We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bird's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Onefootin...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Absolutely impeccable property. Clean and full of everything we needed. Friendly owners always on hand. Wonderful location. Thank you for a wonderful week.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you Nicola, david & the girls
It was lovely to see you again.Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
You are always welcome.
Best Wishes & hope to see you again
Sue Abid & Angel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashiq A
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great find, perfect.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a great find. A perfectly well kept property with everything one could ask for. Very pleasant owners who were most helpful. Excellant location to nearby shops and attractions. A short drive to Alton Towers and other nearby places of interest. Shall certainly be recommending this to family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil Setting
Liked least: Nothing I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you Zaibun & Ashiq
It was a real pleasure having you & Aneesa, Asghar, & Adil. your delightful family.Thank you for choosing us & hope to see you again.
Sue & Abid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartynAll...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Stay at the Birds Nest Matlock Bath”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We loved our stay at the Birds Nest in Matlock Bath and would not hesitate to recommend it. The cottage was fantastic with every thing available, well appointed, extremely clean this was definitely a home from home with a lovely cottage feeling. We were met on arrival and made to feel most welcome and at home. We will definitely go back, it's fair to say the Birds Nest exceeded our expectations.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Sandra & Martyn for choosing us for your holidays & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in near future.
Warm Regads
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artyeater...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A really great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We had a really lovely stay at The Birds' Nest last year. I live locally and wouldn't normally stay away so close to home but a friend came over from Australia just after I'd moved house and I wanted somewhere comfortable for the first week of her visit. The money was well spent as the apartment is lovely - very clean with eclectic furniture and artefacts. Sue and Abid made us very welcome and there was even a bottle of wine on our arrival. There is everything you need in the apartment and it's very pretty outside too. It doesn't take long to walk into Matlock Bath or Matlock. I really recommend The Birds' Nest if you are looking for somewhere special to stay in the area. Apologies to Sue and Abid for the length of time it's taken me to submit this review - the new house needed a lot more work than I first realised!

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you Jan.
Sue & Abid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swilton71
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends and I rented out both Moles End and Birds Nest. The accommodation is just beautiful - spacious, clean, comfortable, beautifully furnished. Sue and Abid were on hand should we need anything (thanks Abid for taking a group photo on our night out...it was perfect). The welcoming touches of tea, coffee, milk and wine were a really nice touch. We could not fault the place.....I'm sure some if not all of us will return at some point and will certainly be passing on our recommendation! Thanks for a perfect weekend.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all amazing!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thank you so much.
Sorry missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifi W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to be!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amaaazingg place.it was like transporting home with us.Sue and Abid made us feel at home.the bird nest location was perfect.just walking distance to anywhere u want to go matlock bath.the house itself was soo warm !

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Fifi.
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable flat with everything you nee”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found he property easily and made very welcome by Susan. The flat is quiet end very well appointed. From a bottle of wine, Sunday newspapers and fresh mile al added extras were provided. There is an easy walk to Matlock Bath and great countryside from the falt.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The extra mile our hosts went
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Robin
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.