We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room nice, but that's where it ends..”
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Room nice, but that's where it ends..”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Faulty towers springs to mind!
We bought a night in this B&B on wowcher, it was to say in the honeymoon suite with a bottle of wine, chocolates and breakfast in bed... ha! We didn't get the breakfast in bed and we didn't get the wine either!

The 'chocolate' we supposedly were getting turned out to be two ferrero rochers on the end of our bed. The 'breakfast in bed' we were promised turned out to be breakfast downstairs...we were told it was better than having it in bed... so what's the point in advertising it as that then?
To top it off, somebody came in our room at half 1 in the morning and turned the lights on... you can't get in without a card key so it must've been staff. We didn't catch what they looked like as you have to climb some small stairs once you open your door to get to the room. We heard them opening and closing, or should I say slamming, the other doors too.
When we told the owner about this in the morning, no apology or explanation was offered, infact he didn't really seem bothered. We also asked about the wine we were supposed to have received only to be told it was probably sent to the wrong room the night before.. again absolutely no apology. He did however give us a bottle to take home with us.
No money was offered off, or anything to compensate our misfortunes! I think it's fair to say we won't be returning!

The TV in the room had shocking signal and we couldn't find one single channel that actually worked. We came to have a cup of tea in the morning and the UHT milk was congealed, lumpy and looked disgusting.

The positives about the stay was that the room was actually really nice, lovely bed and nice big bath. There is a sign in there that says to keep the shower door closed or you'll be fined £100 for setting the smoke alarm off.. but there wasn't a shower door.. its an open plan room?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangutans91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    103
    31
    24
    12
See reviews for
45
174
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a night two weeks ago. It has been very nicely renovated and was spotless. The welcome was very friendly and the location is lovely, with ample parking. There could have been a bit more choice on the breakfast buffet and there was ample space for a larger bed in our room, so it wasn't clear why it only contained a normal double but these are minor things and didn't detract from a very pleasant stop on our trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordiegirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location in between Matlock and Matlock bath walking distance to both. We stayed in room 5, a luxury suit. It was clean had a huge bath big enough for about 4 people! Lovely view.
Staff we brilliant, very tentative and happy.
Would return :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edmo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The 'luxury' room was clean and comfy (especially the mattress), nice setting and quiet. The shower was a nightmare though, 3 dials which you can't see the markings on which caused me to scold myself as you have to be in the shower to operate them. We didn't eat there as the chef (we think) ranting in the bar about having to cook specials and a strong smell of frying fat put us off. Good nights sleep for the price though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a room at High Tor last minute and was so glad that we picked this hotel. It has been furnished with care. We stayed in room 2 and had a real good nights sleep on a fabulously comfortable bed. The towels were thick and soft, the shower room spotlessly clean and stylish. I think that those who have complained about this hotel on Tripadvisor must have stayed somewhere else. The breakfast was delicious, generous and served by a charming lady. The rest of the staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. We didn't use the bar on this trip (but took a peak and it looked very inviting), but when we return we will make sure we do. This hotel is ideally placed and although the road between Matlock and Matlock Bath is quite busy the extra glazing does its job. We walked into Matlock bath quite comfortably from here and the hotel has ample parking. I recommend High Tor.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a good view, ask for a room at the Front or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the High Tor in Matlock for our 30th wedding anniversary. Sunday to Wednesday, April 13 to April 16. Right from the warm welcome to the cheery goodbye our stay was wonderful. Lovely large and spacious room, can't fault the decor, the friendly staff, and the relaxed breakfasts. High Tor is a real gem....we will definitely be back later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent 3 nights here. Clearly a great deal has been spent on hotel. Staff are helpful enough. But they put us in the smallest double room I have ever stayed in. My side of the bed you could barely sit up on, let alone stand up. We booked well in advance and on the last night hotel was empty except for us and our colleague who had an equally tiny room. They need to be pro active not reactive. "If you complained we would have changed your room" is not good enough. Message to owners stop trying to re coop your investment from the few and concentrate on filling what isa very smart hotel!

Room Tip: Unless you are very small don't book room 8 as a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at High Tor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. High Tor Hotel is a boutique hotel, where no two rooms are alike and each room is priced accordingly. We know that room 8 is a cosy double room however, our reason for allocating this particular room to you was due to the fact that you had also booked room 9, our only single room, and we believed you would find it convenient to be next door to your colleague. Additionally, the other three standard doubles had already been booked for the Saturday and if we had known of your disappointment we would certainly have tried our best to provide you with room options.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments. Our luxury double rooms are much larger and may be more suitable for your requirements. We hope that you do choose to visit us again and if you contact us by telephone we can explain the different room types to ensure that you are completely satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
773 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Property: High Tor Hotel
Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tor Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing