We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and fabulous cooking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and fabulous cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This B&B is just wonderful, Roger and Maureen did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible and we had an amazing evening meal (including a special meal made to order for our 5 year old son) and a fantastic breakfast - I have to say Roger's breakfast menu is the best I'd ever come across. We'll definitely be going back. The location is great too, only a short walk to the cable cars and Matlock Bath.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    33
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
299
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

A perfectly situated place to stay, just a short walk to Matlock or Matlock Bath. Our host couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The homemade food is fantastic and the house was a joy to go back to after a long walk in the British summer rain. Thank you so much we couldn't recommend you enough!!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is a gem. it has all the ingredients for a perfect stay. There is attention to detailand care taken over the menu. Information is available on the area and attractions. Cleanliness is the best we have seen. the friendliness of the abode radiates throughout and makes for a calm and relaxing stay. The parking was easy, buses were plentiful and is within easy walking distance of the Heights of Abraham attraction. once we parked the car up we did not use it until we regretfully had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We found the Cables when driving past, saw the vacancies sign and decided to call "on spec". We were so glad that we did. The initial plan was to stay one night and move on to Buxton but we soon decided to stay an extra night.

Having read the reviews on here we completely agree with all the positive comments - we will definately be back!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Room was excellent, the welcome was lovely and the breakfast was superb! It is in a good location between Matlock and Matlock bath, also the fact the main road (a6) allowed easy access to other areas of the Derbyshire dales/peak district.

Would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grundy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, and enjoyed it thorougly. Roger, was kind to pick us up from the Matlock Bath station. We were given a quick orientation tour of the town, which came in handy later. On arrival we were offered tea and home baked cookies!! Cookies were simply yum.
Roger has a passion for cooking and helped us plan some nice walking treks.
The Poster room was neat and clean, the swans made from the towels added to the experience.
Lots of choice for breakfast (Even for Vegeterians like us). Loved the freshly made breads and home made jams and sauces!! The only issue is the noise of the traffic in the room when the windows are kept open, as the B&B is on the main road.
There is a bus stop just outside the B&B and has good connectivity to Bakewell, Chatsworth house, Crich, Buxton.
In a nutshell, highly recommended!! We will like to come back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

From arrival to departure we felt welcome and pampered by Roger and Maureen.
The rooms are of an excellent standard and the honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities made our stay even more comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent and the optional evening meal of the same very high standard.
Roger and Maureen work very hard to make their guests feel comfortable and we would certainly recommend The Cables to anyone wanting to stay in the Matlock area, it is very conveniently located between Matlock and Matlock Bath.
As well as the usual attractions there are many lovely local walks ( maps and info provided by Roger ).
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing