We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for a group gathering”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob L
1 review
“The perfect place for a group gathering”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

We booked Portland House 1870 for a family gathering, over a long weekend. Our ages ranged from six weeks to over 70 years. The rooms were perfect for us, comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms. The kitchen and dining facilities were way beyond excellent, and enabled us to eat and drink together as a big family should. I am sure we shall be back
Juliet suggested many places to visit, where to eat and where to buy food. Overall excellent, excellent, excellent

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolutely amazing - couldn't have asked for more for my sister's hen party!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Where to start...the house is absolutely amazing! The pictures do not give it justice particularly the garden which we spent most of our time. Every detail was brilliant. The bar and speakers were brilliant and meant we could enjoy the weekend at the house without having to go into town at night.
The support before we got there was absolutely brilliant.

I couldn't recommend this house anymore. We had 23 on a hen party and every single person said it was the best hen they have been on and a big part of that was the location and house. They are all going to tell their friends!!

Thank you for making our stay so great.
If I have to organize another hen this will be my first choice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Accommodation, facilities and location excellent.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

The accommodation is excellent. We were self catering so the kitchen was a focal point. It was big enough and well equipped to meet the needs of 15 people. The bedrooms and beds were all comfortable. Location on the edge of Matlock Bath meant that cars where not used during the weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl L
1 review
“Portland House is perfect for any celebration.”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

A group of 18 of us stayed here for a hen do in July and we had an amazing time. The house has been beautifully restored with all the charm and characteristics you would hope to find in a house of this age. The house certainly lends itself to being a party house too with a bar and great sound system, but it is clean and obviously well cared for. The quality of the furniture, bedding and bathrooms make this a luxurious stay. I would 100% recommend this to anyone looking for a place to have a celebration or a family gathering. We will most certainly be back. 11/10.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolrunni...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious, great facilities and well equipped large house,perfect venue for our Corporate Team Building event”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked for a Corporate Team Building event - having previously stayed at Portland House in May 2017 - so wewere repeat customers. The house is just perfect for large groups with the vast majority of the rooms ensuite.
The hosts looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble - thank you for another fantastic stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare T
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthdays Celebrations - perfect venue”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

20+ of us- young and older headed to Portland House for joint 40th and 70th birthday celebrations and it was the perfect location! Almost all the bedroom are ensuite which was superb and the facilities are great. We were lucky with the weather and made the most of the garden.

Matlock Bath is lovely and it was helpful that so many attractions and walks were literally on the doorstep! We had a great day at Abraham Heights.

I would highly recommend for a family or group visit.

Juliet & Martin were lovely and I was very grateful to Juliet for answering all my queries in the run up to the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona...
1 review
“Perfect hen weekend!”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at the beautiful Portland House for a hen weekend and it completely lived up to expectations after reading all the great reviews! With most rooms having en suites it was perfect for 20 girls all getting ready for a party and the living and dining areas (not to forget the bar!) are stunning and ideal for a party. Juliet and Martin were so friendly and they couldn't have been more helpful with all of our questions and their recommendations. Overall it was a fantastic weekend in a beautiful home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing