We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

2 night stay with my mum and son, The hospitality at the Cables was great. The food fantastic, and the rooms comfortable. Roger and Maureen have thought of everything. From bath robes to make-up wipes. A wonderful place to stay, we will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
306
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a beautiful place this was!! On our tour of the UK it was our first experience in a B&B! Many thanks to Maureen & Roger for the fantastic accomodation and wonderful friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious and the 4 poster room is outstanding!
We have already recommended it to friends & family! It is central to the tourist attractions in the Peak District! We will be back next year!!


Sheila & Geoff Lucas St Marys NSW Australia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hysheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hi, Roger and Maureen. We're the two lost Canadians you helped the other day. Thanks for the use of your phone and the lift into Matlock. Although we weren't guests at your lovely B & B, you were kind enough to extend your generous hospitality to us. We'll look you up the next time we're in the beautiful peak district.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregory_handrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My mate and I stayed here for a night whilst on a cycling trip, it was fantastic. It had all the stuff you would expect in a top class hotel, bathrobes, slippers, sky TV, free wifi and fresh baked cakes on arrival. The only difference between this place and a five star hotel was value for money, and this place really is value for money. Food was also fab and bar in the room fantastically stocked but not with rip off prices. We will definitely go back again maybe take our husbands and try out the special four poster bedroom. You won't be disappointed.
Jane and Pam

Room Tip: For special occasions ask for the four poster bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calatabiano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I am Italian and I went to the Peak district with my mum and my English girlfriend, we had a really warm welcome and the landlord was very kind with us, the rooms are very nice and you can see that they take care about every single detail.
The breakfast was excellent, and I really reccomended it...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaliara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This little B&B has to be one of those hidden gems that appears every now and then. My wife and I first visited The Cables in 2009 for a short break, and we were amazed with the quality and service that Roger and Maureen offer. The rooms are well decorated and are serviced and resupplied everyday, the food especially breakfast, was great, as is the evening meal (which is optional). Located within an easy walking distance of both Matlock and Matlock Bath. Ideal for those who would enjoy walking in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside.
We have planned our return visit to The Cable again this year which will be our 3rd in as many years. We highly recommend the wondeful B&B, and we have done so to all our family and friends.
Roger and Maureen have a 'can do' philosophy that can be see in all they do.

Room Tip: All bedrooms bar 1 are ensuite, clean and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy-vicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Clean and welcoming, fantastic food cooked by Roger who also had a wealth of local knowledge. Will recommend a stay here. Look out for the smoking monkey!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
367 reviews
4.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing