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for one night in family room 15th February - lovely hotel and great room. We ate in the hotel for our evening meal and it was lovely and reasonably priced, the breakfast next morning was great so all in all a great hotel as only 5 mins from centre for the kids

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently visited the High Tor as a family and were really impressed with the quality of the rooms. It's ideally situated just walking distance from the attractions that keep the kids happy and is a welcome retreat after a busy day out in the Peak District. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just before Christmas
Really friendly staff very clean excellent stay. I can not find a fault with the hotel.
Spent Friday night in the bar and staff could not do enough for us.
Breakfast was very nice and a choice of cooked food.
It's about a 10 minute walk into matlock bath so quite central with plenty if parking

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank holden73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our New Years celebrations at the High Tor. We booked for the evening meal and were impressed with the quality and presentation of the food.The disco kept us going until the early hours and there was a lovely atmosphere throughout.

Room Tip: Book early for weekends and the luxury rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, we had a great 2 night stay. We had great service and the room was very nice (shower was brilliant). Breakfast was very good. The hotel sits back and high off the main road with good car parking. The high tor is in a good location between Matlock and Matlock bath (walking distance for both). Give it a try.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Property: High Tor Hotel
Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tor Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing