We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I have ever been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B I have ever been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Cables is not just a house where you can have a shower and some food. This is because Roger and Maureen will make you feel home welcoming you in the best way. Attention to detail, immaculately clean, wide choice of food with local, organic choices, plenty of advice about places to visit (and all much organised with folders, leaflets etc.). This shows that Maureen and Roger are not only professional, but have real passion for what they do!

Room Tip: Even if you do not get the room without en-suite bathroom, you can still use the bathroom next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    33
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
300
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were treated to two nights B&B at the Cables, on 21 & 22 Oct, and what a pleasure it was. Ideally situated and with easy parking. There was a welcome sign with our names on and everything in the room to make our stay enjoyable. The swans on the bed, every toiletry you can imagine,honesty bar and fresh milk in the fridge were impressive. Maureen and Roger are really friendly and excellent hosts who do their upmost to make your stay enjoyable. Roger's breakfasts are unbelievable - his home made bread, Derbyshire oatcakes and plum ketchup are amazing. We would recommend the Cables to anyone and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this excellent B&B for five nights and fully agree with all the glowing comments by other reviewers.
Roger and Maureen are probably the most congenial hosts we have ever encountered in our many travels around the country. Their attention to detail is second to none, with a lot of items that we have not encountered elsewhere.
The location is very convenient for walking to Matlock and Matlock Bath and well placed for visits to the many and varied attractions in the area.
The evening menu is to be thoroughly recommended, Roger offers an excellent choice of very tasty dishes at reasonable rates.
We found no noise problems from the A6 in our room at the front.
We shall return
David and Alison

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regular_Traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Cables for one night, my husband, my two children (5 & 3) and myself....and were so impressed!! When we arrved, we were greeted with a warm welcome and a sign outside the door welcoming our family. Roger met us and knew all of our names, offered us all a drink, gave us our room key while we went for a wonder round. We returned later, and were shown to our room. We stayed in the family room, and they had made 2 beds up for the children complete with a teddy for each of them....and Rogers famous towel monkey hanging up!! There was a mini fridge (with various types of alcahol), coffee and tea making facilities and even chocolate and fruit shoots in the room for the children, with an 'honestly tray' by way of paying for what we wanted. We stayed that evening for dinner, and for breakfast the following day, and both, we can honestly say were outstanding!! The food quality and service was excellent, our son decided as an extra he wanted ice cream for breakfast, which Roger happily obliged!! It was a lovely atmosphere, very homely, near the local town, and offered everything we wanted and more. We will definaltey be back!! 10/10!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu and Michell... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here for three nights - our choice was based on the Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Everything was as the reviews suggested. We would recommend the evening meals - real home cooking (especially the spicy plum crumble!) at very reasonable prices. The ambience was lovely - just like eating in an exclusive restaurant!
If we had to make one critisism: our room overlooked the busy A6, and - although it was not a problem for us - it could be a noise issue in the summer if the windows were open at night.
Don`t want to repeat what everybody else has written -just that we can highly recommend The Cables!

Room Tip: The room at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Decided to treat my hubby for his birthday, chose The Cables B&B, so glad i did, we had a lovely time. Roger and Maureen are great! Rogers breakfasts are gorgeous! We spent 2 very comfortable nights there, we'd definitely stay at The Cables again when visiting Matlock. We couldn't have been made more welcome, it was a home from home, so enjoyed it!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just returned home from a four night stay at Cables. From the moment of arrival, when my wife spotted our names on the front door welcoming us, we knew that we had made an excellent choice of accomodation. Our room was scrupulously clean and very comfortable with a well stocked mini-bar (should you need it) and always a pot of milk in the fridge to use with the tea and coffee provided. So much nicer than the usual thimble of UHT milk more often found in B&B's.
Breakfasts are excellent, and Roger is very keen to cook just what you want. There is even a choice of three different types of sausage!
The location is excellent (being halfway between Matlock and Matlock Bath) - only a 10 minute walk in either direction.
Roger, always the perfect host, helped to make our stay very enjoyable and I cannot recommend Cables enough. We will definitely book again on our next trip to Derbyshire.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adeballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing