We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pavilion comes to life once more”

The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Pavilion Matlock Bath is 'open ambitious and a little bit scruffy'. You are welcome to come and visit our building on open days and heritage talks and for all our publicised events.In August 2013 the building was bought from the council by the community and is run by a local charity. The aim is to restore this amazing building and theatre. While we wait for the lottery fairy to do her thing,we are running events such as live music performances, art and heritage exhibitions, film shows and private hirings.The Pavilion is also the home of The Peak District Lead Mining Museum which is very successful,very popular and not at all scruffy !
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pavilion comes to life once more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Its great to see the busy schedule of events and gigs for 2014. A taste of the things that are to come.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank samdalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your review - we are excited about the future too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exciting prospects”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This building is over 100 years old and showing it BUT a team of volunteers are taking it back to its former glory days.
The Peak District Mining Museum is based in the Pavillion, and will remain there. It has managed to blend a mix of fun and excitement for the kids (climbing tunnels, explosions and horror tales about the children who used to work in the mines) with information and displays for the serious scholar and every one in between. Across the road from the museum is an old leadmine to venture into and a chance to gold pan (albeit for fool's gold!). There is a charge for both but compared to most local attractions it is very good value.
The rest of the venue is available to hire and has a large upstairs auditorium with a stage. I went to a craft fair there but they also host bands and theatre groups use the venue to rehearse and perform. The Matlock Pantomime Company are based there. The venue is definitely showing its age but it is easy to see what a fantastic place it will be thanks to those hard working volunteers and management.
I will certainly be going back and am planning to hire the venue for a show.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank clarecharliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We're very happy to read your review and I am sure the Peak District Lead Mining Museum will be too. We are working hard to make a commercial future for the building, so that we can fully restore it and protect it on behalf of the community and it is a great boost to read your compliments.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bringing the Village together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Grand Pavilion is not just about the Mining Museum and Tea Shop. It provides a fantastic venue for all kinds of exhibitions, arts, music, crafts and will be a venue to be proud of for Matlock Bath residents, when all the work is completed.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 192Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your comments - great to read that you understand our vision for this amazing building, which is still 'a little but scruffy'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nothing special.Normal tourist board leaflets and small shop.Beside river and gardens.Near to shops.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brillant08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Decided to visit the Pavilion for a meal. We had a friendly welcome but the decor was in need of attention the whole place seemed unloved.Next to out table was a plastic container with rubbish in which i removed after the bar staff kept walking past it! Had quite a long wait after ordering our food, my food was just ok although my friend said theirs was very tasty. Was disappointed overall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee and Diretor at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello

We are very sorry you were disappointed but wonder whether you know the story of the building's recent rescue? You can ready more about it at www.thegrandpavilion.co.uk, but briefly it has been rescued from disposal by the local community who now run it openly as a 'slightly scruffy' venue and open the cafe for events. We have applied for lottery money to refurbish the entire building. Perhaps if you are in the area again you'd like to come on one of our free building tours to find out more? We'll treat you to a coffee and hope you have a nicer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing