We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the High Tor in Matlock for our 30th wedding anniversary. Sunday to Wednesday, April 13 to April 16. Right from the warm welcome to the cheery goodbye our stay was wonderful. Lovely large and spacious room, can't fault the decor, the friendly staff, and the relaxed breakfasts. High Tor is a real gem....we will definitely be back later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    98
    31
    24
    11
See reviews for
42
165
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent 3 nights here. Clearly a great deal has been spent on hotel. Staff are helpful enough. But they put us in the smallest double room I have ever stayed in. My side of the bed you could barely sit up on, let alone stand up. We booked well in advance and on the last night hotel was empty except for us and our colleague who had an equally tiny room. They need to be pro active not reactive. "If you complained we would have changed your room" is not good enough. Message to owners stop trying to re coop your investment from the few and concentrate on filling what isa very smart hotel!

Room Tip: Unless you are very small don't book room 8 as a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at High Tor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. High Tor Hotel is a boutique hotel, where no two rooms are alike and each room is priced accordingly. We know that room 8 is a cosy double room however, our reason for allocating this particular room to you was due to the fact that you had also booked room 9, our only single room, and we believed you would find it convenient to be next door to your colleague. Additionally, the other three standard doubles had already been booked for the Saturday and if we had known of your disappointment we would certainly have tried our best to provide you with room options.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments. Our luxury double rooms are much larger and may be more suitable for your requirements. We hope that you do choose to visit us again and if you contact us by telephone we can explain the different room types to ensure that you are completely satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came here on a weekend break. What an experience. Lovely hotel, lovely staff and will come again.

This was our first trip away, and because of the staff and hotel was really special.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveAtlantique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the Honeymoon suite as a Birthday treat. Fabulous room with lovely theme, cannot fault in any way. Manager and staff in the Restaurant very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend this wonderful Hotel to anyone wanting a quiet break.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJoynson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at The High Tor Hotel for 1 night & were very impressed with the whole experience. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a circular very comfortable bed & a bath that would easily fit 4+ people. We ate in the restaurant & the food was wonderful. Everything is hand made on the premises & the cheesecake was amazing. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, with a choice of cereals, various pastries, fruits & yogurts etc. We ordered the full English off the menu & it was perfect. The manager, Marcel, couldn't have been more hands on & helpful. He really made us feel very welcome, from popping out to buy us some chocolates in the evening to serving our breakfast in the morning. The hotel is newly refurbished & decorated to a high standard & is clean & welcoming throughout. We will definitely look forward to staying at The High Tor again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Was driving to the West Midlands from Yorkshire and had enough of the rain and called in to the High Tor looking for a room. They found an excellent room at the rear of the hotel and a very reasonable price. The hotel is a Victorian Hotel that has been recently modernised. The standard of room was excellent plus the bathroom was better than most in the UK.
Being tired I ate at the in house restaurant and despite being few diners had a very good evening. My lamb shank was generous and well done with crunchy root vegetables.
On checking out in the morning I discovered why it is called the High Tor, in front are high cliffs of the Matlock Valley. It was frosty and I was offered a spray to remove the ice and a coffee to remove the sleep. I did not breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. An excellent stay. Would recommend the hotel particularly if you want to spend time in the Matlock area as there is much to see. Until next time..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bh256tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is a very nice is set within a fantastic old building directly between Matlock and Matlock Bath - about a 15min walk either way - and the renovation and attention to detail is excellent. Everything I would expect from a boutique hotel, including the best bathroom ever!

We visited Matlock Bath on a sunny Saturday and found that its a small front of shops that thinks its at the seaside! The shops are all either Fish+Chips, Tea Rooms, Pubs or Arcades, plus the actual bath which is now an aquarium.

Back at the hotel...

The hotel manager was great and couldn't be more helpful, although the other staff seemed a little under-trained and more lackadaisical.

I have read a few mixed reviews on another site, so in order to address those items (at least for room 10):
- the room was spacious
- the windows opened fine
- the plug sockets were all accessible
- the beds were comfy
- room lighting was bright enough to read (or apply make-up)
- the was a free-standing mirror on the bedside table (and a hairdryer in the drawer)
- the bar was open whenever we wanted it
In other words, I could not find faults where others had!

I would recommend this to others and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Property: High Tor Hotel
Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tor Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing