We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of effort is being put in here”
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Tor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed as a family in a spacious, quiet and comfortable room. The double was just that (not the king size expected from the website) with a luxurious leather platform surround which looked amazing but in practice was far from practical and made getting in and out of bed somewhat of a challenge and provided great entertainment to my husband and children!! The kids had full size single beds. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. All the carpets and fittings were soft and looked new.

Staff were warm, friendly and professional. Breakfast on day one at 8:00 was wonderful but on day to at 9:00 less so - on our experiences we would recommend an early start if you can!

The hotel was perfectly situated abut 10 minutes walk from Matlock and 15 minutes walk to Matlock Bath with lots of activities, museums and interesting shops easy to reach.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 - laid out for a family of two parents, two children. The room looks out across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here one night while at a wedding nearby. Room was good with the exception of the bed that was so hard I thought someone had used a piece of plywood under the sheet. Shower was excellent and all seemed nicely cleaned as you would expect. No where to pop your toiletries while getting ready though and not enough space for the nice fluffy towels provided.
Breakfast, which is extra, was excellent as was location and parking. I just think the beds need toppers and there needs to be a touch more on the luxury front to support the purported boutique image. Has potential.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for one night for work purposes. I was recommended the hotel, and I was not disappointed. I booked a double room, and the room was clean with a comfortable bed and a Lovely power shower. Parking was ample. Unfortunately I did not eat at the hotel, as I stayed on a room only basis but the food did smell good. The hotel is located in Matlock Bath, and is approximately a 15 - 20 minute walk to the lovely vintage shops that Matlock has to offer - definitely worth a visit. I would stay here again, the only suggestion would be is that the male owner needs to smile more, but hey sometimes you can't have everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The food was really good value and served beautifully. The young chef and waitresses were friendly and helpful. I would recommend you stay here or if locally give the little bistro a try. The chefs homemade brownie was amazing. The prosecco was good. The tables were set well and the fresh flowers a lovely touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dancingshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from an overnight stay in this lovely hotel. We enjoyed everything about it. The hotel is in the perfect location, half way between Matlock and Matlock Bath with picture postcard views.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly and personable and nothing was to much trouble, we emailed the day before we were due to check-in to see whether we could leave our bags in the hotel reception as we would be arriving in the morning but check-in was at 3pm, the hotel emailed us back straight away and said that wouldn't be a problem and then when we arrived at the hotel they had arranged for our room to be ready in the morning so that we could check-in straight away, which we really really appreciated.
The room itself was really nice, tastefully decorated and good facilities, special mention to the amazing power shower.
Anyone who is considering a stay in Matlock/Matlock Bath should definitely stay in this hotel, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Delightful hotel, lovely staff, all more than helpful, wonderful food, very varied menu, freshly cooked & well presented with excellent service, lovely room, clean, tidy & well stocked.wi fi freely available in all areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eastcoastnitenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went to high tor as a well deserved break for my partner , the service was amazing and the food was delicious. Marcel couldn't do enough for us , we had the honeymoon suite and it was an amazing room would recommend and made it a very special break for us. So much so we are expecting a bundle of joy from our break due jan 15 :) thank you highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yummyno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
1 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
397 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Tor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since October 2014 - New restaurant Opened February 2015 'Artist's Corner Restaurant' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tor Hotel Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing