We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent accomodation, perfect views, loved it :)”
other travellers have booked this property
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
LARGE BRIGHT BEDROOM - ENOUGH SPACE TO ERRECT A SINGLE BED
Airey calm bedroom, fabulous views and with all bed linen 100% cotton on king size bed
New bathroom electric shower & heated towel rail
vanity basin & mirror
Danbury Lodge, Penthouse is the top floor, with private access separately from the main house
Entrance hall to the penthouse
views from penthouse
views from penthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leesa718
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent accomodation, perfect views, loved it :)”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

An excellent place to stay in Matlock bath just a few minutes walk away from all amenities. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the little nooks full of cushions and had great fun making a den.

Only thing that would make it even better is if blinds were fitted to the windows in the living room to avoid very early waking in the mornings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size and position of the property
Liked least: no blinds at the windows when sleeping on the sofa bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank You for your review & were so pleased you and your children enjoyed your stay. I will take your comments on board about blinds. With such odd shaped windows we have not found any to fit. Ill keep looking though.
Please come again. Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, spacious living area, lovely hosts
Liked least: Nothing, all was lovely
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2014
It was pleasure to have you as our guest's. Please come again & Thank You for the great review.
All the best.
Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Redninja7
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

There are a lot of steps to climb, but once inside. The apartment is very clean and spacious. There are breath taking views from almost every window. There's all you need to cater for yourself, with the owner even leaving tea, coffee and biscuits out for us.
A 5 minute walk from Matlock-Bath train station (up some very steep hills) but well worth the journey. Highly recommended.

We're planning a return trip real soon

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
I am so pleased you enjoy your stay. Your correct it's a steep hill but like claiming a mountain you get to the top for the fabulous views. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMint
Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb apartment - great location & facilities”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This apartment has fabulous living space and amazing views from its elevated position. As soon as we walked in we were wowed by the size and comfort of the space. The bed was very comfortable and the whole apartment is very well furnished and exceptionally well equipped - everything you could need to make it a home from home. It was also very clean.

Its position at the top of the hill offers beautiful views but is quite a steep walk up from the riverfront (made for a great bit of exercise!) There are a few steps up to the private entrance but nothing most couldn't handle and nice to have your own door.

The riverfront is about a 5 or 10 minute walk with access to the Heights of Abraham, the railway station and all the shops / cafes/ fish & chip restaurants of Matlock Bath!

A really nice, cosy getaway and fantastic value for money - we're planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review you wrote for us. We look forward to your next visit.
Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussLaws
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home in beautiful surroundings with very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Danbury Lodge, is just the perfect home from home break away we we're looking for. A fantastic family friendly holiday in well equipment holiday accomodation in a beautiful and peaceful location - We couldn't have asked for anymore.

Situated on a hillside in Matlock Bath, the trek on to the lodge is exactly what you would expect from the holiday location, stunning views on the short (but uphill) walk to the lodge followed by a breathtaking and inspiring view by the accommodation itself. On arrival, we we're greeted by our smiling hosts, directing us to the entrance to the Penthouse Lodge, once we finally arrived following a 4 hour train journey with young children, it was all about the chilling out, and what better way to do that, than wonderful complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits - This was extremely appreciated, given that we travelled by foot and didn't much fancy a scout about right at that moment to find the nearest convenience store.

The hosts have thoughtfully provided a Lodge Manual, with How-To's is practically everything you could need to know (from the dishwasher to the power shower). We did need to pop down and ask for assistance a couple of times, but both times, the hosts we're extremely hospitable on both occassion.

The lodge itself was well equipped with storage and bedding, the bathroom, newly fitted, was clean and modern as well as the kitchen, which boasts enough kitchen utensils for a cooking a Christmas Dinner, twice over. The kitchen is also equipped with a top notch oven, washing machine and dishwasher, so there's no need to miss your mod cons.

The local area itself, boasts enough to keep you busy for at least a week without having to travel too far (which is important when you don't drive). There are th cable cars of Heights of Abraham, a little pricey for a family of 4, but a good few hours of fun to be had at the top (unless you go into the underground cavern and you youngest decides they need the loo half way down!). There is also an Aquarium with Petrifiying Well, Temple Mine and Penny Slot Arcades and of course, lots of beautiful walks for the novice and the more experienced walkers. Food wise, we would have to recommend the Fish Pond pub (at the opposite end to train station in Matlock Bath) to eat out at in the evening, we did on a couple of occassion during our mid week stay. Nearby you can visit Matlock by a well served bus route or on foot, which takes about 25 minutes. Matlock itself, hosts the more high street shops as well as the local supermarket (Sainsburys), we ended up getting a taxi from here back to the Lodge which costs just shy of £5.00. From Matlock you can travel with ease to a host of other towns, we ventued to Bakewell (which was about 20 minutes on the bus, with a resonable ticket price) and visited the traditional Bakewell Pudding Sho, where the portions are bigger than you've ever seen (my children must've thought it was Christmas!)

Perhaps the only downside for us was that we couldn't get into the area which the Peak Distrist is famous for because we don't have a car, for some experience at proper walking in the hills. Luckily, we managed to visit Dovedale (about a 45 minute drive) with a relative who lived nearby, so we had a taster, but unfortunately, couldn't stay long. That said, there is so much to do in the immediate and surrounding area, our midweek stay wasn't enough time to see everything

The value was absolutely brilliant if only for the apartment, not to mention the wealth of activites in the area. We would be back in a heart beat, thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment, Views, Activities, Hosts
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrac
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable apartment with stunning view”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Spacious, clean and very comfortable apartment for two people in a scenic area. Located up the hill from the centre of Matlock Bath, giving views over the village and hills beyond. The apartment is directly above the friendly owners' home. Kitchen equipment basic but adequate provided you don't want to do any serious cooking. You need to be reasonably fit to cope with the stairs and hill, but an excellent base for those who enjoy walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable seating in living room and attractive location
Liked least: Limited kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Danbury Lodge. I shall take on board about the kitchen utensils and add some more. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope you'll come again. Sharron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickyvonn...
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

our stay was excellent. the accomodation was excellent very clean and all the facilities were ideal. we stayed for three nights and sharron and barry were very helpful with information about areas to visit. we would book the apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the appartment and the views
Liked least: didnt dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank You & pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon.
Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing