We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was an ideal location for our first visit to...”
other travellers have booked this property
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
OVER LOOKING THE ROOF TOPS OF MATLOCK BATH.
LARGE BRIGHT BEDROOM - ENOUGH SPACE TO ERRECT A SINGLE BED
Airey calm bedroom, fabulous views and with all bed linen 100% cotton on king size bed
New bathroom electric shower & heated towel rail
vanity basin & mirror
Danbury Lodge, Penthouse is the top floor, with private access separately from the main house
Entrance hall to the penthouse
views from penthouse
views from penthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was an ideal location for our first visit to Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The penthouse is large and well appointed, we loved the view across the valley. It is a good base to go walking from this being our plan we were not disappointed. Our host very kindly included basics such as tea coffee milk etc along will linen and towels which made packing light. We would come back to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: It is located on a steep hill so there are a number of steps to climb.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsayhe...
1 review
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and young son stayed for three nights. The apartment was very comfortable and had all the things you could need on holiday. Great location especially for a family as all the main attractions of the area are close by.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelamy...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for exploring the Peak District.”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just stayed at Danbury Lodge over Easter. Had a fantastic time enjoying the views from our rooms and having such a peaceful location to stop in. Kitchen had everything we needed (including a brilliant welcome pack of biscuits, milk, tea, coffee etc). Very clean and comfortable. Bit slippery on the stairs leading up to the apartment when it has been raining! Overall we think it was a great choice to stop in. Thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenNott...
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself , and my partner stayed here for two nights to celbabrate my 50th. birthday with two friends . it is a beautiful apartment, clean modern very well equipped and nice and warm . Staying in your apartment made my birthday extra special a big thank you.

the views from all the windows in the apartment are stunning - you are 10 minutes walk from the village which has some lovey pubs and restaurants -the train station is just at the bottom of the road and there is a good bus service to other parts of Derbyshire.

we have booked to come again in September with my friends its her 60th birthday - cant wait to return.
Thanks again Sharon see you in September.


.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything about the apartment was great
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJL49
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable Apartment”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We found the penthouse to be very comfortable with outstanding views. It was well equipped
with all needed for a holiday home. We also found the owner, Sharron, friendly and helpful. We will stay again next time in the area and will thoroughly recommend Danbury Lodge.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and were so pleased you choose to stay with us & hope you come again.

Sharron & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So lovely, We didnt want to leave.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My family and i stayed at Danbury lodge for 5 nights in october, and we really didnt want to leave. The lodge is so warm and cosy with the most beautiful views. We only travelled an hour on the train to get there and yet it felt a million miles away!. We had a lovely relaxing break and would definately recommend Danbury lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The hill ( Although this was expected being the peak district) :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review. Were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Please come again.
Barry & Sharron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherise G
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment with stunning views”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had this apartment from Thursday through Monday and were very impressed. It was clean and well presented throughout and very spacious. If walking be prepared for a huge uphill slog but well worth it for the breath taking views. Close to local train station, Gullivers kingdom and the sky ride to Heights of Abraham. Very friendly owners willing to help if need be. Kitchen well stock with all that is needed to cook a meal and was lovely to have tea, milk, sugar and biscuits left for us on arrival. Only thing I would say is that the towels would be better bigger as they didnt anywhere near wrap around me after a shower. Over all a wonderful stay in a beautiful apartment in a picturesque quaint setting. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole apartment
Liked least: small towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review. Were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Please come again.
Barry & Sharron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing