We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An older place in need of more visitors to become beautiful again :)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath

The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Pavilion Matlock Bath is 'open ambitious and a little bit scruffy'. You are welcome to come and visit our building on open days and heritage talks and for all our publicised events.In August 2013 the building was bought from the council by the community and is run by a local charity. The aim is to restore this amazing building and theatre. While we wait for the lottery fairy to do her thing,we are running events such as live music performances, art and heritage exhibitions, film shows and private hirings.The Pavilion is also the home of The Peak District Lead Mining Museum which is very successful,very popular and not at all scruffy !
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An older place in need of more visitors to become beautiful again :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

A venue with a stage, great for fayres or indoor events.

Not so great for those with reduced disabilities

Attended a Steampuk Fayre there in June 2013

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthalNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee and Director at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello

We're glad you like the building and we are doing our best to fill it with visitors ahead of our refurbishment and reopening. We agree with you about access, we've applied for funds to install a goods lift initially.in our main lottery bid there is funding for a disabled access lift to all floors. We hope you keep coming to see the changes we've made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“grand pavillion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Enjoyed the band we went to see here, the people were friendly and the atmosphere in here was great. could do with refurbishing but didn't spoil the event in the least

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettydodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for visiting and sending in your review- hopefully you are aware of the work we are doing to earn the money to restore the building. Keep visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Saving a venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

It's undergoing a renovation (April 2013), so don't expect a perfectly decorated venue, but the people who ran the door and the bars on the night were all friendly and helpful.
Enjoyed the concert we went to here very much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Sarah_Graham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee and Director at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello

We're glad you like the venue - keep coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“matlock bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

lovely part of the country, nice walks with plenty of information of matlock in general..Clean and like a seaside without the sea!!! no matter what time of the year you visit, plenty to do...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing