We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'a bit scruffy' is a vast understatement”

The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath
Ranked #10 of 17 things to do in Matlock Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Pavilion Matlock Bath is 'open ambitious and a little bit scruffy'. You are welcome to come and visit our building on open days and heritage talks and for all our publicised events.In August 2013 the building was bought from the council by the community and is run by a local charity. The aim is to restore this amazing building and theatre. While we wait for the lottery fairy to do her thing,we are running events such as live music performances, art and heritage exhibitions, film shows and private hirings.The Pavilion is also the home of The Peak District Lead Mining Museum which is very successful,very popular and not at all scruffy !
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I went along to this venue to see one of my favourite artists perform recently. I had previously checked out the venue website, which, as expected for a venue named The Grand Paviliion, was very ornate, with plush velvet seating.
However, i was in for a rude awakening upon arrival.
there are no lifts up the many flights of stairs, and no seats either.
the venue is almost derelict.
There is dust all over the floor. holes in the ceiling where the ceiling had collapsed.
they even put up a bed sheet in front of the stage so the bird dropping do not hit the audience on the head.
i understand they are trying to get the venue up and running again after a period of being closed.
but i am honestly surprised it has a safety certificate.

The facilities are poor, and i think soon word will get out and no artist will ever perform there.
sound is terrible and the lighting non-existent, i'm told it's run by volunteers. i recomend they get in someone professional who knows how to run a theatre.

i will never go back there.

4  Thank Madge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are very sorry that we failed to get our message across to you, that we have rescued the building and are working very hard (over 200 volunteers plus a professional Board) to get it back on track.

The building is very scruffy but entirely safe, it is all cosmetic damage from water entering due to poor maintenance by the previous owners (our charity has owned the building since August last year). We do explain this on the website and on our ticket sales pages, so again we apologise if this has not come over strongly enough. I hope your disappointment in the building did not spoil your enjoyment of your favourite artist.

I hope that you will return and see the progress that is being made, whilst we await Big Lottery funding.

There is a lot of local love for this building and a huge commitment from the team to make it a success. On this occasion it seems that we have disappointed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

17 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Pav. describing itself as "still a little scruffy" offers no frills, no pretensions entertainment. What we experienced last night was an extremely friendly atmosphere, in a venue which shows so much promise and potential, It's future is certain as it becomes more and more the cultural centre that it is destined to be. The next years events list is full and varied with a truly exciting array of things on offer - from magic live bands such as Never The Bride (who I'm listening to now as I type this), the fabulous Eddie Reader, Letz Zep, Lucy Ward, Steam Punk events with local favourites BB Black Dog, as well as arts, and crafts fairs, Mind, Body and Spirit festivals,and myriad other things. Check the listing out at http://www.ents24.com/matlock-bath-events/the-grand-pavilion

Last night saw the enthusiastic Wirksworth and Community Orchestra and the harmonious Wirksworth Community Choir entertain an almost packed house - with choices of songs and tunes from the big shows and traditional fair - fantastic!!!!!

1  Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Dick H

Thank you very much for your review, we have all worked so hard,as volunteers, to rescue the building and make it commercially viable. It's always a worthwhile effort but especially so when we read a review like yours; you totally' get it'. Thanks! We look forward to meeting you at future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Its great to see the busy schedule of events and gigs for 2014. A taste of the things that are to come.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank samdalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your review - we are excited about the future too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This building is over 100 years old and showing it BUT a team of volunteers are taking it back to its former glory days.
The Peak District Mining Museum is based in the Pavillion, and will remain there. It has managed to blend a mix of fun and excitement for the kids (climbing tunnels, explosions and horror tales about the children who used to work in the mines) with information and displays for the serious scholar and every one in between. Across the road from the museum is an old leadmine to venture into and a chance to gold pan (albeit for fool's gold!). There is a charge for both but compared to most local attractions it is very good value.
The rest of the venue is available to hire and has a large upstairs auditorium with a stage. I went to a craft fair there but they also host bands and theatre groups use the venue to rehearse and perform. The Matlock Pantomime Company are based there. The venue is definitely showing its age but it is easy to see what a fantastic place it will be thanks to those hard working volunteers and management.
I will certainly be going back and am planning to hire the venue for a show.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank clarecharliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We're very happy to read your review and I am sure the Peak District Lead Mining Museum will be too. We are working hard to make a commercial future for the building, so that we can fully restore it and protect it on behalf of the community and it is a great boost to read your compliments.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Grand Pavilion is not just about the Mining Museum and Tea Shop. It provides a fantastic venue for all kinds of exhibitions, arts, music, crafts and will be a venue to be proud of for Matlock Bath residents, when all the work is completed.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 192Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A, Trustee at The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your comments - great to read that you understand our vision for this amazing building, which is still 'a little but scruffy'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Pavilion, Matlock Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing